We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location B&B”
Review of The Bee & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bee & B
Ranked #92 of 308 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We started at this B&B in the cheaper room which I regretted as not room to swing a cat, no natural light and felt very claustrophobic. However we decided to stay as got a better deal on the top room which was much better for us. The room was comfortable and the owners very friendly and helpful. The Manager (sorry I can't remember her name) cooked lovely breakfast every day and gave us tips on where to travel every day.
Free internet, plus compimentary beers or water was a good touch.
We did feel the prices were a bit on the high side for what was offered, but all in all a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingnic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deronw, Owner at The Bee & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Hello Travellingnic1967,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Just two quick comments:

1) The room you initially booked is indeed much smaller than our larger rooms, but we happily upgraded you to a larger room that was available AND at a discounted price. There is not much natural light in the smaller room, but we actually have several guests who prefer to stay in the room for that exact reason...they go to bed late and don't want to be woken up by sunlight in the morning. Of course, our other rooms have a lot of natural sunlight, so we have something for everyone.

2) Prices are indeed higher than the typical "guest house" in Hua Hin...but so is the quality. We are probably the only bed and breakfast/guesthouse in the city that has Sealy Posturepedic beds, 300-thread count sheets, teak wood bathtub, teak furniture, etc. Not to mention our unique breakfasts alone are not exactly cheap. So, like everything else in life, you get what you pay for. Nevertheless, for what it's worth, we happen to have a Summer Fun promotion going on from now until October 1 (20% off the larger rooms and 15% off the smaller rooms).

Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Agree with other reviewers -- the rooms are comfortable and the hospitality terrific. We were warmly greeted by Deron and B. They provided lots of helpful information about Hua Hin, and even encouraged us to call them in Bangkok. The house manager, Em, was a wonderful hostess -- gracious, good food, advice about the town. But a few things to take note of: the house is on a side street in a residential neighborhood -- nothing bad, but nothing picturesque. The location is not especially close to the beach -- it's a 20 minute walk and you have to cross a very busy street (but when you get there look for Mr. Richard's place -- he's a friend of the innkeepers and will take good care of you!) Also, the decor is a bit odd, with lots of gauzy pictures of scantily-clothed women in sexually suggestive poses that are vaguely creepy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMacFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deronw, Owner at The Bee & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, as we certainly did work hard to take good care of you.

Sorry you didn't like our art work. Ironically, we have received many complements on the paintings by guests who thought they were tastefully done with an artistic flair. Frankly, we've not had anyone mention the art in a negative way in the 5 years we have been open, but each to his own I guess.

Also, just for the record, the nearest beach is actually a 10-minute walk (the beach in the center of town), but we normally don't recommend that one because it is too crowded.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

The Bee & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bee & B over NY and we really liked the personal touches and 'Ton' went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. She organised a day trip for us during which we visited Monkey Island (scary if you feed them!), the Big Buddha, the Safari Park which had elephant & cobra shows and Pala-U waterfall which was fab. She also recommended a couple of night markets to go to, Cicada & the floating market (both were really lovely, the floating market was a particularly nice setting) - both selling mostly handmade products which we didn't feel haselled into buying unlike some other markets we visited in Thailand. Breakfast was good every day and the free drink and use of internet was a nice touch. We stayed in Honey Bee - the rooms aren't big by any means but for 3 nights with the extras which are included it was more than adequate. There's a really good place at the night market right by the Bee & B which does great pad thai too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This will be our third stay at Bee & B and in our view it just gets better. Now under new management, ("M" and Christophe) it is much improved. Little touches make such a difference, candles in the room with fragrant oil, personalised breakfasts, cannot understand the comment made on 29 November, as they will do anything they can to please, its up to you to say........ Value for money its the only place to stay in Hua Hin. See you again in February 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletcher7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I found this guesthouse on Tripadvisor and have just spent 5 nights there over New Year - they only had one room available - the Humblebee room - it's their smallest but is perfectly adequate, with a large seashell-decorated bathroom. We found it to be one of the nicest &B's we've stayed in in Thailand and we've travelled around a lot over the years. The owners were on holiday but their manager, Em (I'm sure she has a fuller thai name!) was fantastic - she catered to our every need (not that we had many) and was so helpful and friendly, that you can't help but smile when you see her! The owners even emailed us to check that we had arrived safely and were happy with our room which I thought was a very nice touch. The breakfasts were cooked at any time of your choosing and the dish differs very day - the Eggs Benedict was our favourite but we had lots of lovely breakfasts there. There is free water and a beer/soft drink every day if you want it. The location is great, just behind the Hua Hin Grand hotel, in a quiet Soi. There's a cut through to the beach near the Veranda Lodge hotel and this takes only 5-10 minutes. There are sunloungers there and beach bars which serve great food to you at the sunbed. The Bee and B is also close to the Hua Hin Grand Night Market which is a smaller version of the main night market but has lots of great food stalls and is frequented by lots of Thai people too. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone that prefers a more personal touch - it's a family house and you are made extremely welcome. Had we not wanted to visit any more places in Thailand, we could happily have stayed for several weeks more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a sweet B&B with a cozy atmosphere and good service. It's well located near to the night market and beach. You can have a free soft drink/beer per day, which is a thoughtful perk. They've got a large selection of DVDs you can watch up in your room for no extra charge.

Despite these good points, we felt it wasn't great value for money. Having seen lovely pictures on Tripadvisor of the breakfast, and the description of 'unique gourmet breakfasts' on the website, we were expecting something much better than the standard 2 fried eggs, toast and frankfurter-style sausage we were given every morning. Just to clarify, we are budget-mid range travellers, so never expect anything fancy. In fact, the breakfast at The Bee & B was pretty much what we are always given when we travel in Thailand, and we are normally fine with it too. The problem in this case was that we weren't paying a budget price, so we felt rather short-changed. The high season room rate of 1800 baht p/night for the cheapest room (Humble Bee) seemed over-priced considering its small size (and the lack-lustre breakfast), however sweetly it has been decorated.

Overall, a charming place but I'd only stay here again if the price was reduced by 20% or so to make it seem better value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deronw, Owner at The Bee & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thanks for your review. We're sorry you were disappointed by the breakfast. You're absolutely correct that we normally do NOT serve typical breakfasts like fried eggs. To be honest, we were in the middle of changing to a new manager at the time you stayed with us, and the training in that regard was apparently not up to full speed yet. Rest assured, we have corrected this issue and breakfasts have returned to being unique and gourmet.

As a token of goodwill, we would like to offer you a 30% discount on your next stay, at which time you will surely be impressed by the high standard of our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I came across this place looking on trip advisor planning our honeymoon and now that I'm here the place does not disappoint. We are staying in the queen bee room and the place is full of character. Great bathroom and a big wooden bath at the bottom of the bedroom is unique. Great top tip given by the last reviewers to find the place we always ask to go to the grand and it is just behind. The bee and b is situated in an excellent location not far from the grand stadium and night market so have our night sorted for tomorrow. The owners have done an excellent job of the place. Khun M and Gustov have been extremely helpful and very welcoming and have helped us organise our taxi's to where we want to go. If I ever come back to Hua Hin i'd be rebooking the bee and b.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank InternationalMongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
M & A Guesthouse
M & A Guesthouse
#101 of 308 in Hua Hin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,315 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.3 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bee & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bee & B

Address: 226/32 Petchkasem Road | (behind the Grand Hotel), Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of boring, impersonal, overpriced hotels, you will surely fall in love with our luxury amenities, plush rooms, and personal service -- all at a "no-nonsense" price! Relaxing, heated garden jacuzzi, free wi-fi internet, personal LCD TV with DVD player, teak wood furniture and bathtub, Sealy Posturepedic beds with soft 300 thread-count sheets, deluxe en-suite toilets with "rain" shower heads, room darkening curtains, romantic mood lighting in rooms, airport pickup, gourmet breakfasts, and a great location close to the beach and center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Bee & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing