We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lot of Fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hua Hin Fishing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lot of Fun!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Spent a day fishing on New Years Eve 2013. We purchased the day package which was all inclusive: 2 ponds, 2 poles, bait, fishing guide, lunch, soft drinks, water, tea, cofee and transport to and from hotel in Hau Hin. If you are palnning on a full day of fishing, I would reccommend the day package: 2 pond/ 2 pole vs one pond/one pole. It's obvious, but you do enhance your chances of catching more fish. The results ... We caught about 2 dozen fish bewteen two people. We caught different species of fish: Catfish, Pacu, Siamese Carp and Arapaima. The one Carp and two Arapaima we caught put up a good fight and took about 10 minutes to reel in. What fun! The ponds are well stock, well kept and the fish are in great condition. Even though the ponds are well stocked, there is no guarantee you will catch fish. That's fishing. It just happened to be our day! Our guide has sometihing to with that. He was attentive and helpful on where to fish in the ponds. We had Thai Food for lunch. It was very good with generous portions. All in all, it was a very relaxing and eventful day. Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Mr. P - Thank you for your kind review, it is much appreciated. I remember your visit well. It was one of those rare days that the fish did not want to cooperate, but somehow you managed to entice them. Happy that you had a good time and a lot of fun, and happier that you have told Tripadvisor about you experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
43
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We arranged a day package to the fishing lodge. Cost included pickup at our hotel (which was very punctual), all equipment, assistance from staff, lunch and soft drinks and water. Also included return tour hotel when we were reedy to leave. There is nothing posh about this place. It is about 15 minutes out of Hua Hin and consists of 2 stocked fishing ponds. There is plenty of shade and seats and the guys there were very helpful. We had great fun catching a variety of different sized fish, the larger being a 15 kg Siam Carp and the famous Arapaima! No idea what that weighed but it was a big boy! Our package included lunch which consisted of a great choice if Thai or Western dishes. We stuck with Thai food and it was excellent. More than enough for us. You can do this trip more Healy by getting a taxi to take you to the lodge and then hiring your equipment when you die. You can then buy lunch, soft drinks and alcohol if you want to. The package was just convenient for us. This was a no stress,no hassle, relaxing and fun day. Very much enjoyed it and would recommend as something a bit different. I just wish the lodge would improve its marketing. They were hard to find and the hotels don't seem to know much about them. We used our hotel staff to assist with the bookings due to our very limited Thai.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neeceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you Neecey T for your feedback - it is much appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed your day and took advantage of our package deal. Your comment about taking a taxi and hiring rods, buying lunch etc separately is noted. However, if you add up the separate elements of the package you will see that it is extremely good value for money. Nevertheless it is up to our customers how they wish to spend their day, we only strive to make it easy for them to enjoy. As for marketing - well - responding here on Tripadvisor helps tremendously - thank you for taking your time to tell us of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Two small ponds immaculately kept offering a great days holiday fishing. We caught around a dozen fish each but hooked and lost more. Best of the day was a 40lb Siamese carp to my wife Elaine, plenty of catfish to 20lb, a lot caught off the top. Saw a couple of Arapaima caught and landed by another angler of around 80lb each. Should mention the food and service which were excellent, it's just as described on the website. If your new to angling then this is a great place to start, just don't try to replicate it in blighty!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you '5269' - delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, and thanks for the compliments - much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a real great days fishing at hua hin fishing lodge caught some lovely fish , Mekong catfish , siemise carp had some great food the guide was a great person , all in all a good day . I've uploaded a few pictures also I forgot to mention the owner was a great guy made the time to come and talk to me and my family

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you Steven, your review and feedback is much appreciated - glad you enjoyed your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

In Thailand at the minute, went fishing at the Hua Hin fishing lodge which I got the hotel to book for me, I got collected and brought back to the hotel which is about a half hour away in cha am. the people at the lodge were very helpful and friendly. Neither my wife nor I are experienced fishers, but we really enjoyed our full day fishing. We caught many different nice sizes of fish and at the end of the day this was topped of by landing a 50 pound aluprima ( which our guide hooked and let me land!) biggest fish I've ever landed was about 2 pound! Food was beautiful and plentiful, fish seemed to be kept in good condition and generally the 2ponds and surroundings were lovely. We were privalidged to witness 4 new aluprima being added to the water on that day and hope to return when they are bigger to try to catch one! Overall would reccomend this place to anyone whether you have fished before or not! Great day out

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Peter. Many thanks for your very kind review. Good to see that you enjoyed your day with us and we really appreciate it when we can get feedback from customers. Methinks the fish that you have referred to as Aluprima are in fact Arapaima - but not to worry, many folk do not get the chance to see or catch one, let alone spell them! So we're pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you saw the new stock going into the ponds. We hope that you can make it back to us again to hopefully do some more exotic fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went from Bangkok to the fishery which is a long way away, but what a fun, amazing day it was, Claire and I had 15 fish, lost a few more, had a fabulous local lad to help, and laughed all day, and we still talk about it to this day,, try it, experienced or not, it's probably going to be an experience you'll remember forever

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryholdenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your splendid review Terry. I'm delighted that we can add to your good holiday memories - I have put your comments on to our webpage with the nice photo of the Chao Praya Catfish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a day at the Hua Hin Fishing Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Conveniently located, the Lodge is an attractive place to spend a sunny day relaxing and fishing but is by no means exclusive to the experience angler as we rarely fish but still managed to land six decent sized fish (having lost several more. The guides are very helpful and friendly and are also good fun.

The Lodge has a wide selection of food and drink available -ice cold beer and the best cup of tea I have found in Asia so far. All very reasonably priced (as is the fishing).

Unfortunately we left our visit until the last day of our trip although if we had time we would have come back. Will visit again for certain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments SJJL - very much appreciate your time taken for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the visit - and the tea! Hope you get back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
7.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
6.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
5.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
5.1 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#7 of 136 in Hua Hin
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Hin Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Hin Fishing Lodge

Property: Hua Hin Fishing Lodge
Address: 115 Moo 10, Soi Wat Ni Kho Taram | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshwater fishing ponds with 44 varieties of fish, 15 minutes west of the resort town of Hua Hin Thailand. Restaurant with Thai & Western dishes. Accommodation available in three bungalows. Childrens' playground. Professional grade Pool Table, shower rooms. Have a fun fishing day with the family and relax in the beautiful countryside of Hua Hin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing