We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pung-Waan Resort & Spa Kwai Yai
Nearby Hotels
$52
$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
X2 River Kwai Resort(Kanchanaburi)
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai Garden Inn(Kanchanaburi)
$34
$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$35
$7
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
10
41
58
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
41
58
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig resortkwaithaifurnitureriver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 139 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you want peace, tranquility, and a beautiful setting, this is the place for you! The resort is on the bank of the River Kwai in a natural, jungle-like setting. The pool was beautiful & spacious with plenty of loungers. Our room was very clean & large with a balcony overlooking the fountains. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean. It had a shower, but no bath tub. There was an in-room safe, robe & slippers, simple TV, etc. but we hardly spent anytime in the room. There aren't restaurants nearby, but we found the hotel food to be delicious and very economical. Each breakfast had a large buffet with lots of choices. There was live music in the lounge at night. The best part was the spa......for $10 (US) I had my first Thai massage! It was amazing & I left completely relaxed! I also enjoyed that I could enjoy a massage next to my friends separated by a curtain, so I didn't feel awkward being alone. We rented a "taxi" and toured Arawan Nat'l Park one day and rode elephants nearby another. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We only stayed one night as part of a three day tour. We had stayed the night before at this resorts sister resort near Hellfire Pass. This was a vast improvement. The resort grounds are beautiful and in the middle is a lake with fountains. The restaurant overlooks the lake and pool area. Our room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom was fine. Only one person at a time so just time your showers and toilet visit appropriately. Breakfast was a decent variety of Thai and Western foods and provided as a buffet so there was plenty. It is quite a way out of Kanchanaburi so you will need either a Tuk Tuk or Taxi to get anywhere. If you are happy to just relax at the resort then it has all you need.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husand & I stayed at this resort for 6 nights. It was recommended to us by a Thai family friend who's family live in Kanchanaburi. The resort is a 3 hour drive by car from Bangkok Airport and we arrived very late at night but we were greeted by a porter who showed us to our room.

We had a river view suite which was very large and comfortable with ensuite and a second toilet. The furniture is old and well used but still very clean. Two balconies, not really a river view but stll very nice. The A/C was very noisy.

This resort is not for people who want a night life on their doorstep, it is very quiet, the River Kwai bridge is a 10 minute drive and Kanchanaburi quite a bit further on by Tuk Tuk, taxi or motorbike. The resort seems to be used mainly by tour parties

Food is average and I think depends on how many are staying on that particular day. Not many of the staff can speak english but they are very friendly and we always managed to have our requests understood. We didn't use the spa facilities but it looked very nice, very clean pool and very pleasant grounds and riverside.

Kanchanaburi has lots of great restuarants, open markets and shops. For tours of the area we would recommend Tois Tours (toistours.com)

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Special nice River hotel . We stayd only one night. It is nice place with huge rooms and good atmosfeer...
You feel the juangel and its sounds.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raful19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Love the location. Love the main building, and the breakfast, and the dinner. I was with a group of 20 staying here last week and "some" of the group had good rooms, but the majority of us had dumpy rooms - i.e. 1950ish. Our particular shower was nasty! We called the front desk and four (count them, FOUR) people came to our room to look at the shower. Not one of the four people had any cleaning supplies. They splashed water on the shower walls, looked puzzled, and raised their eyebrows in an attempt to say "OK?". We told them it was ok to leave and they left. It wasn't worth the trouble trying to get our message across to them. The people meant well, but they didn't have a clue what Western standards are like. Thankfully, we were only there for two nights.

I didn't go take a look, but my 28 year old daughter said the pool was EXCELLENT.

If you have another choice in the area, go for it and bypass Pung Waan Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews