We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
37
46
17
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
46
17
8
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 112 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Kanachanaburi is pretty quiet. But the Kasem Island Resort is the quietest place in Thailand. Right on the Mae Klong and only reachable by river boat, the resort sits on about 5 acres of riparian land. I booked via Agoda for 3 nights and paid about $70. Cheap for February when it isn't too hot out.

It was lovely. The best weekend I've had in a long, long time. If you are unhappy, stay at a noisier, more expensive place. For my money and for a much needed escape from the noise of Bangkok, it's right here at this rather unremarkable little resort.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutMosquitoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I booked 2 nights here but left after 1.
The setting is very nice but it appears that the hotel is under staffed; the ferry driver is also the "Bell Boy", Repairman etc.
The rooms ( which are small cabins around the edge of the island) could do with some updating and the outside area needs a full time gardener; I think this place was once very nice but has been left without any maintenance.
We went back to the mainland to eat but there was very little choice in that area and no taxis available so we got the car out and drove a couple of kilometers up the road.
Very quiet rooms, hot water, no TV; nice view of the river from outside the room but everything outside needed a tidy up.
There is computer access in the lobby but it cost about 40 Baht for 20 minutes so I didn't bother.
Breakfast was fine and served in a pleasant area beside the river.
The staff were good but I didn't see many of them.
There was a swimming pool which was one of those above ground affairs with a plastic liner.
I think if someone bought this place and spent some money it would be a fantastic place to stay!

Room tip: Most of the rooms appeared to have river views.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Located on a private island in the river, a 5 min taxi ride and a ferry ride away from any hussle and bussle.A great place to escape and recharge. Lovely grounds and gardens surrounded by the river - lots of wild life and brilliant sunrises and sunsets.
Lovely helpful staff - nothing was a problem. Food and service was good.
Resort need's TLC and maintenance.
My room (not one of the raft types) was well maintained tho; lovely room with large windows overlooking the river and small private terrace. Very peaceful and relaxing. Room was clean and fresh with good shower and separate toilet. I found the swimming pool refreshing and clean.
It is not handy if you want to go back and to the town or are looking for nightlife/bars etc but for a very peaceful escape I found it fitted the purpose well.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Kasem's is a realy run down place. The bathroom is not clean (bathmat used to be white but was horribly stained), hairs everywhere. Pool is full of green stuff (?). Blankets dirty and old. Location is great and food not to bad plus they have a Nespresso machine!!!!!!!!
Staff is not as helpful as in other places.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Rooms tired,service average.food ok and great location

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews