We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Ayutthaya-History
Ayutthaya, Thailand

Improvement possible

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 11, 2013
Stayed at the River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort during a 4-day Khwae Noi River kayak descent in March 2013. We booked rooms on the raft. With the exception of a family we were the sole guests in this resort. This resort was a bit more expensive, but in our opinion of less quality than the Phung Waan Resort.

The raft rooms had air-conditioning, refrigerator and television, but also here a limited choice of channels. The wardrobe smelled fusty and needed some aeration. Beds were just a mattress on a wooden increase. The rooms had a nice balcony on the river. Wi-Fi was available in all locations. Rooms included breakfast, which was well served. Staff was very friendly and there was night guard.
Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Agoda.com
    $47
  • Expedia.com
    $60
0.5 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$76
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$18
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $81
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $43
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $82
  • Booking.com
1.1 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $63
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $42
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $35
  • Priceline
17.6 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
43.5 miles from River Kwai Botanic Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
3
10
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
10
4
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and we loved the overall experience:

The resort is outside the city of Kanchanaburi (I am quite sure the only way to get there is by car or individual busses) in a rural setting. The whole place has been built with attention to detail into the shore of the river kwai.

You generally have the choice between the more luxurious rooms on the mainland, a few meters above water level, and the more basic rooms that are built as floating rafts along the shore. We went for the floating rafts and loved the experience. We were a group of ten and had a couple of two-bed-rooms next to each other. Every room has a balcony which faces the river and is a wonderful place to relax. Despite being on floating rafts, the rooms had electricity, water and air conditioning!

The restaurant above water level was very nice, really good food, and provides a wonderful view over the river, forests and up to quite distant mountains. Wonderful scenery, purely natural! The restaurant menu is bilangual (Thai/ English) so ordering was easy.

For breakfast you have several pre-defined choices, we went for the "American breakfast" (sausages, eggs, bacon, toast) which was okay.

Summary: A fascinating experience, but don't expect a five-star-setting! Everything was good, clean, nice, but it is a more down-to-earth-location, clearly not a 5 star luxury hotel (but fully adequate for what it costs!). Anyway, very recommendable for one or two nights out in the nature by the river!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_1978_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed in 101 Riverside Bungalow – fantastic view over river. Only person in resort at time due to it being the rainy season. Room really nicely furnished. Very fast free WiFi throughout the resort. Dinner very average - beef tasted smoked and slightly off - possibly due to lack of visitors. Staff couldn't speak English. The resort is quite a bit out of Kanchanaburi but a good place to stay for a night to or from Erawan National Park or Hellfire Pass.

Room tip: Chose Room 101 if available.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveo_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: Берите номера с выходом на реку. Ради чего же вы приехали))
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: มีห้องพักบนแพกับบนบกค่ะ
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: ห้องพักแบบแพถือว่าดีทีเดียว มีเครื่องปรับอากาศและสิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกครบครับ
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews