We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear and never again”
Review of Camelia Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelia Resort
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Nakhon pathom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oh dear and never again”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed there once quite a while back and was funny just reading the recent reviews about the place, sounds even worse. Yes, the breakfast wasn't worth bothering with, the staff not very attentive and I got the feeling that their customer skiils had never been ingrained or taught to them, rooms dirty and plagued with ants (yes spray was needed too).
Redeeming features were the pool and the lovely riverfront location, but that's it. For what they charge and for what you get forget about it !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeechaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    8
    19
    6
See reviews for
13
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was a last place booked for us by G Adventures and although it was very basic it was really cool. As it was our last night with our touring group, we had loads of fun at Camelia Resort. Our room was really, really basic. Bathroom was terrible, tiny and uncomfortable, where you have toilet and shower at once! But it was only for one night... We spent most of our evening in the swimming pool, we were there for hours, having fun, listening to bar music and drinking cocktails. We absolutely loved the swimming pool. Then we had dinner and unfortunately that was a let down as again we were all served at different times :( and must say that the food was not nice. But because the cocktails were perfect and the atmosphere amazing we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ants still In rooms ... place still deteriorating ... staff still vacant, disinterested and aloof. The 'free' breakfast ... forget it and eat out! This place deserves to be given a miss ... that way the owners just might wake up. Though I doubt it.

We stayed here 8 years ago and came back for the open aspect, pool and gardens ... but I was immediately struck by the obvious lack of maintenance over the years. To be frank, I thought it was a disgrace.

The Camelia 'could' be one of the best places in town ... but WOW, would some attitudes need to change first!

Don't hold your breath ...

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

At first look this hotel looks great - 1000thb/night - a little more expensive than the others we stayed at but included breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds/pool etc were amazing. My only complaint really is that the rooms are dated and not well maintained. I had ants on my bed and up the wall - I asked reception for bug spray and once i sprayed them it was ok till the following morning. The bathroom door was rotting and damp. The air con worked well and the restaurant was very nice. I would stay here again but hope to get a better price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazcobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for about 4 nights in March 2013. The main thing going for this place is that it is right on the river and has a lovely pool situated right next to it. Unfortunately the state of the room let it down.

When I walked through the door the welcome mat looked like the dog had chewed it up. The bathroom needed up dating. It looked old, taps were covered in limescale, the mirror needed replacing and the knob on the shower kept coming off. There was also a trail of ants going through the bathroom. There was no mirror in the actual bedroom, which aas annoying, and there were stains on the bed sheets.

Guests staying at the resort get coupons for breakfast which only include some form of egg which is no good if you are intolerant. Only after asking did they offer toast and I think there should be alternative options readily available. The food here is decent enough with western and thai option. The staff were friendly but distant and didn't seem to take a great deal of interest in their customers.

The final issue was that they seemed to have blocked off Trip Advisor which is annoying when you are trying to see what is in the area.

Overall this is a place which could have a lot of potential and make a lot of money based on where it is situated and the lovely grounds in which it is located in. Unfortunately the lack of care and attention to detail lets the place down. The staff should unblock Trip Advisior and pay attention to what their guests are saying about them. If they could update the place and make the rooms look nicer it would make it a lot better than it is.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is great. It's right on the river. The pool is large and clean. The food can be excellent and is a bit different from most other places in the area. However, you may need to get the menu yourself as the staff will be sitting nattering. Nobody appears to be in charge.
The rooms used to be cheap but are now much more pricey. However, they remain basic.There are so many better places nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed at this hotel as part of a group package tour we were on. we were in block 3, second floor, and the room was nice, really good view of the river and pool with a nice size balcony.

no fridge or telephone or more than a few channels on the tv, but what do you expect, youre in a semi budget resort in the middle of thailand?!

the bathroom was nice & big with it being one big wet area for the shower, which had its moments on hot & cold but it was decent.

the bedroom itself was big, we had two fair sized twin beds which we pushed together.

the pool was good, no chlorine. and we were given access to the hotels computer to check emails,with free wifi.

breakfast included in the price was basic, eggs your way & sweet toast & jam. no better or worse than any other hotel we stayed in for the month we travelled for. if muesli & homemade yoghurt was available it was lovely! and the pancakes we ordered as an extra were amazing.

i would advise bringing your own big lock & key if you stay here to replace the one the hotel give you, as we heard of a couple of rooms having money stolen out of them with no signs of forced entry. also they have no cctv! or dont leave any money or valuables on show in your room. adviseable do not get your room cleaned to avoid this completely!

apart from that, its an alright place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talisa113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.2 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#54 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Resort

Property: Camelia Resort
Address: 9 Kumpucha Rd | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelia resort is a small resort with 30 rooms and located in a minute walk to the bridge over river kwai in area of 6 Rai overlooking river view and previously opened and served to Israeli market since 10 years old therefore our restaurant is also served with Middle East Food (only one in Kanchananburi) while currently a Thai and some European menu can also order from our experienced Thai chef. In addition, We are one of property in town with small pet welcomed concept with space parking and green lawn walking side on Riverside. and also can access by river and ideal of wedding place with 02 large lawn river view side ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing