We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE NOW !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi
Ranked #13 of 114 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are in Kanchanaburi you'll want to stay here. If you are in Thailand go to Kanchanaburi just to stay here.

Noi and Apple are the most loveliest, genuine, funny Thai's you'll ever meet. The food is Amazing too! Noi's English is SUPURB.

They have a variety of day or part day tours (small minivan) to all the sightseeing sites. Including great advice if you wish to do it yourself. But i RECOMMEND you do the tours with them as there is no way you'll do more than one sightseeing/experience in a day.

!!! Noi even decided to take us herself (as the tour guide) with great advice and management like getting to the Erawan waterfalls early in the morning before the 100's of coachloads of tourists arrive (not exaggerating). With her humour, big smile and laugh we had a great day out and a great stay in general!!!

You can also walk to the Death bridge on the Kwai, walk over it, shop and walk back again in no more than a couple hours. When we arrived late afternoon this is what we did with no trouble. We then did the day tour the day after.

THE BEST PLACE I STAYED IN THAILAND.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 322 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place should deserve a lot more credit than it does. I've never stayed at a place where I felt more welcome than at Apple's Retreat. The hotel was clean, tidy and had no tv which meant we didn't spend the whole day watching tv when it was 40 degrees outside. I loved the owners and are probably the nicest hotel owners I've ever met! Also, I would recommend doing the day tour made up by the hotel as they know exactly where to go. If not the owners are more than happy to give you help in finding your own way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvanderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Apple's Retreat was recommended to us by friends, and we heartily pass on the recommendation. Very clean, lovely and quiet, beautiful view, and close to the historic bridge. On top of this, Apple is very willing to advise and help orgainise your day/s.

Room Tip: Don't expect staff to know English. There will be someone at reception who understands and is ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with excellent staff and Noi is one of the nicest people we met on holiday. The food is one of the best places in thailand as well, we did the cooking course as well and it is worth every penny worth a visit a stay and a cook

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmarky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked here because of the lovely reviews. The place was quiet - so quiet there was no one to talk to - none of the staff spoke English. There was no one to ask directions or advice......we did feel isolated and probably would not stay here again. The room was large but poor lighting and the beds were the hardest we have ever experienced ( we do travel extensively in Asia and are used to the normally hard beds). I had to ask for more toilet paper..........however, the position on the river was certainly pretty and the food available in the eating area was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Apple's Retreat because it was top choice in the lonely planet guide & it certainly lived up to the reviews! As soon as we turned up someone came out to greet us & show us around. Apple herself was a great help in planning our next days activities & even a driver for us. For 990 BHT = $30 it was great value, clean & a great little spot on the River Kwai. The rooms were nice, the only thing was the mattress was pretty hard. It was a quiet garden retreat & a perfect little getaway. We were sad we couldn't stay longer. We ate from the restaurant Blue Rice & I can highly recommend the Pad Thai & Massaman Curry. If we had stayed longer we definitely would have done the Thai cooking class.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? I stayed at Apple's Retreat in February. Both Apple and Noy are simply lovely, the other staff are charming, the location is perfect (away from the centre but easily walkable), and the food sublime. The rooms are simple and lovely, with very comfortable beds. I also did the cooking course, which was also superb and highly recommended. After my initial three night stay I explored elsewhere in the Province but ended up returning here and enjoying another happy couple of days.

I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
1,089 reviews
1.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
River Kwai Hotel
River Kwai Hotel
#48 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabai @ Kan Resort
Sabai @ Kan Resort
#1 of 114 in Kanchanaburi
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi

Address: 153/4 Moo 4, Sutjai Bridge | Thamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $27 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple's Retreat and Blue Rice Restaurant, Apple & Noi Thai Cooking by Apple and Noi is a local. Kanchanaburi is our hometown. A unique experience in your destination to the local people and experience of they life to eat like the local transport and meeting people on the same level. Let's join us and stay at Apple's Retreat and Authentic experience at Blue Rice Restaurant Kanchanaburi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple`s Retreat & Guesthouse Hotel Kanchanaburi
Apple`s Retreat And Guesthouse
Apples Retreat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing