We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xanadu was a top notch stay, our favourite in Thailand!”
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Xanadu made a distinct impression on us as it got a unanimous 5/5 from our group (tough feat given for 5 guests with totally different priorities)! It is hard to find things that haven't already been said already but here goes.

ROOMS: Xanadu is beautiful. Everywhere you look is lush greenery. There is a main gate which opens up to a central driveway around which 10 units are lined up. Some are duplex, some are single bungalows. Past this path, you drop down a soft slope towards the bar (eating area), pool, and the River Kwai (see pic). The walk from the gate to the river is no more than 2 minutes, so which unit you get hardly even matters. Inside the rooms, we found what we needed. A comfy bed, a small fridge, a closet and vanity. The bathroom was very clean with a huge shower area. Drinking water and basic toiletries were provided. AC was (thankfully) working perfectly. Outside each room is a small verandah with chairs, but we opted to hang around the bar instead. One side is completely open, so we spent every morning and evening hanging out at "our table", using the wifi, watching the news, and relaxing. Alternatively, you can find a spot by the water on the rustic stone deck or sit at the benches next to the water (see pic). There are plenty of animals around, including a pack of jungle fowl that like to roost in one of the trees. Mosquitos were not aggressive, but they were present. I would be sure to keep the sprays handy for day and especially night.

LOCATION: Kanchanaburi's main town is a busy place with cheap food with some hustle and bustle, but I wouldn't would not stay there. With so many sights in Kan'buri requiring transportation anyway, it's much better to have a place to wind down after an adventurous day. And Xanadu is that private paradise. 10 minutes out from the town, but within reasonable driving distance to places like Hellfire Pass, Death Railway/Krasae Caves, Erawan Falls, and several elephant sanctuaries. The location is not familiar to all taxi's, just make sure you have Xanadu's card with you.

SERVICE: Top notch service from Dennis from the moment we rolled onto his driveway. He has a kind friendly manner and went above and beyond to make our stay extraordinary. For one, we casually asked if they had playing cards, and before we knew it, Nee was driving out to a market to buy a deck for us. Dennis made phone calls on our behalf on several occasions. He also offered to book tours and cab rides - it was like having a constant concierge. When one of our treks brought us home later than expected, Nee waited up to cook us dinner in case we hadn't eaten! Which brings me to her food. We had no desire to go anywhere else to eat because it was so delicious. Breakfast and dinner were always eaten at Xanadu. True the prices are higher than in town, but I am paying a quarter of what I'd pay in Canada.

Thank you Dennis and Nee for all your hospitality...we didn't want to leave! That 2012 Tripadvisor award was well deserved.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 464 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Currently staying at Xanadu leaving today but what a wonderful place Dennis and His wife Nee are the perfect host's. the gardens view and rooms are fabulous. the place definitely deserves a visit while in the area. The owners really make you feel at home and even better for my wife and I we were able to take our two dogs with us (under our control of course who had the free run down by the water side) Absolutely first class!

Room Tip: there are family suites available (adjoining rooms) but we chose a deluxe room both adequate with Dv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyansResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and parents in one of the family cabins that has two rooms and bathrooms for two nights and it wasn't nearly long enough. Unfortunately we were tight on time, but I can't wait for the opportunity to return. Dennis immediately greeted us and showed us around the beautiful property that's located directly on the River Kwai. It's fairly isolated and as such is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The pool was wonderful and we stayed in it for most of our second day because of the hot weather. Dennis organized a wonderful one-day excursion to the major sights around Kanchanaburi and we were really impressed with the tour as well. He helped us arrange our train tickets so we didn't have to return to Bangkok, gave us reading material about the death railway and movies to watch at night, served us absolutely delicious food that his wife cooked and was basically just a really wonderful host. After travelling through SE Asia for a couple months I can easily say that this was the best place I stayed. The rooms were comfortable and clean with aircon, but more than anything else the relaxing and friendly atmosphere would make me suggest Xanadu to everyone I meet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meaghan_Smith_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great place to stay in kanchanaburi, Perfect location out of town but only a short taxi ride to the city.

Rooms are very clean and spacious , Dennis and nee are very helpful and nee would have to be the best cook I have come across in Thailand.

If your going to kanchanaburi I would defenetly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

It`s just the perfect place to relax and enjoy the river kwai. With the difference from other places in Thailand, the fast flow of the river doesn`t permit mosquitosssss!!:)) Dennis and Nee were very helpful. Nee`s food was always delicious and through all our holiday we didnt find chicken cashew nuts better than hers. The place was always spotless clean and the garden was very well kept. It`s just Perfect! Definately we`ll recommend.
Sandro & Christine
Malta

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandroMalta_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Xanadu 2008 is everything I hoped it would be.

The owners were lovely - They were helpful and organised our driver for the following day which was greaat. They also gave us a free upgrade to a better room for our 1 night stay which was great!

The rooms were nice, basic but nice.

The food is amazing here. Myself and a friend both had a massamun curry for 150Baht. Some people might claim this to be expensive, however this was the nicest massamun curry I have ever had and the biggest. I could not finish it!!

The pool is also great - Really beautiful at night with the lighting.

I definately recommend staying here! Fantastic

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Excellent all round.Nothing more to add to previous.Just go there

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,037 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
339 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
231 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $34 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing