We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great price”
Review of Thai Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thai Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a nice hotel.
We lived in one of the great new rooms.
The room right next to the pool.
Excellent atmosphere and courteous service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elpel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 385 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

a simple resort,friendly staff,good swimming pool, nice country side resort if you dont go with luxury expectations .

Room Tip: near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I'll be honest by saying that my husband and I were somewhat dissapointed by the Thai Garden Inn largely due to the fact that we stayed here during our honeymoon through SE Asia and it was really not appropriate accommodation for such an occasion. Although we knew it was not 5 star accommodation when we booked, the previous glowing reviews on TA mislead us somewhat as to the quality of the bungalows. The bungalow we had was VERY basic with windows that were unable to be closed completely, with a collapsing ceiling and gaps for bugs to get in around the door etc. At night you can smell people's cigarette smoke as you try to sleep even with everything closed up as best you can. The shower is in the same area as the toilet so everything gets soaked, the bed is a double and towels small and thin. The breakfast is part of the room price but it really needs improvement. Coffee is dreadful, juice tastes like cordial and the food is a continental breakfast made from very cheap tasting ingredients. There is no Thai breakfast option. The positives of the place are the pretty gardens, decent pool, good air con in room, a nice location about 15 min walk to town and friendly staff. This place would be a good stay for backpackers who don't mind basic lodging and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessvanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

In reply to your comments, some are valid, others are not. Let’s start with the silly things that you stated.

1.The coffee is terrible. How on earth can you say that Nescafe gold cup is a terrible coffee, you may not like it, but that doesn’t make it a terrible coffee

2.The windows were unable to be closed completely. Was it beyond you to inform a member of staff that you had a problem with the window(s) so that they could resolve the problem for you?

3.Breakfast made from very cheap tasting ingredients. Well! I have to say that you have stumped me there, the bread we buy from the local shop, eggs and tomatoes from the local market the baked beans are a famous brand in Thailand.

On to the more serious problem, you are right about the toilet and shower being in the same area that is a problem we are having corrected as I write. It was explained to you when you visited us that we have made a number of improvements to the resort over the past 12 months and that there are more improvements to be made including the bathrooms and some of the ceilings. It is not possible to do everything in the first few months of taking over a resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Thai Garden Inn; the location was great, on the opposite side of the river from the main town but only 5 minutes away by bicycle.
The rooms are small cabins with their own verandahs, shower rooms and aircon. even the free wi-fi worked in the rooms.
The service was excellent, good food served in a very nice restaurant area, free wi-fi and even a laptop on the bar for the use of guests!
I had breakfast upstairs which where there was a view of trees at the back; very nice.
The grounds are well maintained as it the excellent swimming pool which is a proper pool and large enough to swim in.
The garden around the pool has several shaded seating areas where you can relax and read a book or have a beer.
Food seemed to be available at any time of the day.
Need advice on anything - ask the owner.
Joint British and Malaysian owned.
I will stay here again when in Kanchanaburi.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same though two new ones are being built at the end of the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. By the way, there are three new bungalows at the end of the pool and they are nice and spacious family bungalows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing time at the Thai Garden Inn. Judy and John were great hosts, really helpful and friendly with great advice on what to do in the area. The staff were all lovely too.

The room was perfect, spacious but cute, with a great shower. We couldn't wait to go for a swim on arrival and spent a lot of time in the pool area which is gorgeous. Breakfast was really nice and there's a good selection and it's lovely to sit in the restaurant/bar area and look out over the garden.

We were within walking distance of town and Bridge over the River Kwai and if you're feeling tired taxis and tuk tuks are cheap and easy to come by and reception can order them for you. There are lots of amazing places to visit, the Erawan waterfalls and Elephant camp were highlights for us.

Would recommend Thai Garden Inn to anyone visiting Kanchanaburi. Can't wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed at Thai Garden Inn for 5 nights in February 2012. Judy and her staff were wonderful. My bungalow was great and roomy. The pool and surrounding area was very welcoming and relaxing after sightseeing. Breakfast was inluded in the price. There were plenty of choices and food was great. There were also bicycles for rent which I took advantage of since most of the sights were on the other side of the river. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedHillGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 kids (4+6 yrs). New owners who really make their best of it. Clean bungalows (a bit outdated) in a beautiful garden where the kids can play freely. Nice swimming pool. Good breakfast. The staff was very friendly and advised us about trips in the area. We wanted to stay longer but needed to go back to Bangkok. We will go back to this place if we are in Kanchanaburi a next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens_Hooiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed yourselves and we certainly look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,067 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Inn

Address: 74 / 11 Moo 4 | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $36 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Inn is nestled in the heart of the Kanchanaburi countryside. We have 11 individual, well appointed Thai-style bungalows overlooking either our gardens or our pool. We have another 3 individual family bungalows overlooking our swimming pool. All bungalows have en-suite bathrooms including hot shower, western toilet and free WiFi. In addition there is also a fully stocked mini-bar. We have a choice of air con or fan for our standard bungalows. Our family bungalows are fully air conditioned only. We also have 2 bedroom house, fully equipped with TV, western kitchen, spa tub in the master bedroom bathroom and private parking. At the heart of our resort is the swimming pool and sunbathing area. Perfect place to escape the sun for a while, then cool off and relax on one of our shaded recliners. Our games include free pool table and darts. For those who wish to read, we have a small library of books for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thai Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing