We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Camelia Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelia Resort
Ranked #52 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent last weekend there and loved both the tranquility of the place as well as the warmth of the staff. Yes the rooms are basic, but we felt like we got what we paid for. I would recommend Camelia!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelia-riverkwai, ผู้อำนวยการฝ่ายขาย at Camelia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your comment and looking forward to welcome you back soonest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed there once quite a while back and was funny just reading the recent reviews about the place, sounds even worse. Yes, the breakfast wasn't worth bothering with, the staff not very attentive and I got the feeling that their customer skiils had never been ingrained or taught to them, rooms dirty and plagued with ants (yes spray was needed too).
Redeeming features were the pool and the lovely riverfront location, but that's it. For what they charge and for what you get forget about it !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeechaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was a last place booked for us by G Adventures and although it was very basic it was really cool. As it was our last night with our touring group, we had loads of fun at Camelia Resort. Our room was really, really basic. Bathroom was terrible, tiny and uncomfortable, where you have toilet and shower at once! But it was only for one night... We spent most of our evening in the swimming pool, we were there for hours, having fun, listening to bar music and drinking cocktails. We absolutely loved the swimming pool. Then we had dinner and unfortunately that was a let down as again we were all served at different times :( and must say that the food was not nice. But because the cocktails were perfect and the atmosphere amazing we had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ants still In rooms ... place still deteriorating ... staff still vacant, disinterested and aloof. The 'free' breakfast ... forget it and eat out! This place deserves to be given a miss ... that way the owners just might wake up. Though I doubt it.

We stayed here 8 years ago and came back for the open aspect, pool and gardens ... but I was immediately struck by the obvious lack of maintenance over the years. To be frank, I thought it was a disgrace.

The Camelia 'could' be one of the best places in town ... but WOW, would some attitudes need to change first!

Don't hold your breath ...

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

At first look this hotel looks great - 1000thb/night - a little more expensive than the others we stayed at but included breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds/pool etc were amazing. My only complaint really is that the rooms are dated and not well maintained. I had ants on my bed and up the wall - I asked reception for bug spray and once i sprayed them it was ok till the following morning. The bathroom door was rotting and damp. The air con worked well and the restaurant was very nice. I would stay here again but hope to get a better price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazcobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for about 4 nights in March 2013. The main thing going for this place is that it is right on the river and has a lovely pool situated right next to it. Unfortunately the state of the room let it down.

When I walked through the door the welcome mat looked like the dog had chewed it up. The bathroom needed up dating. It looked old, taps were covered in limescale, the mirror needed replacing and the knob on the shower kept coming off. There was also a trail of ants going through the bathroom. There was no mirror in the actual bedroom, which aas annoying, and there were stains on the bed sheets.

Guests staying at the resort get coupons for breakfast which only include some form of egg which is no good if you are intolerant. Only after asking did they offer toast and I think there should be alternative options readily available. The food here is decent enough with western and thai option. The staff were friendly but distant and didn't seem to take a great deal of interest in their customers.

The final issue was that they seemed to have blocked off Trip Advisor which is annoying when you are trying to see what is in the area.

Overall this is a place which could have a lot of potential and make a lot of money based on where it is situated and the lovely grounds in which it is located in. Unfortunately the lack of care and attention to detail lets the place down. The staff should unblock Trip Advisior and pay attention to what their guests are saying about them. If they could update the place and make the rooms look nicer it would make it a lot better than it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is great. It's right on the river. The pool is large and clean. The food can be excellent and is a bit different from most other places in the area. However, you may need to get the menu yourself as the staff will be sitting nattering. Nobody appears to be in charge.
The rooms used to be cheap but are now much more pricey. However, they remain basic.There are so many better places nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#56 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sky Resort Kanchanaburi
Sky Resort Kanchanaburi
#16 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Resort

Address: 9 Kumpucha Rd | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelia resort is a small resort with 30 rooms and located in a minute walk to the bridge over river kwai in area of 6 Rai overlooking river view and previously opened and served to Israeli market since 10 years old therefore our restaurant is also served with Middle East Food (only one in Kanchananburi) while currently a Thai and some European menu can also order from our experienced Thai chef. In addition, We are one of property in town with small pet welcomed concept with space parking and green lawn walking side on Riverside. and also can access by river and ideal of wedding place with 02 large lawn river view side ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing