We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kevinpatrickbarker
Chiang Rai Province, Thailand

Dirty rooms

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 6, 2011
This resort , if you can call it that was a bad experiance. Firstly the rooms were very dirty and old, the shower was disgusting and had a bad odour. the bed was so hard it was hard to sleep on it ,the aircon did not get cold at all , and was noisy. The breakfast was ordinary and the tables were dirty .we were booked for 2 nights and after one were went to the front desk and told them we were leaving as the rooms were so dirty . The reception did not argue and gave us our money back for the one night.There is nothing good to say about this hotel . The rooms on the river might be better .
Date of stay: December 2011
Room Tip: try the river rooms as people say they are better , mmmmm but ask to see them first.
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $84
  • Expedia.com
    $93
0.9 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$52
$41
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.8 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $22
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $74
2.1 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    $32
  • StayForLong
1.5 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$19
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $19
2.4 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $33
  • Priceline
17.5 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $15
  • StayForLong
3.9 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
    $106
  • Expedia.com
    $108
43.4 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $45
  • Priceline
8.8 miles from Duenshine Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
1
18
10
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1
18
10
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 43 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for a couple days in August in one of the 'raft rooms' that was right on the river. The setting was fantastic with a nice view of the sunset over the river. The boats that occasionally passed on the river would send the rooms rocking a little bit but we got used to it and I even thought it was fun. :p
Bathrooms were okay and the staff were friendly.
A/C stopped working on the second night and they fixed it in the morning. (Common complaint)

A little far from the main town so you'll be forced to have dinner in the restaurant which might not be too agreeable for Western tourists as it mostly caters to Asian customers.

1,800 THB a night for the raft rooms. Just for the river experience, it was worth every baht and more.

Room tip: Stay here only if you want to stay on the river. They're the only ones with the 'raft rooms'. (As far as I know)
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellie8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We loved it here we had one of the floating rooms on the River Kwai,they have a lovely pool and restaurant was great,the wine was expensive as it is all imported.They organised our trip to the death railway and to the Saphire and Ruby mines,the wife loved that.We found room prices very reasonable would go back again.

Room tip: Floating rooms are the best.
Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selwyn072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

If you want western standard luxury go some where else. This is a resort with good standard rooms with AC, fridge, TV, shower and a bed.
I started my 6 week trip by spending 4 days here and my aim was to relax, sit on the river raft porch and just know it is holiday far away from work. This was the right place for that.
In weekends many thai people come here for weekend fun. The other days only a few rooms was oocupied. I got to know some nice thai people from Bangkok here.
Pool was great.
Beds was ok.
TV 22 inch.
Restarant and breakfast, no complaints.
Taxi in to the city Kanchanaburi - 10 min. 150 baht.
Go to Glitzy Disco at River Kwai Hotel on saturdays for fun.

If you stay here chose the raft rooms.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasnr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in Nov 2006 for luckily just 1 night. The brochure looks nice and the rooms are okay from the outside but once inside they are basic and in need of renovation. The resort is outside of town and unless you have your own transport travelling around is very difficult. The staff are friendly enough and the food is good. There is a small swimming pool but in short we wouldn't stay here again unless it was modernised.

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jack89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

We were disappointed with this resort. The photos displayed on the internet were obviously taken when the resort first opened many years ago and bear little resemblence to the resort today. The first room which we stayed in one night, was what you would expect in a very low cost back packer's hostel in Thailand. We asked to be moved and were given a better room but still nothing like the rooms portrayed in the advertisements. The staff was friendly and kind. The owners or managers sat most of the day in the reception area not taking the slightest bit of notice of the guests which we found quite rude. The travel desk service was extremely poor. Despite signs in reception offering to change money, this service was not available. The resort is a long way away from Kanchanaburi (at least 5kms)so you tend to need to eat at the hotel at least once a day. However, the hotel's all day menu is very limited. We had lunch at the Apple Guest House in Kanchanburi which seemed very nice. Also the Felix River Kwai Resort is well regarded.

5  Thank Cacilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews