We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Cane Guest House 2
Nearby Hotels
Tamarind Guesthouse(Kanchanaburi)
$10
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$26
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai Garden Inn(Kanchanaburi)
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Raft Kanchanaburi Guest House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Bed & Breakfast(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$47
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
X2 River Kwai Resort(Kanchanaburi)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
10
27
24
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
27
24
4
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 75 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

All ages love this place. Calm and nice. Very affordable price. Good staff. If you go to Kanchanabury this is one of the best places to stay. You can choose very low priced eco-room or slightly high floating apartment. Food is available at affordable prices. Sugar Cane 1 and 2 are managed by the same party.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longleg-UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

So cheap and so lovely. We travel full time with the kids and sugar cane became our home in Kanchanaburi. Perfect riverside guest house, nice restaurant, good wifi, simple rooms but a paradise setting. Will be back next time we're in Thailand.
Alyson World Travel Family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After staying in a sub-par hostel our first night in Kanchanaburi, Sugar Cane was an excellent find. For only slightly more than our previous hostel, we had a spectacular floating room on the River Kwai! The room was cheap, but still managed to come with a comfortable bed and a modern shower. In addition to the rooms on the river, there was a floating dock with chairs and tables to relax. Sugar Cane has a cafe overlooking the river as well; I still don't know which was nicer, watching the sun set while sipping a pineapple shake in the cafe or seeing the river at dawn from the front door of the bungalow. Definitely staying here our next time in Kanchanaburi!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

For such a small price, you can have a private floating room on the river Kwai! What more could you ask for really! It even comes with air conditioning and your own back veranda, from which you get an amazing sunset and views of the river and some monuments further downstream. Despite the amenities not being modern, it was the most amazing place we stayed in Asia simply for the views. Our cabin was one of the furthest out into the water, so our view wasn't blocked by other cabins. I definitely intend to stay here again on my next visit to kanchanaburi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateV662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I cannot remember every staying somewhere so unique, awe inspiring, and relaxing as this hotel. We stayed on one of the floating bungalows one night and then in one of the lodges the second. The rooms are typical of Thailand; the toilets were pretty poor - although Thai piping is smaller than Western piping anyway so this is expected - and the rooms were simple. Nothing fancy, just plain value.

You are paying for an experience, not a luxury apartment. If you travel to Thailand for cheap luxury hotels, jacuzzi spa's, and fine dining, then stay in Bangkok or travel down to Phucket. You might be forgoing the true culture and spirit of Thailand, but if that's what your about then go elsewhere (if that is you then I truly pity you). I however am looking to experience true Thailand; quirky and simple.

That epitomises this hotel; quirky and simple. The rooms aren't spotless, the beds don't feature Egyptian cotton, the rooms are not huge, but it is cheap, certainly cheerful, and the food is well cooked and presented to you by typically friendly Thai owners.

Please visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the bungalows. If you don't mind lizards (they generally stay out of the rooms and on the balconies) then you need to experience this once in a lifetime opportunity.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alec j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews