We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel with little to do...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pavilion Rim Kwai
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Pavilion Rim Kwai Hotel is a resort hotel in up-country Thailand. It has the feel and appearance of a development that was never quite as successful as hoped for. The rooms are large and the air-con works well, but it’s all a bit dilapidated. The shower was strong but somehow leaked all over the bathroom floor in our room, and the bath leaked too.

The wifi hotspots that are meant to cover the hotel (and are chargeable) didn’t reach many of the rooms, and people could be seen down in the reception area all the time with their iPads and laptops trying to get a connection. The food served was quite good (I only ate in the function hall, not in the restaurant) but overall, it’s a tired hotel in the middle of nowhere with very little to do at it. I do think it’s probably aimed more at the local tourist than foreign visitors, so I may be judging this by inappropriate standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for a night for company's party. The room really need some refreshment. Everything was old. The buildings needed re-paint.

Resort's facilities were so-so. However, staffs were great. Lots of choices for breakfast which they offered "Hot Thai Milk Tea" as part of breakfast, a must try.

The resort was some 20 kms. from Kanchanaburi. So, it wasn't ideal place to stay if you want to hang out in city of Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Firstly don't believe the pictures. The entire place has a rundown feel - hotel management obviously built this but did not care to maintain the facilities. All the pictures were probably taken 10 years ago when this first opened up, and I have no doubt it was nice back then. Rooms were bad: bugs in the toilet, leaky shower, suspicious looking bathtub, old bed mattresses, broken lamps, static-prone television, mosquitoes everywhere (and more outdoors), and a shabby balcony.

The hotel restaurant is far from decent. Breakfast buffet was served outdoors which is another way of saying it is a buffet for ants and flies. The minute you set your food on the wooden tables ants will start attacking it. Anything sweet will draw flies. Food quality and taste were poor too for Thailand. Lunch was better because it was indoors.

There are two swimming pools. The larger one is permanently closed down. The smaller one did not look swimmable either despite the hotel staff's valiant efforts. Garden grounds are okay to walk around but nothing unlike a typical park.

Service was poor; staff were either very very shy or did not simply care about your experience here. Maybe they've grown resigned to customers' complaints - I would if I were they.

Oddly this place seems very popular with conferences and company retreats. I was there for precisely that reason, and for the three days we were there there were two other conferences going on. So the only redeeming part of this trip was the lovely staff and colleagues that were there with me. I would not recommend coming here alone or even as a couple or with friends. There are much better places to stay closer to town for the same rate.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digaginax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After arriving from bangkok thonnburi station at Kanchanaburi we expect a short drive (maybe 5km) (as stated in the hotel website) The taxi man informed us it was 30km away. 500 baht later we arrived at the hotel. Beautiful grounds and entrance lobby. Thats were all the good things ended. The hotel looks great in the site, in reality its big and grand but smelly, mouldy, needs updating, basic room, dirty pool, leakie shower, no mini bar, no balcony furniture. Staff wew rubbish, no English, couldnt be bothered. Breakfast was poor, They love charing 500baht for their taxi. In town was too far away, we struggled to geta taxi home at night. Town is ok. Cheaper than other parts of thailand. We only spent 2 night there and were the only 2 in the hotel. 2nd night a thai school prom arrived and the band tried its best to sing (sounded that a drowning cat) that went on outside our room for hours, then the kids decided to have something like hello kitty party in our corridor, i want happy. Staff could have put us in a different part of the hotel. We only went to visit River kwai bridge etc. There are better and closer hotels in the town centre, The rickity train was the highlight for us

Room Tip: Stay in the town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This place is horrible, I called it the "Bates Motel". The pools were dirty and the water fall never worked. No finess center or place to excersize. The place is isolated and the staff is horrible, they see you and start walking in the opposite direction. They placed us in the far end of the empty hotel and we had to walk to the other end of the hotel for dinner and breakfast. Glad we only stayed one night. Nothing to do after the sun goes down. The grounds are nice and kept well.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadRunner-1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 1, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 11, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.9 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#57 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
39 reviews
4.9 mi away
Prelude Hotel
Prelude Hotel
#42 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.7 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
385 reviews
7.1 mi away
ComSaed River Kwai Resort
ComSaed River Kwai Resort
#36 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion Rim Kwai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion Rim Kwai

Address: 79/2 Moo 4, Ladya-Erawan Road | Amphur Muang, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $44 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion Rim Kwai 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pavilion Rim Kwai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Rim Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing