We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded paradise”
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
WGC,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed the beginning on March for 2 nights Dennis and Nee were FANTASTIC hosts.
They work very hard and it shows, fantastic views the pool and food is fantastic. It is situated in a very tranquil place with amazing gardens the River Kwai is at the bottom end of the garden.
They were great welcoming and even gave us a few rides to get money and go out for a social evening. Please take care with mosquito repellant, jack the baby of the family ( family dog) had a lovely temperament and you may find him sneaking into your bungalow for some cool air con, they arranged everything and we were very grateful. A MUST !! Do not hesitate we will be back thanks for having us Dennis and Nee

Krup kun kaa

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_garman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    83
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
158
197
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two wonderful days at xanadu and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Denis arranged a pickup direct from the airport which was smooth and was there to greet us with a beer when we arrived very late due to a flight cancellation. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious with good air conditioning. We were provided with plenty of information before we set of and they are full of knowledge not least about all tbe nature around you. Nee did all the cooking and it certainly lived up to its reputation, we had four dishes that were simply amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay thanks very much denis and nee.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are basic and spotlessly clean but other than sleeping spent little time in them - rest of time out exploring or down near the pool and bar.

Dennis, Nee and Jack are great hosts. Dennis is in charge of "front of house" - he deals with emails, taking orders for breakfast and dinner and very importantly making sure the bar is kept fully stocked! Jack (a one year old Alsatian) is in charge of security (barking at intruders) and chewing the sprinkler system to death. Nee runs everything else. And it works just great!

Xanadu is a little way out of town which is good (quiet) and not so good (200B taxi ride). Or do as we did and hire a scooter and instead of turning right out of Xanadu towards the centre of town, turn left, go a kilometre or so and find a wonderful traditional Thai village. The food market runs all day and is fascinating and as one of few foreigners that visit everyone is very friendly. Just past the market turn left and head down to the river in the early evening and watch the locals relax.

We did Hellfire pass - there on the bus and then back from Nam Tok via train. Hellfire is an amazing experience - get the (free) MP3 player and listen as you go around - it brings the voices of survivors explaining the conditions they had to work and live in.

We also did Erawan Falls travelling on the fore mentioned scooter. Get there early before the crowds -it's very popular with the tour buses later on. The upper pools (4 and above) tend to be quieter.

Finally Dennis will tell you where to get a cheap long boat tour of Kanchanaburi .

All in all, great place to stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

There are no words to describe Xanadu and whilst trip advisor does facilitate the loading of pictures I thought I should try harder to describe this wonderful place. My friend and I have stayed there twice now and are planning on returning to make it thrice as it is so excellent (even ruddy excellent). I can’t claim to have been everywhere in the world, but even with that said I am convinced that I have been to the best place of all- I’m referring to Xanadu just to avoid confusion (Disney land is also excellent just slightly more contrived).

For those who enjoy details rather than just vague (yet resounding) praise I have offered I am particularly fond on the idyllic location set slightly away from the main center of town but still within easy access to it- especially since Kanchanaburi has lots of things to do. Different from other guest houses in which we have stayed, Xanadu has a nice communal area to sit in, meaning that you get to know the other guests unlike other places where you regard them with an air of suspicion as you pass them silently in the corridors. More things to add: seating by the river is very nice and peaceful (although the insects do claim back their territory after dark), the food is amazing and you will quickly become jealous that your clumsy hands can’t make it no matter how hard you try, it also has a pool and the owners are totally lovely and friendly. If I had to give Xanadu a score I would give it a 10 out of 10. Or even a 10 out of 9 it is that good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaSimoneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just spent a lovely three days at the Xanadu resort, and know where we will be coming when we next want a short break from Bangkok. The resort itself is beautifully laid out and maintained, with a lovely verandah overlooking the river, and a spotless and good sized swimming pool. The rooms are simple but all you need, with plenty of space, efficient a/cs and comfortable beds. There is no cable TV in the bedrooms, but the ever helpful owner, Dennis, will put on whatever channels you want to watch in the bar/restaurant area. The food was great, and excellent value. Twenty minutes up the road is a delightful small town with a busy market, and bars and small restaurants down by the river (should you, for some inexplicable reason, decide not to eat in the Xanadu restaurant).

Dennis will go out of his way to give you advice on the (many) local sites of interest, and help with taxi bookings. He is also very knowledgeable about local wildlife.

We are really looking forward to our next trip to Xanadu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in Xanadu during October 2013 and had a wonderful experience.

The property is beautiful and well maintained and one feels like he is staying in his own home rather than a resort.

Dennis is an excellent host and goes the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. It's the little things that count - like sending someone with an umbrella to your room while it's raining, etc!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

iif you want a totally relaxing peaceful stay this is the place.fab rooms ,pool gardens and host. Only a 20 minute ride from the center of Kanchanaburi .
Spent a wonderful day swimming in the good sized pool admiring the beautiful gardens on the banks of the river Kwia, and enjoyed the excellent food. Just what was needed to celebrate my birthday after a hectic week of sightseeing around Kanchanburi,before moving on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
1,004 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
165 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
362 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#10 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Property: Xanadu 2008
Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing