We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hosts, wonderful resort”
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for one night with Dennis and Nee, and we felt like family. they showed our 3 children around the beautiful gardens, pointing out all the wildlife and flowers/fruit, and really made us feel welcome. Nee took my daughter and I into the night markets for a girl's night out, and it was lots of fun. If you want some delicious food, both Thai and English, the Nee is the chef for you!!! My husband loved the slow cooked steak, the curry is superb, and the kids chips were the best we have ever tasted.Yum!!! Dennis runs the bar, and has a great selection, and is always ready to get you a refill.The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the airconditioner works well!!! The pool is great, close to the bar/dining, so we could watch the kids, and there is a great selection of DVD's to borrow. Set in a nice quiet area out of town.We can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 464 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a lengthy online-search we opted to stay at Xanadu for our short break to K'buri.
Firstly I was pleased when this resort offered the option of a third bed in their chalets. Secondly, my wife spoke to Nee on the phone & all was arranged within a minute.
We could not have wished for a more relaxing place to stay, the chalets are spotless both inside & out (inc compimentry toiletries & soft towels in the bathroom), the surrounding gardens are watered & trimmed daily, the pool-area is well laid-out with deckchairs, bench seating + tables, & in the evenings this area is beautifully lit creating a mellow setting in which to enjoy a delicious meal from the Xanado kitchen, be it by the poolside or down on the romantic-setting of the riverside terrace .
Denis & Nee both come close to being 'perfect hosts'..whatever the question you ask, or any querie you may have, they will always have time to sit down & explain things to you..be it about a local waterfall, or getting a bus/train home.
Award yourself a stay here..we will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: Both our chalets were of the same design, possilby the units nearer reception/bar may have a stronge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeddaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lovely place to stay and relax. Dennis and Nee are so friendly and welcoming, I felt right at home. You can book tours and transport with them, as well as anything else you need. The setting is beautiful with the river and a swimming pool which is perfect for cooling off. The bungalows were spotless, the gardens lovely and green, the food was amazing, the gin and tonics very strong! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

more like luxury than budget, Dennis and Nee are fantastic hosts. Beautiful place in quiet location. great place to stay if visisting local area. would definately stay there again. and recommend to everyone! A++++++++++ Nicola.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here a few days on the recommendation of a friend, and am really glad she told us about it. The setting of the place by the river is really idyllic and the pool was somehow always the perfect temperature. Dennis and Nee are the best, always there anytime you want to book something, eat, or even have a chat. The rooms are comfortable and great value. Don't stay anywhere else, stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17AlexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in march what a place. Dennis meet us from our taxi and took us to our room.rooms simple but very clean and fresh towels every day.we had a 19 day trip around thailand and the food at Xanadu was by far the best Nee is a fab cook.Dennis helped with trips and taxi.On a return from a trip we were relaxing by the pool with a beer or 2 and Nee brought us snacks as well as pool towels. the river location is peaceful Dennis and Nee are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family just returned from a wonderful trip to Thailand. We stayed four days and three nights with Dennis and his wife Nee. Two wonderful, kind people who know how to run a resort. The grounds are beautiful, sitting by the river as evening falls is a must. Dennis and Nee greet you on arrival and Dennis got up at 5:00 am to see us off. Our Family Bungalow was large, clean, and the AC was super cold. Anything you need, Dennis and Nee take care of for you. They will arrange for your transportation into town and for whatever sightseeing needs you have. Nee is an amazing cook, making getting into town for food a non-issue. Eat at the resort, it truly was the best food we ate on our vacation. The atmosphere is totally relaxing and hanging out in the evening with the other guests was so much part of the charm. Our family travels often, and it is always so great to find a gem like this. No kidding, look no further.

Room Tip: We were a family of four, so the family bungalow was perfect. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lockeys1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,056 reviews
3.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
349 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $33 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing