We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay .. But the food sucks!”
Review of Dune Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dune Hua Hin
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Been to Dune 4 times I know its a nice place to stay but the first time was for cocktails on the roof thought good idea take six friends love the roof but entrees where not good everyone complaind about size and taste and about handing over money EXPENSIVE i thought ok i will take friends for lunch so sad the food was dry small and no one could eat the selection of 4 dishes nearly 2000+ bht never again ...

Room Tip: I know the rooms are nice !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Dune Hua Hin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Dune is a little out of town center but that's a good thing. It is a really small place - only 5 rooms showing on the web site. We had a Deluxe room (mid grade) and there is only one room that is higher class - the single suite with a pool! The hotel is very stylish and the room was spacious and comfortable with a private balcony w/couch. Bath tub huge and shower stall too. Nice audio features - iPod dock and stereo system with speakers in bathroom too. Staff was nice and private parking is provided. There is a small pool on 4th fl and you can walk across the small entry road to the owner's residence to use their large pool/garden too! Short walk to beach as well. The roof bar is very nice too. The only weakness was breakfast where we could not seem to get a soft egg (how hard is that?) no matter how we ordered. Strangely the scrambled eggs were soft! Staff is friendly and the hotel is truly boutique and very romantic and quiet, so great for a getaway. Not far from BKK too, and the Hua Hin town is not too drastically tourist-y, with a nice night market and even a little shopping mall.

Room Tip: only 5 to choose from! All very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Dune for 5 nights in late September and come back very enthusiastically. This is a really nice hotel with spacious rooms and large bathrooms which are very, very clean. The rooms have all modern amenities, a huge flat screen tv, DVD, iPod dock and complete sound system with spekares in room, bathroom and balcony. The bathroom is modern and sleek and the hotel offers lots of bathroom supplies. The mini bar is well filled and replenished every day and two bottles of complimentary water are provided each day.
The staff of the hotel is a real asset, not always fluent in English but ever so helpful and charming. We were especially fond of the little cook, who went out of her way to make an omelette on our last day, outside the menu, and the leading lady in the restaurant, who was witty and dressed up each day and enticed us to try new cocktails each evening.
We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times and were very pleased with that as well. We tried some very interesting Thai and fusion dishes and all were really tasty, nice and spicy and freshly prepared. The restaurant/bar is available for non-hotel guests too.
On the roof terrace there is a little pool, but it's too small and awkwardly located to spend a day tanning. Instead the pool next door can be used. That pool is big and clean and there are hardly any other guests.
I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating if it weren't for some small inconveniences like a hard to regulate shower temperature, a small leak in the sink, some occasional clogging in the shower after heavy use and the music in the restaurant which could sometimes be heard on the 2nd floor. The blow from the A/C could be a little less too according to my taste, but most people enjoy it the other way around I think. All in all I would love to go back here and can recommend it to any traveller who does not need to be right in the centre of Hua Hin but close enough to be able to enjoy all town facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I chose Dune because it claims that it is the design hotel, so that was pretty much what I set my expectation on. I stayed in deluxe room, room#2, and I can't find any bit of a design detail in the room! It's so simple and mainstream. So disappointed. Only the staircase and dinning/breakfast room that I found that there was a little of the effort in putting some uniqueness. But that's not enough for me though.
If you don't care much of a sea view, or even a walking-distant beach, private swimming pool, a wide range of breakfast, and most definitely, the design, you probaply consider Dune.

Room Tip: room #2 has spacy balcony, but the view is not enjoyable anyway.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank designlover222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The boutique hotel details of this place do not disappoint. I loved the design down to the decore, furniture, and room set up. The large patio with comfy daybed and view of the ocean makes for wonderful lazy afternoons reading or daydreaming. The bathroom is larger than the sleeping area of the room -- with double shower head that felt like Westin's "heavenly shower", huge tube, and separate dressing / vanity area. The rooftop of the hotel is a cute bar / restaurant area with more daybeds another floor up. Also, the air-con works well and there are a couple cute cafes within walking distance.

The execution of this zen design sometimes lacks (the tub fills up so slowly, it took 1/2 hour to fill it quarter of the way up), the liquid hand soap smells wonderful, but the dispenser doesn't work, there's a TV with DVD player and stereo, but 1/2 the channels don't work (I was able to get CNN, BBC, and 1 - 2 English movie channels, but most other cable channels of interest to me were not functioning yet).

The food was great. I only ate there for breakfast, but it was substantial and well done. Eggs of your choice, fresh fruit, they offered salad when I said I didn't eat meat, fresh juice, coffee / tea, and breads. They also serve a warm muffin that tastes like a soft chocolate chip cookie...yum!

Except for the manager, the staff doesn't really speak English, but they attended to all my needs right away with some simple hand gesturing. The staff was charming really in their smiles, quick service, and overall desire to make my stay pleasant.

Would stay here again if the price is lower than the big luxury resorts. If it's in a similar range, you might get better value at one of those.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "Deluxe"...it was huge, but the space was well used. Rooms 2 (Deluxe) and...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in June 2011. It’s a small but really nice place with a modern atmosphere. The rooms a furnished and equipped in a high standard. You have TV, Sat, DVD, iPhone Dock, surround sound. The restaurant on the 4th floor is small but very relaxing and the food is very good although a bit expensive (compared to standard thai food).

The pool on the rooftop is really small, but you can use the pool next to the owners house, which is great! The beach is nice but I doubt that anybody is swimming there as there are rocks in the sand.

I want to point out specially the excellent service! The staff was extremely helpful in organizing our stuff. They even picked us up when we had a flat tire and organized a new motorbike for us. Also they told us the address of the next laundry service as we didn’t want to do it in the hotel because it was too expensive. (50 Bath per Shirt… we paid 160 Bath for the laundry of a full week).

I can highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerhard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We spent one week in Dune in April 2011. Hotel is a small boutique hotel with only 5 rooms. We stayed at Dune Suite (room one). Room was beautiful and nicely decorated. And of course own private pool was a real gem! Although pool is very small but really refreshing. Private pool is only in Dune Suite.

The roof restaurant is very sentimental. We ate lunch twice there. Thai chicken with basil and rice. It was OK. They had happy hour for hotel guests from 5 to 7 pm (buy 1 get 2 coctails). At least at lunch and happy hour time the place was very quiet.

The breakfast was possible to have either in room or in restaurant. To be honest we expected a little bit more (for example fresh fruits), but after all it was okay.

Service was very good and the staff was kind and helpful. Their English was not very good, but it didn´t matter. Anyway our demands and questions were completed.

Hotel is situated 1,5 km away from city centre. It´s easy to walk or 100 baht by tuk tuk. It´s very close to beach (only 1 min walk, around 50m). You can ask hotel staff to carry sun beds to the beach for you. There is also a nice pool, which is available for the hotel guests, opposite to the hotel.

Conclusion: Very nice luxury living in a quiet area close to all amenities and restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mAri40520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#28 of 141 in Hua Hin
49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 141 in Hua Hin
455 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
#12 of 141 in Hua Hin
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 141 in Hua Hin
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Verona Hua Hin
The Verona Hua Hin
#45 of 141 in Hua Hin
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baan Bayan
Baan Bayan
#23 of 141 in Hua Hin
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Hua Hin

Address: 5/5 Naebkhehars, Hua Hin 771100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#26 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $74 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small exclusive beach boutique hotel features five modern stylish rooms with an utmost personalized service. You will be indulged with privacy and tranquility in the comfort of your fully-equipped room, while a lovely beach is only a stone throw away. The interior decoration is very minimalist in style but with a fine touch of details, a perfect combination of a modern concept of luxurious comfort lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dune Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Dune Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing