We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good good”

Jolly Frog Backpackers Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 173 Restaurants in Kanchanaburi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cheap and good good”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

They have a very big menu with cheap food. The taste of the food is good only the service of the staff is terible and alot of mosquitoes. We ordered a San Miguel beer and the taste was strange we looked on the bottle and saw it was filled in 2012. But dessert apple pie was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Sander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    51
    16
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lacklustre welcome”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Service without charm. Quite an extensive menu both Thai and European and the food was ok. Just no ambiance and certainly no sign of anything "jolly". Ok if you just need to refuel. Loads better in Kanchanaburi!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food ok service & dessert 0”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We were suggested by locals to visit Jolly Frog for some good food so we did.

We ordered a chicken steak with pepper sauce with french fries which in our opinion was good except that the french fries were a bit cold :/

After I ordered a pancake which I must say it was not worth the wait. It was nothing like a pancake, was heavy like a brick.

As for the service, the staff were quite lazy, slow and have no idea at all of how to serve clients.

Helpful?
Thank morris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a good menu, that's about it.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been reading the reviews, I couldn't agree more. As I was eating there today I told my friend that if the service staff knew anything about service it would be a win-win-win situation. I would be happy and return, the owners would be happy to get return business, and the staff would be happy to get tips. As it is, the wait staff can go and pick the crumbs off my plate, Mgt. really needs to take care of this, but alas they are the same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bangkokfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aggressive male restaurant staff members”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Jolly Frog 10 years ago, and as I'm passing through Thailand on the way to Myanmar I thought I'd stay here again as I have a few days spare while I wait for my Myanmar visa to be processed. Still cheap and nothing much has changed. The garden is nice.

When the rooms are cheap, I tend to eat in the restaurant as that seems fair. But I really regret that I did after being threaten by two male staff members. It seems they have a little scam going on. I ordered a fish dish from the menu, ate it, was delicious. However, when the bill came, there was an error. The number of my dish was written on the bill but they'd charged me for something more expensive. They insisted I had eaten something more expensive although the dish number was clearly written on the bill. I was called a "stupid guy" several times and two male staff members stood over me, fists showing, wanting to beat me up. I don't appreciate being intimidated and threaten. Be careful to check the dish brought to you is exactly what you ordered. I really thought mine was or maybe it was. I still refused to pay on principle of the staffs negotiabl behaviour and a female staff member came between us, although I was not allowed to get up during this time, and accepted my payment. I was so shocked at these guys behaviour, unbelievable. They also followed me back to my room, shouting abuse, very scary experience. After reading through comments here, it seems to have happened to other people. And I have to agree that most of the other staff members are miserable and are more focused on their mobile phones. My experience here clouds any good qualities this place may have. Will never come back.

    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank star211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Frog Backpackers Restaurant also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Jolly Frog Backpackers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing