We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm - a fabulous experience. A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dheva Mantra Resort
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Old World Charm - a fabulous experience. A real gem”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A last minute booking, what a find. Wonderful friendly staff, in every area.
What a grand, gorgeous, colonial resort. Set overlooking the River Kwai in lush tropical grounds and an amazing swimming pool and bar. Large room, with a huge bathroom and bathtub, great roomy balcony overlooking the pool and river views..
We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the best mojitos at the pool bar.
Great breakfast - loved the fresh cooked omelettes.
We ate lunch in the restaurant - very nice. At night we dined in the restaurant over the river - excellent food.
Easy taxi ride to town.
Regretted not having more time. Fabulous accommodation - loved it
.
...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVMT-Kan, Assistant Reservation Manager at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Many thanks for your comments and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team,We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    112
    39
    4
    4
See reviews for
113
107
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a grand resort sitting on the Kwai River. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with a large infinity pool that overlooks the river. When we checked in the hotel was not near full so we were upgraded to a room that overlooked the river which was a nice treat. The hotel is located across the river about a 10 minute ride from the main part of Kanchanaburi. The hotel provides a van for $350 baht, one person or a van full to town. We found easy access to the truck or motor bike taxis for return trips.
As with any resort the prices for food and drink at high, but to be expected. Staff was very accommodating and spoke English well. There is another hotel next to the property that has very loud karaoke in the evening. However they stop at 10:00pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staying in a hotel by the river is a new experience for us. We came here for a quick new year getaway with a last minute booking, and was pleasantly surprised with how nice the Dheva Mantra is. The decor is colonial-esqe, clean and spacious. The Superior room we stayed in is large (60+ sqm), with balcony overlooking the garden and on to the pool, with side view of the river Kwai. The room is new, clean, and the bathroom in particular is very nicely done. My 3-year-old took a bath 3 times a day, even in the rather cold weather, because she liked it so much.

The location of the hotel is perfect, in my opinion. You could get to it via the bypass road and avoid going through Kanchanaburi city center. It is very close to the many restaurants along the river. And of course, super close to the famous bridge. A friend warned us of the loud noise you can hear from the 'party boat' going up and down the river, but it didn't bother me that much.

Since we stayed over the new year night, there was mandatory "gala dinner" imposed costing $210 per head. (which basically more than double the room rate for that night) This is the only complain I have. I suspect many of the guests didn't come for a 'party', otherwise they would have stayed home close to their friends and family. The gala dinner is a rip-off started by someone in the Thai hotel industry and is now present everywhere, so this is not a specific complaint about Dheva Mantra. Although it is quite apparent they have not a lot of experience throwing a party like this. The food was quite good, but the entertainment was mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrizada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family including 3 children aged 12, 9 and 5 recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Dheva Mantra Resort.
The hotel website does indeed do this lovely hotel justice with accurate photos of the delightful colonial styled architecture, beautifully manicured gardens and stunning lagoon style pool. Often times these photos are a teaser and you are then disappointed with the more run-down and dated reality. Not so the case with Dheva Mantra - despite it's colonial design - the hotel itself is relatively new and as such the website speaks the truth and you will be delighted walking through the grounds and rooms of this lovely resort.
Check in and check out at this resort was efficient and staff were welcoming and helpful. Being a family - we were accommodated in two adjoining rooms - a family room containing a king single and king sized beds (sleeping 3) and a second room containing two king singles. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and afforded lovely views of the lawn area and nearby pool. Both rooms had large bathrooms including bathtubs. Both rooms had sliding french doors opening onto balconies. A big plus for the rooms was that they had REALLY EFFECTIVE curtains in that they offered a full blackout effect and overlapped properly avoiding the perennial problem of gaping curtains allowing the annoying dawn light to invade the room and wake you at first light. Seriously - these were the best window coverings I've come across in all my travels (and gaping curtains bug me to the point where I literally travel will binder clips in my luggage to clip together annoying curtain gaps - NOT required here). One criticism was that the beds were very firm. This bothered my husband more than me and it didn't seem to worry the children at all.
Location wise - Dheva Mantra is a little out of Kanchanaburi - but it's only a 10 minute taxi ride which we didn't have a problem with. Twice we actually hired a long boat near the River Kwai Bridge and for THB 300 enjoyed a 5 minute cruise up to our hotel. The kids thought this was a blast !
We enjoyed several of the hotel's facilities including The Rice Barge Restaurant, The Tiara Restaurant and the swim up Poolside Bar.
Dinner at the Rice Barge was nice but, in my opinion - The Tiara Restaurant is much better. The Rice Barge is a Thai restaurant on a barge (as you would expect) tethered on the Kwai River which flows alongside the resort. I was very worried about mosquitoes and the diseases they carry so ensured that my family was thoroughly smothered with insect repellent (which we came to dub "KCB Cologne") - good move - as there were mozzies aplently on the rice barge. The food was nice - the service was lovely - but it was nothing special. On the contrary - we really enjoyed the food and service in the onsite restaurant - The Tiara. There were a variety of meals on the menu and the food was beautifully presented, service was excellent and we enjoyed it so much that we dined in for two of the four nights. Staff were particularly lovely, attentive and efficient.
My kids adored swimming in the beautiful pool at Dheva Mantra. It is split into two sections with a shallow area and a deeper area which also included a swim up bar.
As the name suggests, Dheva Mantra also includes a spa and our biggest disappointment was that we didn't get to enjoy some of the lovely treatments available. Our focus was a family vacation - but I would love to go back as a couple and enjoy some of these treatments.
We also used the hotel driver for a couple of excursions. The drivers were polite, professional and helpful. The hotel was also able to customise trips to suit our needs. One day we had a driver take us to Hell Fire Pass - wait there while we explored the museum, then drive us down to Nam Tok where he waited for the afternoon train to come in and take us back to Kanchanaburi - it was so nice that he waited - had there been some misadventure with the train - we were not stuck in the middle of nowhere with kids and no transport back.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel each day and this was a lovely spread accommodating both eastern and western breakfast fare.
The resort manager introduced herself to our family at breakfast one morning. She saw us again in the restaurant one evening and came over to enquire as to how we were enjoying our stay. This made us feel very welcomed and appreciated.
We certainly enjoyed our time at Dheva Mantra and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Dheva Mantra now three times in the last year. We have definitely noted a decline in service. It's as if the management has become cheaper and has put the fear of god in their staff to save every penny they can. As a result, the staff has lost some autonomy and common sense and often act lost or confused if patrons ask for things that are outside of the given script or menu or order... For example, we ordered some lovely green tea in the lobby bar area. The next morning we asked for the same tea from THE SAME waitress that served it to us the night before. This time though she was utterly confused, claimed the hotel didn't even have any green tea! After our befuddled reaction, I literally walked her over to the lobby area and pointed out the tea to her. The light bulb went off but then she got even more stressed out as she tried to explain to me that it would cost me extra to get the green tea vice the peppermint tea which was "included" in the breakfast buffet. After having just spent nearly 25 minutes running down the tea saga, I just gave in and paid for the extra 200thb ($6) green tea. Another example was the water in the gym. The gym had run out of the cone shaped paper cups they dispense for the water fountain and couldn't figure out to replace them. So I asked for some drinking water and they brought me some Chang water (the same kind they provide in the rooms for free). As I was leaving the gym, one panting staff member ran after me to give me the $1 bill for the water! The same kind of nickel and diming and confusion ensued at dinner and drinks again. The best part was when our party of 5's dinner order all came out at different times, spanning over 30 minutes. We were the ONLY patrons at the restaurant, mind you. And the lady who is the general manager/possibly owner, came out only AFTER the 30 minutes and the only question she asked was (wait for it) "has everyone received their food?"... It was comical. So the next time we go to Kanchanaburi, we will try another place and I will definitely stop recommending this hotel to others as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SofiG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location, nice amenities, and good service. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The balcony was useable and furnished. We had no service issues at all. In fact, a couple of the staff were outstanding, showing initiative and going the extra mile to make sure that we were getting what we wanted.

The facility is located on a great piece of property on the river front and is well designed to take advantage of the site. The pool area is very large and comfortable. The spa was good and reasonably priced. We encountered no wifi problems anywhere on the site, but it is so large you have to change routers sometimes. There is a very well equipped fitness centre.

The breakfast was very good, and our dinner service (on the Rice Barge) was absolutely fine.
I would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Whoever built this hotel had a dream - to create a timeless colonial hotel of the highest standard.
In my view, it works beautifully and is a wonderful antidote to the grim faced tourists who frequent the obvious tourist hot spots.
The location is adjacent to the River Kwai, in a quiet area . There are rolling grounds, a generous and beautiful pool and smiling staff.
We found it uplifting and amazing value. Our memories of Asia, built up over 40 years is of the type of luxury and service that is unattainable elsewhere, at comparative bargain rates. this is changing and many Thai hotels are now expensive. Not so Dheva Mantra. We had an amazing suite for less that 10,000 B.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.4 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
31.4 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#6 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dheva Mantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dheva Mantra Resort

Property: Dheva Mantra Resort
Address: 9/99 Moo 3 | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dheva Mantra Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dheva Mantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dheva Mantra Hotel Kanchanaburi
Dheva Mantra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing