We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Enjoyable Meal!”

Mangosteen Cafe and Books
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable Meal!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My fiance and I were meant to eat in a different restaurant that evening but it was closed so we stumbled across this one and wasn't really expecting much! But we were wrong!

Very friendly service, good food, EXCELLENT fried minced pork appetisers! They were literally heaven! The quality was good and when ordering my curry I was asked if I liked spicy - to which i replied 'Yes - ENGLISH spicy though!' and when my curry came to the table it was perfect! Would definitely visit again if I was in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_kitty_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    87
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“one of the best”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we ate here twice in six days never disappointed food was great try the mixed platter for two very nice owner is opening a bigger place round the corner near thai garden inn over the bridge good luck with that

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neil y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Amazing food- friendly and courteous service. The English book collection is quite impressive. The best food I had in Kanchanaburi for sure. Try the traditional Isaan food platter- simply delicious!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moverbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved this small café, the lady who runs the place is very friendly, attentive and speaks great English. The food comes out quickly and their menu has some really interesting and unusual fusion food. Between us we tried Thai, French, English and Fusion food, all tasted great and was well presented. You can also buy books and if you finish and return it they will give you 50% back. All in all a very enjoyable eat

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natski777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Yummy Food - Great Service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent place to eat! Our kids loved it and so did we - nothing over priced, all nice and fresh, along with service with a smile. Cant complain about that.

We had a wonderful lunch - not rushed or anything. It was a pleasure just to sit and relax and enjoy the great food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellieSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangosteen Cafe and Books also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Mangosteen Cafe and Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing