We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return here again”
Review of Thai Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thai Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Judy and Jah at the front desk made our planning to visit Hellfire Pass easy. I loved the location. It was nearby the town of Kanchanaburi, but one felt like you were out in the country in a quiet, restful place. The rooms were adequate and we really appreciated having a refrigerator and air conditioning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wife2SMIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that we have been able to help you with your visit to Hellfire Pass and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly would enjoy seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 385 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a lovely welcome,after a long train journey to kanchanaburi we hopped in a taxi and within minutes we arrived,
pretty gardens well attend,shown to our accomodation it was clean and spacouis,
staff full of information,the pool looked very inviting though we didnt test the waters,
Judy and her staff were fantastic the food was tastey nice choice of menu all home cooked,
so wished we could of stayed long but due to sight seeing so much in 3 wks it was'nt to be,
we had a problem with a Travel money card and Judy was there to help,the used of her Lap top (Thank You so much) would we stay here again or recommend too right i would its a perfect little place
Clean,Comfortable just what you need nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: All rooms are faceing gardens all are easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tescobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Thai Garden Inn. This time we stayed for 8 nights as we really like the relaxing atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & the pool & the garden are lovely.There is lots to see & do in the area & it's very easy to get a tuk tuk if you don't want to walk into town. We borrowed bikes one day & enjoyed exploring as the roads are generally quiet. The food in the restaurant is good & well priced & there are lots of other eating options not far away. Our pick -up from Bangkok Airport was arranged by the hotel & was completely hassle free, as was the transfer onwards at the end of our stay.We visited the museum next to the cemetery for the second time & found it just as interesting & moving as on our previous visit. We also did the half day cookery course at Apple & Noi's just down the road & that was really good. It's a really friendly place to stay & great value for money, the free Wi-Fi is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you once again for your review.

We were very happy to have you both back with us again. And it certainly is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed yourselves once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The girl from the reception was very nice and helpfull. The bungalow was not what I expected it to be. We had a/c and a fridge, 2 free water every day. But it was not cleaned very well. It was basic and there were no bedlights. The bathroom was also not cleaned very well. The garden was very nice and beautifull. We did not use the swimmingpool. Looked nice though. The breakfast was included, basic but good. The hotel is little bit out of town. So if you want to eat in town you have to call a taxi. I was glad we did not stay into town. At night there was very loud music. We could get a decent night of sleep here.
I liked my stay at the Thai Garden Inn, but I expected a little bit more value for the money we paid (1100 B per night)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Once again, I believe you must have stayed in one of the bungalows where the floor tiles in the bathroom are stained, hence giving an appearance of being dirty. We recently had another guest who said the same thing to us when she checked in and we got the cleaners to clean it again to proof that it was a stained tile. And she was very happy after that because she knew that it was not a dirty bathroom. Wish you had informed us so that we could show it to you as well.

If you have read my replies to some of the other previous reviews on this matter, you would also know that we have scheduled the change of the tiles mid this year.

We do have a bedside lamp in every room. Again we would have appreciated it if you have informed us that yours is missing or not working so that we could rectify it for you.

However we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you have also enjoyed our complimentary tea and coffee set that was available in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here three nights and it was a pretty good stay, and good value for the price. We really loved the setting around the gardens, the pool which was very welcome after a hot day sightseeing, and the food in the restaurant was super tasty. The couple who run the place are very friendly and helpful, as were the other staff (even if their English was a bit more limited, but hey, we're not in England!). The rooms inside weren't amazing but okay - we had fan only and it was a bit stuffy so we should probably have paid the extra few quid for air con. The only reason why we probably wouldn't stay here again is the location - we did walk all of the sites in town including the bridge and war cemetery in the day but at night felt a bit stranded as we didn't have our own wheels (we're not confident on bikes, either the motorised or push variety!). We were also a bit confused to be charged for the train station pick up which was advertised as free on their website - but perhaps we were supposed to book - maybe check first of you're hoping to do the same! Not really connected to the hotel but I would recommend shopping around for tours further afield as the one to Hellfire Pass we booked from one of the leaflets at the hotel was a bit lacklustre, although the site itself is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would pay extra for an air con room if you get hot and bothered easily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our cooks have done a good job.

I would like to extend our sincere apologies to you on the confusion of the pick up from River Kwai Station. We do provide free pickup from the River Kwai Station. I have just checked on this matter and it is a mistake made by one of our frontdesk. I wish you had informed me on this when you were here as I could have refunded you the money and also apologized for the mistake made.

We know you mentioned that you would not come back here to stay but in the event that you change your mind and wish to come back, please write to us and we will offer you some compensation.

The tours that are offered in our hotel are run by Good Times and Toi Tours, both of which have had very good reviews. We will pass on your remarks to them anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A lovely resort, clean and well kept.
Had a very comfortable 2 night stay very relaxing, loved the pool area.
A great base with plenty to do in the area, visited the bridge, museums and war graves, went on a trip to the Tiger Temple and spent an evening in town, did not have enough time to see everything on offer will definately be back.
Staff very helpful in planning trips and organising transport back to Bangkok for our onward travels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to know that our staff are helpful and that you have had a good time with us.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Recently had a four night stay at the Thai Garden, what a great place, rooms are basic but adequate with large comfy beds, the garden area is lovely, a very relaxing place, town is a ten minute walk away or a tuck tuck ride 100 bt, all staff very friendly and spoke very good English, it is run by a Malay/Chinesse lady whose first language is English, we hired bikes locally and cycled to the bridge and generally around the area, some great bars and restauants in town especially Bell,s. Staff arranged all our travel and tour needs, would recommend to anybody, we are four very young at heart 60 year olds. Barry

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank togoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hi Barry, thank you for your great review and recommendation. We certainly enjoyed having all of you here with us and hope we will get to see all of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,067 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Inn

Address: 74 / 11 Moo 4 | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $36 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Inn is nestled in the heart of the Kanchanaburi countryside. We have 11 individual, well appointed Thai-style bungalows overlooking either our gardens or our pool. We have another 3 individual family bungalows overlooking our swimming pool. All bungalows have en-suite bathrooms including hot shower, western toilet and free WiFi. In addition there is also a fully stocked mini-bar. We have a choice of air con or fan for our standard bungalows. Our family bungalows are fully air conditioned only. We also have 2 bedroom house, fully equipped with TV, western kitchen, spa tub in the master bedroom bathroom and private parking. At the heart of our resort is the swimming pool and sunbathing area. Perfect place to escape the sun for a while, then cool off and relax on one of our shaded recliners. Our games include free pool table and darts. For those who wish to read, we have a small library of books for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thai Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing