We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts and comfortable accommodation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great hosts and comfortable accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights here. Great bungalows set among a well kept garden. Very comfortable accommodation. Down near the river is a swimming pool and dining and bar area. Dennis and Nee are great hosts. When Nee is not tending to the gardens she cooks up great meals in no time at all. Dennis is always ready to hand out a cold beer from the bar. Dennis arranged a car to take us to Hellfire Pass and gave us lots of local information. Just be aware that this resort is away from the town and does require a taxi if you want to get around but these are cheap. Would thoroughly recommend this resort to anyone going to Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    82
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
156
197
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bricks and mortar...yes...but TLC holds it all together. The Xanadu 2008 Resort is absolutely wonderful and guaranteed to please as long as you are OK with being out of the city (10 km. drive, 15 min. by songthaew). This small resort, consisting of 10 units (2 single and 4 duplex bungalows) and nestled along the banks of the Kwai Yai River, is a short drive west of the city of Kanchanaburi. There are beautiful flower beds and colourful shrubs throughout the well-maintained property and an endless number of birds and butterflies that are ever present. The bungalows are situated on a higher level of ground as you enter the gate from the road and a 1 minute stroll down the gentle slope brings you to the dining area, good-sized swimming pool and a peaceful deck at the edge of the river.
THE OWNERS
Dennis (Brit) and Nee (Thai) Compton, the married couple that own and manage the resort, are two of the most congenial, obliging people you could ever hope to meet. Nothing seems too much when it comes to making their guests happy. Little wonder Trip Advisor reviewers rank them #2 of all accomodations in Kanchanaburi.
DINING
Nee's cooking will 'blow your socks off'. She is a 5* chef without the diploma. I have travelled to 25 countries over the past 50+ years and eaten in many of the finest restaurants in the world and Nee takes a back seat to noone when it comes to food preparation. Prices are higher than in typical Thai restaurants but this is to be expected when the best of fresh ingredients are used and such care is taken in presentation. There could not be a better 'dining out' experience in Kanchanaburi than what is served up at Xanadu - breakfast, lunch or dinner.
The setting for the dining area is very relaxing and pleasant as you overlook the pool and the river.
ROOMS
The guest rooms are fairly basic but have good (but firm) mattresses, fridge, TV, and good-sized bathrooms with step down shower and curtain so water doesn't splash over the rest of the bathroom floor. Air con works well. Each bungalow has a large balcony at the front. At least one duplex bungalow has an adjoining capability if a family wished to rent larger connected space. Walking time to the dining area and pool is about 1 minute.
POOL
The swimming pool and surrounding area is kept meticulously clean and there are several lounge chairs + 2 tables and chairs with umbrellas over them. The pool is a good size.
ODDS & SODS
- Payment for rooms is by cash only
- A good sized village, Nong Bua, is located 1.5 km. further west of Xanadu along a flat, quiet, hardtop road. Walking time is about 20 min. Good Thai food is available at a location beside the river in a park-like setting in the village. This place is found just to the left before crossing the bridge. There are several Thai convenience stores in the village.
- Upon arrival at Kanchanaburi Bus Terminal there are several songthaews available and the cost of travelling to the Xanadu is THB 180 (under CAD$6.00). Same rate applies if you are calling a songthaew to take you into town from the resort.
- Tuk tuk's are available in Kanchanaburi town.
- Another option to go to/from Kanchanaburi to/from the Xanadu is to use a public songthaew service that runs past Nong Bua village but that entails a walk of about a 1/2 hr. This songthaew uses a different road into and out of Kanchanaburi on the opposite side of the river. Dennis can provide info on this. The cost is only THB 30 one way.
- From Suvarnabhumi Airport my preferred method to get to Kanchanaburi is as follows; Airport Rail Link to Phaya Thai Station (30 min., about THB 40), taxi to Southern Bus Terminal (about 40 min., depending on traffic, about THB 200?) and then air con bus for the remaining 3 1/4 hr. trip to Kanchanaburi - cost? - cheap).
- Dining by Kanchanaburi Bus Terminal - Air con restaurants are scarce in this part of town but there is a small, comfortable restaurant across the street to the west from the bus parking area and where the songthaews park that serves good food.
- The road from the Xanadu to town is flat all the way so a rented bike would be an option for going to and fro.
- If going to the Norther Bus Station in Bangkok, the trip is 3 hrs. from Kanchaburi.
- Dennis is a whiz in his knowledge of bird life around the resort and is always happy to educate his guests. He is also a walking encyclopaedia on places to visit or tours to take in the area and he will advise, friend to friend, on the most cost effective ways to plan your trips.
- For first time visitors to Kanchanaburi, 2 activities that I would highly recommend are;
1) A visit to the Tiger Temple and 2) a trip on the train from Kanchanaburi train station to Nam Tok (about 2 1/2 hrs. one way). The train is '40's or '50's vintage with wooden seats and windows that open. Some of the views of the Kwai River are stunning and the rail line crosses a few wooden trestles. Junk food is available on the train but advise taking your own food if you are particular about what you eat.
CONCLUSION
The Xanadu 2008 Resort is a fine example of a business that is run by people that deeply care about delivering a first class, good value service to their customers. The place wreaks of TLC from the gardens, to the housekeeping, to concerns for the environment and to the warm, friendly service. It is a quiet place in nature where tranquility and peace consume your soul. My partner and I enjoyed every moment of our 7 night stay there. Dennis and Nee.....THANK YOU.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. All rooms are quiet for sleeping as you are out in the country. All bungalows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belkinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A friend recommended this lovely place to us. This paradise on the river, is very clean and tidy with beautiful gardens, pool, bar, riverside terrace and resturaut, the gorgeous bungalow accomodation is perfect. Its just away from the hustle and bustle, has great food and feels very homely. Dennis is an absolute star, giving advise on places to go and transport. Nee cooks the most incredibly tasty food. We have travelled to Thailand several times before, but this is by far the nicest, cleanest, most comfortable and picturesque place we have stayed at. Please dont change a thing. Hope to see you again in May 2013. Sharron & Rick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

More than just providing us rooms to stay in for one night, I think owners and hosts Dennis and Nee won our hearts, with their care, hard work and attention to detail. Nee's cooking was fantastic, especially the chicken massaman curry and prawns with garlic in black pepper sauce.

The river flows quietly past the property, and the tastefully done up river bank is probably the best place to sit and have a few beers in the afternoon / evening.

I don't remember whether there was a tea/coffee-maker setup in the rooms, but I do remember missing my morning tea on waking up - but then I'm probably just nit-picking.

Someday, maybe, we shall go back there and spend a much longer time enjoying ourselves, unless the Comptons seriously hike tariffs!

More details and photographs of the Xanadu Resort can be seen in our travelogue: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/128411-thailand-third-time.html.

Room Tip: Our group stayed in rooms 3, 4 & 5, and all are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SS-Shom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Xanadu for three nights. What an incredible place Dennis and Nee have here. Landscaped garden, lovely swimming area situated right on the river Kwai. We had booked a single bungalow which was lovely and spotlessly clean. The room has air con, showeroom and the comfiest beds we have experienced in a long time. The room does have a tv, however you can only watch DVDs on it. There is a huge selection to choose from free of charge. Dennis is a wonderful host and makes you feel right at home. All the food is home cooked by his wife Nee and is of the highest standard, every meal we had there was to die for. The only concern people may have about this place is that it is 10km from the town centre. This really is not a problem because any trip you book will pick you up from Xanadu, plus you get the bonus of peace and tranquility that you would not get in the town centre. Dennis helped us pick the trips to go on and which provided the best value for money. His advice was invaluable, the trips were excellent. Normally when reviewing a place there would be something to write on the negative side. For the first time we cannot think of one. This place is amazing and we would recommend it unreservedly. Thank you so much Dennis and Nee for a great experience.

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Returned to visit Dennis and Nee after an earlier trip in April, very nice to meet again and the hospitality was first class again. Food was fantastic and Dennis arranged a great value trip that included Hellfire pass, waterfall, elephant ride, bamboo raft and train trip, 8am until 5pm and all for 850 baht per person, had a great time !!!
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even borrowed the motorbike for a trip down to the local village.
All the bungalows are set in well maintained gardens, with various wildlife and flowers all around.
The river runs at the bottom of garden and is nice place to chill out.
Relaxing by the very clean pool and engaging in conversation with Dennis and Nee are just wonderful experiences and I cannot wait to return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Rigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place, perfect food and perfect hosts. We will be back soon. Dennis and Nee work very hard to make this place perfect and we are so glad they do. Dennis also recommended going down to the river at the small local village for a drink at night. Its a truly wonderful place for the end of the day. Thank you so much.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomfromschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Property: Xanadu 2008
Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing