We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasem Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting and food”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is called the Kasem Island Resort because the resort is an island in the river.
The rooms are a bit run down inside, but are spacious and have beautiful views.
The communal areas are very relaxing with lovely gardens and lounges and a big swimming pool.
The restaurant goes all the way out to the rivers edge on a raft and the food was really good especially the breakfast.
There are a couple of surprises with the wildlife that you'll enjoy too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thestone_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
41
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I come from Chiang Mai the place that everyone have a service mind, when came here every Hotel Staff in Karnjanabjuri have to improve there services. I paid 1400 Baht doesn't want a word like "u have to bring your breakfast to your room by your self (my husband was ill)"

The room is pretty old but the one that is the Gem here is an old man boat ^__^ he's a service mind.

Back to Chiang Mai miss miss home.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KwanYokP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Nice, Lovly, Quiet, Peaceful, Nature and Rest. This place is paradise, heaven on earth, fairyland and wonderland. I love this place. This is very romantic [dinner with sunset and wake up with sunrise]. If you love quiet, rest and natural... you will love this place. [Can't find any good enough words to explain how beautiful this place is. Just see it by yourself. once in a life time.] (^_^) Kasem Island Resort... I'll be back ASAP.

Room Tip: Request for room with balcony on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanny_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frizington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it felt like two weeks. The location is stunning and being set on a Island in the middle of a river is novel. There are hourly ferries to the mainland if required.
The Reception staff were virtually non-existant and you had to ring a bell to summon them, when they did eventually appear, they gave the impression you had disturbed them from something more important. The rooms are basic and clean. The breakfast is also quite good. On checking out - I rang the bell(again) the girl came, took my key off me, dropped it into the key-drop bin, turned her back on me and went back to whence she came. No Thank you - No Wai - nothing, not what I expected from a place that charged 1,800 THB a night, there a loads of places nearby that charge half of that and at least appreciate your custom.
The only positive I could take from this stay would be the guy who drives the River taxi is a diamond.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Ive stayed in kanchanaburi 6 times usualy at the guest houses in the city. This time I thought I would try Kasem Island as the pictures on the website make it look fantastic and the last few reviews on Trip Advisor were very positive! I wish I had scrolled down further as the older negative reviews are far more accurate! It makes me wonder about how genuine the more recent positive reviews are!
Anyway the whle place is run down, poorly maintained and in despirate need of a refurb. The rooms are dirty and smelly with excessive mold in the bathrooms and very old AC units that seem barely cold. Even the curtains had big brown stains on them!

We booked 1400b rooms and both were very poor! After 10 mins we decided it was so bad we couldnt stay, so we got out money back and left. We then moved to the city and stayed in a lovely little guest house by the river for less than half the price of Kasem island!

The only plus point was the staff were very nice and understanding and were fine about refunding us andeting us leave.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ajarnjamie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My spouse and myself reached Kanchanaburi weary after a long train ride from Bangkok's Thonburi station.

Upon arriving, the staff went out of the way to accommodate to our request for more privacy by giving us the unoccupied unit on the far side as the resort was relatively quiet. I appreciate gestures like this as it makes me feel special that my requests as a guest are important.

This resort is full of rustic charm and is manned by the exceptional manager Pau whom would do well in any 5 star hotel with her friendly service attitude.

If you are looking for exciting nightlife, you would do best to stay away and Kanchanaburi is probably not the place for that anyway. However if you want to do nothing but just relax, Kasem Island is worth a stay if you are in Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here for a night following a stay at the River Kwai Jungle Rafts on what must have been the hottest night of the year!! We loved the Jungle Rafts for their remoteness and beauty bit did not get much sleep from the oppressive heat. We slept sooo well at Kasem Island in the air con after that!! Welcome relief!!

The resort is on the river and our air con rooms had an amazing water view. The bathrooms were very basic but fine. Bed was comfortable. Service was good. The pool is very dated and jaded, but seemed to be clean and was cool enough to be refreshing. The food was perfectly fine...and after several days of exhausting trekking in April heat...it just wasn't worth the effort to get on the boat to go elsewhere to eat. We were only there for 1 night, so if the stay was extended, would probably have ventured into Kanchanaburi for a different experience.

We would recommend, and would stay again. It is obviously not 5 star, but if you are happy to downgrade your "star rating" for a lovely and authentic stay on the river, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachykeen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
2.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
984 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
2.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasem Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasem Island Resort

Property: Kasem Island Resort
Address: 44-48 Chaichumphol Road | Tambon Ban Tai, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasem Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kasem Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasem Island Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing