We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at Xanadu 2008 for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Dennis and Nii are both very friendly and helpful and were full of good advice for places to see in and around Kanchanaburi.

Nii is an excellent cook and served us delicious breakfasts and dinner. Dennis was always happy to bring us another drink by the pool.

The rooms are basic but spotless and include everything you need including air-con, dressing table, tv with DVD player (Dennis & Nii have a collection of DVD's for guests to watch if they feel like it), bathrooms with hot & cold water.

The location of the hotel is a little bit out of Kanchanaburi town and right next to the river. It is set amongst landscaped gardens and is very peaceful. We had our own car but I am sure transport could be arranged from town.

This hotel was great value for money and we will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    82
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
156
197
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
woodridge australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

a perfect place in a perfect location.great food and great service.nee is well known locally for her cooking and nothing is too much trouble for her and the staff.already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

i have just spent a perfect day(for me!).a morning playing golf at nichigo(very cheap and a excellent course)followed by a lazy afternoon by the pool at xanadu with a couple of cold drinks.in the evening i had a couple more drinks as i sat in a deckchair watching flocks of storks and myna birds etc flying home for the night followed by fireflies dancing amongst the trees.what more can i say? back next year with the girlfriend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford,uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

what a stunning place! must be the most beautiful resort in the area.on the river kwai just out of the city this is the perfect place for relaxing or whatever.so laid back its unbelievable.owners so helpful.perfect honeymon.we will be back! loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davemaryAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

stayed seven nights, very clean rooms with air con fridge TV and a fair sized swimming pool overlooking the river, the restaurant served local Thai and western food also had a fair selection of beers and local wines,if your looking for a relaxing place to unwind this is it. The resort is run by a husband and wife team Dennis and Nee ,nothing seemed to be to much trouble them, that's why I am taking the time to write this review I also placed a photo on google earth.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hezzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Property: Xanadu 2008
Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing