We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true beach resort”
Review of Sailom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sailom Hotel
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A true beach resort”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed with our two small kids who loved the two swimming pools the hotel had. The hotel was right on the beach and the view was excellent from the hotel restuarant where we enjoyed our meals listening to the waves, watching the sea. The food was great, the seafood among the best we have ever had. The rooms were clean, two big beds with all the necessary items like coffee maker, water heater, even a safe, gown and slippers. The tv had many channels including several foreign channels. We were pleasantly surprised to find Nepal television. The staff were nice and helpful, they even let us checkout late because our train was leaving only in the afternoon. The garden are was nicely kept. Loved everything about this place. The price was also right.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Not bad at all considering the price! It's right on the beach, and this part of the beach is probably the best in Hua Hin. Swimmable, wide and not crowded. Two swimming pools; one smaller more cozy with salt water close to the beach and one family oriented between the main building and the annex. Our rooms were in the annex behind the main building so no sea view from the room but still less than 50m to the beach through the lobby and restaurant. The rooms are spacious with plenty of room for an extra bed (and the ordinary beds are big). There is an area outside the room where you can enjoy something cold to drink. The hotel sits on a big piece of land so it’s very green and quiet. The beach front restaurant serves nice food (both Thai and Western), and service is good with a decent price tag. For other food options (not too many though) you can walk a couple of 100 meters along the beach. There is a 7eleven just opposite the hotel on the main road but not so much more within walking distance. It’s a VERY long walk along the beach or the main road to the night market and downtown Hua Hin (which has loads of good food options) so you will need to arrange for transportation. There are taxis waiting outside the hotel entrance on the main road so your only effort will be to negotiate a decent price for the ride.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My fiance and I have been coming to this little gem for 4 years in-a-row. It is right on the beach. You wake up to the sound of the waves & the smell of the bacon cooking! The staff is so friendly & accomodating. The rooms are clean and airy. The breakfast buffet is awesome! It has something for everyone from American to European to Thai favorites. I can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junebug0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

If you struggle with mobility then Thailand would probably not be at the top of your list anyway. As an A/K right leg amputee hotels can be a challenge. Not at the Sailom if you ask for rooms in the annexed buildings by the pool 501 through to 511 (this is from memory and so check). Well, very little to say other than..... Location great, food fantastic, beach fabulous and the staff can't be beaten. The hotel itself is a little older than some but is fabulously clean. The salt water pool is a treat for sore skin and the regular pool was normally empty and always clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-in-Makerfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I have now stayed at the Sailom with my girlfriend, twice over the last twelve months and we have really enjoyed our stays here. It is not the most modern hotel, but it has an oldy worldy charm about it. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and spaceous and it is right on the beach. Then there is the food, which is excellent, many sea food choices on the menu and everything that we have tried has been delicious, especially the Tom Yum Kung, if you like prawns this is a must try dish. Breakfast is very good too and we just like the general ambiance of the place, where we are treated very well. Location is good not too far out of Hua Hin to the markets, bars and restaurants. All in all we like this hotel and are due to go back on the 28th December 2010 for New Year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

What an amazing surprise! We had had a negative experience with a hotel in Thailand earlier and didn't expect much, so this hotel made our trip. The impeccable cleanliness of the room, all the necessary amenities and some unexpected small touches like bath robes and many other things would be appropriate for a hotel of a much higher price category. We were beyond thrilled and just want to thank the management and recommend Sailom hotel to any traveller without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My family booked this hotel after running out of choices as we were going during the peak tourist season and had to make last minute arrangements. We stayed in the hotel's one bedroom apartment, which cost in excess of US$110. I have to say the hotel was a big dissappointment for this kind of price. It is very old and not well maintained. Everything from the room, fixtures, fitting, furniture, pool and grounds looked very tired. No money had been spent on updating the place. The pool was small, simple and uninspiring. We had a seaview balcony room but a large part of the view was blocked by the roof of the restaurant downstairs. To the left and right were views of other hotels/building which were not very appealing. Breakfast was terrible and there was limited choice. There were no other amenities other than the small pool. This hotel is at most 3 stars.

The positives for the hotel are: (1) its location is right on the beach and its a good beach as well (2) it has a great restaurant that serves great Thai and Western cuisine for lunch and dinner, (3) the 1-bedroom flat was big though not very luxurious nor elegant.

I cannot recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday in Hua Hin.

Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rabbitloverHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#41 of 136 in Hua Hin
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#28 of 136 in Hua Hin
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Hua Hin
ibis Hua Hin
#22 of 136 in Hua Hin
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Pavilion Hua Hin
Royal Pavilion Hua Hin
#30 of 136 in Hua Hin
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailom Hotel

Property: Sailom Hotel
Address: 29 Phetkasem Hwy, Hua Hin, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sailom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailom Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing