We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I stated here for a week and absolutely enjoyed. Hotel exceeded my expectation.
Spacious and cosy room and bathroom, a lot of light, comfortable bed, big balcony with fantastic view on river. I could live here without living this beautiful area! silent and peace, birds, water.
Big buffet breakfast with various options.
There is a chocolate kiosk near to reception, they have handmade chokolate candied (just 15 B), delicious.
***İnfo for management:
Things to improve 1) to fix internet - it did not work properly in the rooms during all 6 days I stayed there 2) improve system of water cleaning in the pool, now it contains a lot of chlor which is very unhealthy, nowadays there are more modern technologies of cleaning water
3) restaurant could hardly cope with a lot of guests during lunch - you could probably offer 'Lunch Buffet' for groups instead of ordering different sets

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    251
    160
    54
    19
See reviews for
161
248
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, the reception was very friendly with a welcome drink, good information and the reception area is well equipped.
The hotel grounds are spacious and well maintained, the landscaping is of a high quality. All staff friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and well maintained are very clean and tidy. Only a 5 minute walk to the Kwae river bridge, it's a perfect location for such a stay. Perhaps the only downside was the restaurant that we used for the evening meal, they cater of course for the short term but the standard of the food was low, produced for the passing through tourist and it was expensive by Thai standards. Overall though an excellent resort well worth considering.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bramhall
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Yes,, a huge beautiful pool and right by the river! The room took a bit of finding ,very inadequate sign posting, we would have liked a little help. Hot water was intermittent. Very beautiful gardens with interesting sculptures.. Large room with balcony but no view. Lovely restaurent

Room Tip: Ask for one near to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wide Bay
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I found the Felix River Kwai Hotel had a very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Great pool. The grounds are huge, staff use bikes to get around!!!!
I agree with others that the rooms are a bit tired, but was not put off by this as I feel the size of the room compensated for this. We had a ground floor river view which proved to be the perfect getaway. The free wifi was a bit hit and miss, but that is what my iPhone hotspot is for, so not a big problem.
We had dinner at the downstairs restaurant and found it to be good with great service. Breakfast is OK.
We had the hotel arrange a shuttle into town - 60 baht per person with a minimum of 3 - thus it cost us 180 baht $6. Also walked into town via the Bridge which took about 20 minutes and agree that it is NOT something to be done at night - not only is the bridge a problem, but also the dark lane way between the bridge and the hotel.
Would I stay here again - absolutely! Just loved the tranquility and the helpfulness of the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

i have stayed with my family for just 1 day but the hotel has a very good infra structure, despite the age. Good breakfast, swimming pool. location close to the river and many space for activities.
it is a good choice for Kanchanaburi region. Staff is very friendly and reception very fast check-in and check-out.
there is a very beautiful grass and you can enjoy the the nature in front of the river.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicasdomaridao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A lovely resort hotel with wonderful swimming pools and lobby lounges. Very cool and inviting lobby. The room was comfortable though a bit of a walk from Reception. Hot water in the shower stopped running at one point which was a problem but it came back on later of it's own accord so was flowing again by the time Housekeeping got there. When we walked to the "Bridge over the River Kwai" we were very impressed by the proximity of the hotel, it only took about 5 minutes through the lovely gardens and past a Chinese temple and there it was! However, the Hotel itself is a long drive out of town which might be a problem if walking is difficult for you or you want to go into town at night - walking across the bridge in the dark might be difficult.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pspresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here for 8 days.

The rooms were well serviced. Air conditioning worked well. Bed was comfortable. Some of the room decor was a little tired, but everything was very clean.

Staff always very helpful and smiling.
Very peaceful gardens which meandered around swimming pools and the fronted onto the River Kwai.
The self service buffet was ample with a good selection to cater for many cultures.
The Chinese restaurant was amazing. Food and service impeccable. Priced very reasonably.

It was a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the actual River Kwai Bridge. Here you can find many other restaurants and shopping experiences.

Recommend buying the local mozzie repellant lotion. It is the most effective one. Can be brought in the hotel shop or the local Seven Eleven store.


I loved coming back from a hard day at work and being able to have a night swim, use the pool bar and appreciate the tropical landscape and peacefulness to reflect upon the day.

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the free Internet, you will want a room nearer to the reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#10 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#55 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi

Property: Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Address: 9/1 Moo 3 | Thamakham Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous addresses in Kanchanaburi with a well known luxury and elegant ambiance that has been playing host to many high profile events and VIP from worldwide. An Oasis for both Business and Pleasure. Welcome to The Felix River Kwai Resort Kanchanaburi. Felix River Kwai Resort, a four star plus resort in Kanchanaburi, Only two hours from Bangkok. The resort sits on 130 rai or 20 hectares plot of pristine riverfront land adjacent to the infamous Bridge On The River Kwai. Just 10 minutes away from downtown Kanchanaburi, the resort caters to an interesting mix of corporate, incentive, government clients as well as local and International Visitors who enjoy the low rise architecture, lush & beautiful garden, privacy and space the resort generously affords them. The resort maintains 255 rooms and suites, each has a private balcony, with complete amenities and an uncompromising standard of services. There is also an enchanting Log Cabin Home popular occupied by VIP, Local and International Celebrities In addition there are also two large swimming pools, two tennis courts, sauna, The Ficus SPA center, snooker lounge, fitness center, 2 kilometers of jogging track, bicycles, canoes for rental, Felix Station 9 (obstacles courses for team building) and an elegant river raft cruise. The resort exotic gardens act as a layover for different species of migratory birds and feature many different species of trees. The Kwai Yai (Bigger) meets the Kai Noi (Smaller) and the Meklong in Kanchanaburi, and these feed the resorts labyrinth of lagoons that host many species of giant fresh water fishes. The Pailin Convention Center is a premier and prestigious venue for events of all levels and sizes. The non-pillar convention center can accommodate up to 1,000 delegates theater seating with a long and spacious adjoining pre function area. There are smaller meetings room designed to accommodate various settings for meeting, seminar and workshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing