We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouse and pest problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel Felix Kwai River Resort was awful. I found a mouse as well as mouse feces throughout different parts of the room. The hotel sent a maid to get rid of the mouse quickly after I complained but never found it. They didn't offer me a new room or help me escape from the mouse. I talked to Rabbit and she went and asked the front desk to change my room. I found the mouse in my luggage and let it outside. I still moved to the new room and felt relieved to be in a cleaner space. However, the new room had so many mosquitoes and I was bit in the eye and woke up the next morning with a swollen eye and a few dead mosquitoes in my bed. I also had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom. I understand that pests are normal to have while travelling, but I have stayed at hostels that had cleaner and better conditions than this. The pests were awful but the customer service was worse. The hotel staff laughed at me for having a swollen eye and didn't offer much help. No offer was made to clean my clothes after the mouse lived in my luggage and pooped in it. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had and it is depressing to think I spent this much money to live like this. I usually live in hostels and travel cheaply as a student so my expectations for a hotel are not super high. I was very disappointed with the level of service and accommodations this hotel had to offer. Besides my personal experience the food at Felix was not good either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 645 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel needs a facelift. The grounds are very nice but the rooms need painting and/or cleaning. Rooms are large, however, our walls had all kinds of stains on them. Some touch up paint or a good scrub down would have removed the layer of dirt evident on all of the walls. The minibar door swung on its hinges when opened and should be fixed. The bathroom was old and the ceiling was peeling. Hot water was sporadic. Wifi was poor in the rooms, and when contacted, the hotel staff would tell me to go to the lobby to get a working connection. Most of the staff did try to be helpful.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to friends and I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had amazing time with my daughter, meeting her in Thailand for her birthday, during her backpacker youth-trip. We walked along the Kwai river to Kanchanaburi and back.
The room had balcony facing the river and fountain. The service were kind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raayaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice property with a very rural Thai feeling around the corner from the Bridge over the River Kwai. Large rooms but sparsely furnished. Not enough charging receptacles so had to unplug some lights and the TV to get more capacity. Always remember that the bathrooms in Thailand are all one step down (supposedly so that the toilet is below the level of the bed) so be very careful at night. We left the light on in the bathroom to avoid breaking an ankle. Breakfast was decent and the grounds are very well maintained. There is a swimming pool but we checked in late at night and out early so that we did not have a chance to use it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A huge resort but very quiet late January whether due to Bangkok demonstrations or Chinese New Year I don't know. Others have noted that it's time for some freshening of the decor but our room was very comfortable and spacious with large balcony facing the river. Maybe bathroom tiles could be changed for more modern but the rest is very OK. Hot water pressure and temperature could be better. We only stayed one night, ate in the Good Earth (Chinese) restaurant. Seating for 46 but we are the only 2 so felt a bit conspicuous but service was friendly, food was good so no real complaints. More guests chose the bistro but no big numbers at hotel. Big choice of cooked European/American or buffet Asian for breakfast. Very good friendly service at all times. You can walk from the hotel to the famous bridge so the hotel is well situated for that attraction. Lovely gardens, water featuring prominently. Huge swimming pool complex so space for all even when busy. Did not use any of the other hotel's sports facilities. Would recommend for good value, activities and closeness to River Kwai Bridge.

Room Tip: We had room H231. It's away from the core of the hotel including the karaoke bar. Good sized bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The grounds at this resort are very lovely and spacious. Clean.
The room; beds hard, nice patio area and space in the room
The food; good
No elevators, so I requested a room on the main floor and liked it's location.
Pool; solar heated, so cold at this time of year and was not able to use it

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is a good choice for K'buri and proudly displays its TA award at reception. It is a bit older, you would probably chose a different layout and design of the property if building it today, but very nice overall. Very nice reception area, plentiful breakfast choices. Great park/garden. Nice rooms. Nice pool. Mixture of Thai and foreign visitors. It was only moderately busy when we visited on a weekend in main season, not sure why this is... The only annoyance was that our toilet did not work (kept on flushing continously throughout the whole time, which cost me much of my sleep... we had a service man coming in, who did some work and said the problem was resolved, but it was not... that it, it was repaired in the typical Thai way, just doing enough to make it work once, but the problem return after the first time using it; we did not bother changing rooms or complaining a second tine as we stayed only one night; probably just bad luck with the room; maybe because we booked with Agoda, many hotel tend to give you bad (ground floor in this case) rooms if you use Agoda). I would probably go again if I would get the same (reduced) rate, good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlgwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
230 reviews
5.7 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi

Address: 9/1 Moo 3 | Thamakham Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $50 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous addresses in Kanchanaburi with a well known luxury and elegant ambiance that has been playing host to many high profile events and VIP from worldwide. An Oasis for both Business and Pleasure. Welcome to The Felix River Kwai Resort Kanchanaburi. Felix River Kwai Resort, a four star plus resort in Kanchanaburi, Only two hours from Bangkok. The resort sits on 130 rai or 20 hectares plot of pristine riverfront land adjacent to the infamous Bridge On The River Kwai. Just 10 minutes away from downtown Kanchanaburi, the resort caters to an interesting mix of corporate, incentive, government clients as well as local and International Visitors who enjoy the low rise architecture, lush & beautiful garden, privacy and space the resort generously affords them. The resort maintains 255 rooms and suites, each has a private balcony, with complete amenities and an uncompromising standard of services. There is also an enchanting Log Cabin Home popular occupied by VIP, Local and International Celebrities In addition there are also two large swimming pools, two tennis courts, sauna, The Ficus SPA center, snooker lounge, fitness center, 2 kilometers of jogging track, bicycles, canoes for rental, Felix Station 9 (obstacles courses for team building) and an elegant river raft cruise. The resort exotic gardens act as a layover for different species of migratory birds and feature many different species of trees. The Kwai Yai (Bigger) meets the Kai Noi (Smaller) and the Meklong in Kanchanaburi, and these feed the resorts labyrinth of lagoons that host many species of giant fresh water fishes. The Pailin Convention Center is a premier and prestigious venue for events of all levels and sizes. The non-pillar convention center can accommodate up to 1,000 delegates theater seating with a long and spacious adjoining pre function area. There are smaller meetings room designed to accommodate various settings for meeting, seminar and workshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing