We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Calm Shady Oasis in Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Kwai Bridge Resort
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as part of a package by The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre (you MUST visit them!!!).
And how pleased I've been with their excellent choice!
I stayed on two seperate nights but wished it could have been more.
The individual chalets I had were super; clean, comfortable and a great size with air con. These chalets were set in amongst the trees so were shaded.

The resort restaurant overlooked the banks of the River Kwai, you could see the bridge so clearly and it was indeed just a short walk away. The bridge is clear during daylight but in the evening it is lit by lights which change hue.
Although having an indoor section my meals were taken on the verandah/deck. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of dishes to choose from, sufficient to fill you for the day ahead.
There is a very full evening menu to choose from at very reasonable cost. The restaurant staff are most helpful and willing to guide with explanations and menu choices.

All the staff were extremely acommodating and helpful whether they be cleaners or reception staff. One convenience was being able to leave baggage until my return two days later.

In addition to being restfully quiet on the riverside it is just a short walk from the bridge and the Japanese monument. Being 'out of town' is a plus for tranquility. However, there are taxis close so transportation is not a problem.

I had occasion to converse with the owners who are deservedly proud of this excellent establishment!
Thank You.

Room Tip: Chalets/villas super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been more. The individual chalet we had was lovely; it was clean, a great size with air con. The chalets were set in amongst the trees so were shaded. The resort restaurant overlooked the banks of the River Kwai, you could see the bridge so clearly and it was indeed just a short walk away. Breakfast was fine and outside. If you need a taxi, reception will call one for you and Jack will appear with his Tuk Tuk. We had a very pleasant stay here and would return, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though the stay was average but didnt find the attitude of the staff during the breakfast quite welcoming, they were more concerned about having there own breakfast and denying the guests that its finished because the time is over. Location is good and convenient, will think before going again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJSBangkok_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

FIrstly, I am a firm believer that everyone is entitled to their opinion and should be able to voice that as such. However, I'd like to say that the people scoring this place down do not seem to be taking into account the almost-ridiculously-low price (about £30 per night) for a chalet literally right on the banks of the River Kwai, in full view of the bridge and about a minute's walk to the market and restaurants. If you want 5* then pay for 5*!

Moving on... we arrived in Kanchanaburi in the late afternoon and were expecting to have to compromise on where we stayed, but as we drove along the river we found this resort and chanced our arm on availability. Not only did they have a chalet for us, it was also right next to the swimming pool and about 20 seconds walk from the river bank. We stayed for 2 nights, and found the location absolutely perfect for everything we wanted to do.There is private off-street parking if you have your rental car with you too.

The staff were friendly and helpful, offered us a choice of rooms and the place was spotless. Yes there were a few mosquitos knocking about, but you're on the banks of a huge river in 35 degree heat... what do you expect.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a charming retreat from the bustle of town. The cottages were comfortable and the gardens were very well maintained. The staff were also very helpful, especially little Jack! I would stay here again, without a doubt.

Room Tip: The cottages near the pool were really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

nice and quiet place. mosquitoes in the room though. i love the chalet style room. You can see the famous bridge from the restaurant. breakfast is just "okay". staff is okay, but dont ask them how to get elsewhere and for all people that should know that would be the reception people, but its useless asking them. overall so-so hotel, perfect location, and reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: the bathroom in the areas near the river all seem to have a bad odor, but they charge you 5baht when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent five nights here over Christmas 2012 with family and friends, and we enjoyed ourselves very much. The villas are simply but nicely decorated, with a nice shady front porch. The hotel restaurant serves fresh and tasty food, and as is a great place to sit and enjoy a view of the river and bridge. Although the hotel was full (or close to), it never felt crowded and we often had the pool to ourselves, which was a nice surprise. I was a bit wary of this hotel as some of the other reviews mentioned very basic facilities and lots of mosquitoes, however we did not find these problems. While not a five-star resort, the facilities were comfortable and good value, and I did not notice that there were any more mosquitoes than most other places in South East Asia. Some good nearby restaurants include Blue Rice at Apples Retreat, Peppers at U Inchantree Resort, and Keeree Tara. The night market near the bus station was also a good spot for street food, and the hotel was happy to order us songthaews (pickup truck taxis) when we needed them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaxMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
0.5 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Bridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Bridge Resort

Address: 8 Vietnam Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Bridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your River Kwai Bridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Bridge Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing