We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently had a lovely 3 days here and I am more than happy to recommend it to all and sundry.

We booked a family bungalow with two bedrooms and whilst not 5 Star accommodation it is more than adequate. The rooms were large and spotless and there was a TV & DVD player in one and a bathroom with included toiletries in both. The AC worked very well and we got a good nights sleep every night.

Denis & Nee were great hosts and had plenty of time for all of the guests and we were all made to feel very welcome. Denis shares my love of wildlife and it was nice to chat with him about the many animals that proliferate around the resort and area in general. There are plenty of things to see in the beautifully manicured grounds.

My daughter and I really enjoyed our daily (sometimes more often) swims in the pool which is handily placed next to the restaurant/bar. The food was very tasty and the portions were incredibly generous also.

I especially enjoyed a few quiet beers on the riverside terrace in the early evening. It's a beautiful spot at any time of the day but particularly so at dusk when many birds are passing overhead on their way back to the roost. It was also great to see the resident owl perched on his favourite branch in the twilight.

The resort is a way out of the main town but there is a taxi driver pretty much resident so if you do need to get anywhere it's not too much trouble at all. This is a really lovely spot and I will definitely stay again when next in Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waspie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in April 2013 for 3 nights, The cottage we had was very comfortable and homely. The gardens where just perfectly cared for,The pool was Amazing very clean and well maintained. Most importantly our wonderful hosts Denis and Nee made sure every minute of our stay was a wonderful experience. Nee Is the best cook ever ... All in all I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND XANADU 2008 to anyone wanting an Amazing break in Thailand :-) Thankyou soooo much guys for making our stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We where in cottage 1 and found it very comfortable, we could sit on our little balcony and watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

AA+ can not fault this hotel, above and beyond any expectations. Very clean comfortable and friendly! Denis and his staff are always on hand with any request and nothing is too hard. Great advise on where to go and how to get there, or he will even get his staff to drop you off at the corner to catch the bus so you don't have to walk. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Xanadu for 4 days end of April 2013. The children (4, 6 and 8 yrs old) especially enjoyed the excellent swimming pool. It's exactly big enough for the amount of visitors, well maintained and has the right temperature. The rooms were quite large and very clean. The houses are located on a property next to the river with a very nice garden, where Dennis can point out to you a variety of local animals (gecko, owl, lizzards). The owner, Dennis, made some good suggestions on things to visit in the area, and best practises once arriving there.

Room Tip: When travelling with children, ask for the family appartment. The houses are not far from eachother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperMPtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for one night with Dennis and Nee, and we felt like family. they showed our 3 children around the beautiful gardens, pointing out all the wildlife and flowers/fruit, and really made us feel welcome. Nee took my daughter and I into the night markets for a girl's night out, and it was lots of fun. If you want some delicious food, both Thai and English, the Nee is the chef for you!!! My husband loved the slow cooked steak, the curry is superb, and the kids chips were the best we have ever tasted.Yum!!! Dennis runs the bar, and has a great selection, and is always ready to get you a refill.The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the airconditioner works well!!! The pool is great, close to the bar/dining, so we could watch the kids, and there is a great selection of DVD's to borrow. Set in a nice quiet area out of town.We can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a lengthy online-search we opted to stay at Xanadu for our short break to K'buri.
Firstly I was pleased when this resort offered the option of a third bed in their chalets. Secondly, my wife spoke to Nee on the phone & all was arranged within a minute.
We could not have wished for a more relaxing place to stay, the chalets are spotless both inside & out (inc compimentry toiletries & soft towels in the bathroom), the surrounding gardens are watered & trimmed daily, the pool-area is well laid-out with deckchairs, bench seating + tables, & in the evenings this area is beautifully lit creating a mellow setting in which to enjoy a delicious meal from the Xanado kitchen, be it by the poolside or down on the romantic-setting of the riverside terrace .
Denis & Nee both come close to being 'perfect hosts'..whatever the question you ask, or any querie you may have, they will always have time to sit down & explain things to you..be it about a local waterfall, or getting a bus/train home.
Award yourself a stay here..we will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: Both our chalets were of the same design, possilby the units nearer reception/bar may have a stronge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeddaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lovely place to stay and relax. Dennis and Nee are so friendly and welcoming, I felt right at home. You can book tours and transport with them, as well as anything else you need. The setting is beautiful with the river and a swimming pool which is perfect for cooling off. The bungalows were spotless, the gardens lovely and green, the food was amazing, the gin and tonics very strong! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
173 reviews
3 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,108 reviews
3 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
4 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
392 reviews
6.4 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing