We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Cockroaches in the 4th floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pavilion Rim Kwai
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awful! Cockroaches in the 4th floor!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I don't know where to start.
The cockroaches inside my room on the 4th floor, the worst restaurant ever in thailand, the antfarm inside my room or the Asian music at 07:00 in the morning...
Don't go there. The hotel was maybe not that bad a few years ago but today it is just a dump.
The hotel is 30km outside of kanchanaburi. Asking if they have a transport the first answer is always no, because they want you to eat in the awful restaurant. If you keep insisting the driver apears in 1 minute...
They even charge 150 baht for 2 hours of wifi!

Room Tip: Just don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rattazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
14
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour. When we entered our room, all we could smell was mould. The bathroom was filthy and mould growing in the shower.
The shower leaked and we had water all over the bathroom floor.
The hotel is very run down and the gardens have been neglected. The food was average - very average.
Thankfully, we only had to stay one night and we headed off early the next morning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Hotel brought our family to good services with warm welcome. We spent our fantastic time almost a month. Feeling like hometown begins every breakfast fulfilled of freshment including Thai meals with rice, Chinese boiled rice and ABF style.
Room was not totally moderned but it has been looked neo classical interior where our family have chosen nearby swimming pool. There was no noices interruption but any if you have chosen the room with childs, especially luncheon room service was great, delicious Thai meals.
The hotel is near others traveled places like Erawan waterfall, Srinakarin Dam, Safari Muang Karn and Elephant garden.

Room Tip: Rooms near garden and lake view are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirawtap A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We picked this hotel because the pictures looked decent and it was the only place we could find in Kanchanaburi that would accommodate 9 people for two nights on Jan 2. It was also very cheap, and with hindsight I can understand why.

Do not be taken in by the impressions given in the photos. The resort is run-down, ill-maintained and has an aura of decay -- it feels like a hotel that's given up the will to live. We were the only people there for the first day and the shabby emptiness was oppressing. Half-open doors around the hotel showed evidence of a once-busy existence but the cracked plaster work, subsiding pools and empty cavernous spaces created an atmosphere of despondency.

The rooms were no better. Even with all the lights on, they were dim. It was impossible to read in bed except right under a lamp (whose bulb was hanging off at an alarming angle). The room was musty, even with the aircon on full blast and the walls looked like they hadn't seen a wet cloth in about a decade. The beds were adequate, just about but the extra camp bed put in for our son creaked with every breath and dipped in the middle like a whirlpool.

Breakfast was a basic buffet - eggs, Thai/German sausages, limp ham, some Asian foods and toast. I've had worse, but then again I've had a lot better.

There's little to recommend about this hotel - it's a good 25kms away from Kanchanaburi itself, the staff are like ghosts (you know they're around, but they're insubstantial), and the atmosphere is non-existent.

I live in Thailand, holiday here a lot and so I don't have the overly high expectations that many Western tourists have, but this has to have been one of the worst places I have stayed at in many years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank strangefish32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place need a health warning, it must be one of the dirtiest hotels I've ever stayed in anywhere in South East Asia, and I've stayed in some pits believe me.

A very very tired hotel in need of a massive expensive refurb, everything you looked at was falling apart, faded or just broken. The smell in the rooms was disgusting too, it smelled like a gym shower room, we had booked four rooms and a family room for our party, every room was the same, with mouldy wall paper hanging off the walls, the horrible smell, disgusting stained fridges (with no mini bar), mould around the bath and showers, crusty dirt around the sinks etc etc, absolutely minging!
Cigarette butts all around the pool, which is showing signs of subsidence as the concrete is dropping and cracked all around it, it was so cloudy and full of leaves and dirt it was without doubt not for swimming in. The staff were miserable and clearly used to people complaining about these problems, when they saw us they would look or walk the other way.
It's also in the middle of nowhere, about 25k from the main town, something else that isn't shown on their website.
Luckily for us we'd booked through and agency, so after a quick phonecall of complaint they told us to pack our bags and move into the town to a lovely resort (Felix resort).
The guy at the reception told our driver this happened everyday at the resort, it's no wonder the place is empty, we were the only people there on that day, and we didn't stay more than twenty mins.

Don't waste your time booking this place, as soon as you get there you'll want to leave, this is one to avoid. Try the Felix closer to the town, it was five star compared to this dump!

Room Tip: I can't think of any positives to put in here, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank uptoyouWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is older than what it looks in the photos with all the lighting effects, etc. I had been here with my family and our stay was quite pleasant. Food is good. Breakfast is quite elaborate. Its the place you may want to go to when the idea is to spend minimum time at the hotel and maximum time to the outside of it.

Room Tip: take the room facing river KWAI. Ask for 20 to 30 % discount at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Pavilion Rim Kwai Hotel is a resort hotel in up-country Thailand. It has the feel and appearance of a development that was never quite as successful as hoped for. The rooms are large and the air-con works well, but it’s all a bit dilapidated. The shower was strong but somehow leaked all over the bathroom floor in our room, and the bath leaked too.

The wifi hotspots that are meant to cover the hotel (and are chargeable) didn’t reach many of the rooms, and people could be seen down in the reception area all the time with their iPads and laptops trying to get a connection. The food served was quite good (I only ate in the function hall, not in the restaurant) but overall, it’s a tired hotel in the middle of nowhere with very little to do at it. I do think it’s probably aimed more at the local tourist than foreign visitors, so I may be judging this by inappropriate standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.3 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.2 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#55 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
3.0 mi away
River Kwai Hotel
River Kwai Hotel
#46 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion Rim Kwai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion Rim Kwai

Property: The Pavilion Rim Kwai
Address: 79/2 Moo 4, Ladya-Erawan Road | Amphur Muang, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion Rim Kwai 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pavilion Rim Kwai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Rim Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing