We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in the middle of nature and next to the River Kwai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mida Resort Kanchanaburi
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautifull, stunning nature. Reception/lobby is nice. Terrain is superby. Swimming pool and platform are great. Room very good, clean and complete. Not very luxeroues (of course they have different styles of rooms and prices). They offer buffet dinner (you have to pay of course), but this was excellent, lot of choise, Thais dishes & Western dishes. Breakfast was also excellent. WIFI & internet service free, but limitid to some area's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

My g/f and I went to this resort and we were the only ones there. The only ones using the pool and the only ones in the restaurant in the evening.
This resort is 45 to 50 minute drive away from Kanchanaburi. Taxi was 600baht from the bus station. Once your at the resort you are stuck. The pool is let down by poor maintenance, many tiles are missing. Rooms were ok, the river view was pointless as you actually have a view of trees with a slight view of the river.

Breakfast was terrible, didn't have breakfast the 2nd morning as it was so bad.
Restaurant food in the evening was very average and very expensive, the drinks were very pricey too. 2 Large Singha's and 2 cocktails were 695baht. They put on VAT and service charge on top of menu prices. The second night at 10pm the breakfast area was set up, this included the coffee pot sitting there with coffee in luke warm for the morning.
The receptionist was very rude, unhelpful and wouldn't help us book a trip the next day as we couldn't get into Kanchanaburi with out paying loads of for a taxi and taking a lot of time out the day. The night before we were leaving was asked if they could book us a taxi and she wouldn't do it. They next day though it was a different receptionist and she sorted us out a resort minibus to take us to town for 800baht.

We took a trip in the day with Good Times Travel and they were very good. The day trip was worth staying in Kanchanaburi, but I wouldn't stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: river view is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank graham_askew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The pool and grounds are ethereal, but if you are not part of a tour group or have a car this resort would not be a good choice. Poor service in the dining area. Free shuttle only offered from 10 am to 2 pm, otherwise resort van cost is 500 Tb. Laundry service more expensive than other Thai hotels. Free bicycles were in poor repair with flat tires. This resort does not have the usual friendly, helpful service providers; perhaps because they are inundated daily with large bus tour groups.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The resort has potential. The common areas are beautiful (Including lobby, restaurant and pool) and since it's right by the river and in the middle of the jungle, the surrounding nature is stunning. However, the rooms have definitely seen better days and service is nonexistent. The website talks about beautiful hikes you can take all around but the truth is that once you get to the hotel you're kind of stuck. You can call a taxi to come pick you up, but that will cost you as the hotel is about 30 minutes outside of town. It may be a good option if you have a car or if you're travelling as part of a group; otherwise the remote location makes it very unpractical. If the hotel offered a shuttle service to Kanchanaburi and maybe a good concierge service, it would definitely be helpful and improve the overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlenne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Service is very impressive. Location is quite private and close to many attractive places.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice location if you plan to visit erawan waterfall. Lot of big tour group who stay for a nice. Nice swiming pool,garden and river side walk. limited choice on the menu.bathroom smell bad and the wall is thin so you can hear your next door easily. only one english chanel

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The beautiful and well manicured gardens are the only highlight of this resort. The room smelled mouldy, furniture in the room definitely saw better days, the bathroom was old and did not feel clean, the windows were dirty and full of spider webs and bugs!
The pool is very big but needs some repairs. Same for the beds and umbrellas by the pool.The bar by the pool was a joke: 3 bottles of spirit all basically empty, the beer fridge was locked and the security guard had to call somebody from the restaurant to open it.
This place could have big potentials as the location by the river Kwai and the surroundings are beautiful but it is not well maintened and has no character! We were there only 1 night while exploring the Erawan National Park area but I would have not stayed any longer. As soon as the 2 big groups of package tourists left early in the am, it was only myself and my boyfriend left on the premises and it felt like a ghost town!
The staff was so careless that they did not even ask our room # at the buffet dinner and we ended up eating for free. They did not ask if we wanted drinks, they just brought us two glasses of water.
The breakfast buffet was nothing to write about, with cold eggs and bland Thai breakfast items!
I would look for a smaller hotel in the area with a more friendly Thai spirit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
18.5 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,067 reviews
17.8 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
18.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
19.9 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
117 reviews
18.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mida Resort Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mida Resort Kanchanaburi

Address: 199 Moo 2,Ladya-Sri Sawad Road, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $55 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mida Resort Kanchanaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mida Resort Kanchanaburi is set amongst hills and trees, providing a perfect retreat for nature lovers. Guests can get adventurous with mountain trekking or walking the river banks while enjoying the sun and sights of the town. All rooms are spacious and fitted with modern facilities for the convenience and comfort of visitors. The pool offers the ultimate in relaxation, and the restaurant and cozy bar keeps your taste buds happy. The trip is not complete without making a visit to the Erawan Waterfalls located 25 minutes away from the property. With seven falls to explore and walk up, over and under, this is an experience of a lifetime. Whatever the reason for your stay, Mida Resort Kanchanaburi will make your stay a good one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mida Resort Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mida Resort Kanchanaburi Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing