We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Mangosteen Cafe and Books
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

What more can I say? We ordered breakfast it came with a smile, and I had a passion fruit shake- beautiful ! They had nice chilled tunes and it was very clean. We are going to return for lunch because the menu looks so nice.

Helpful?
Thank Mrblue1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    87
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This was the best restaurant we tries in Kanchanaburi. It was also one of the best places we have eaten at in the last 4 weeks we have been in Thailand. The curries are tasty and full of flavour with plenty of meat and some vegetables in them. The smoothies are also tasty - 40THB from memory with shakes at 35THB.

The cafe has a really good range of dishes including a local meat platter for two people. Western dishes can be purchased from here and you can read a book over your meal or coffee. We had a nice piece of fruit loaf for 35THB, a bit on the small size but it tasted good. The service staff were very good, prompt and courteous. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Try the platter with the Blue rice”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are quite a few restaurants on Mae Nam Kwae Road in Kanchanaburi. I suggest you make a stop at Nr. 13, the Mangosteen Café. If you stop for a meal and can't decide from the extensive menu, let me suggest: Try the chicken platter with the Blue Rice and other delicious items on the plate; you won't regret it.
We were three people and chose different dishes. All were delicious. You will find friendly and courteous service. Ask how the rice becomes Blue. It will surprise you.
Only time prevented us from coming back. Next time - for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHuaHin_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Books”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is a real gem in Kanchanaburi. I've been here a few times, for breakfast, for lunch and for dinner. I've been with a group and I've been with my better half, each time the food has been really good and the service has been really good. The menu is broad and has a large selection of western, Indian and Thai food. It's good value and it's got a nice chilled out atmosphere.

The selection of books is pretty good and it's very reasonable - 200 baht to 250 baht is the average price for a book here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgilheany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A decent little eatery”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

On a typical, backpacker-type street, this quite simple-looking restaurant had both friendly service and good food. There is a lot to choose from on the menu, and a real range, including Thai, Indian and variety of Western dishes.
The prices are good and it's certainly somewhere we'd go back to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JinzBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangosteen Cafe and Books also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Mangosteen Cafe and Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing