We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big family group”
Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #25 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big family group”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had 3 rooms at this nice little hotel. We stayed a week in early July which is their off season. We had 4 children between 2 and 6 years old and 5 adults. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were big and clean and the combination of the beach and their swimming pools was fantastic. There is a big shopping centre with a major supermarket and lots of restaurants about 500 metres away but you do need to cross a busy street. We had a really nice stay and I would recommend Baan Bayan.
I don't really know what brings them out but if you happen to be there on a night the frogs put on their performance to rival a Metalica concert you can forget about sleep for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-Wagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    85
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a very good stay at this hotel which is right on a lovely stretch of the beach and a couple of minutes from a large mall. It's walkable into the centre of town but is in a very quiet spot. Our room was a good size, and again was really quiet. The staff at the hotel were delightful and breakfasts were excellent. There was a buffet at the weekend, but weekdays we just chose whatever we wanted from an extensive menu, which included western and Asian dishes. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinecoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here same week last year, this time had 4 nights from June 30th - July 4th, & got room 204 same as last year.The room now has a new sofa & table & a new tv unfortunatly the channels are just as bad.I had 2 issues last year one was the flies which are still there but not as bad, & the second was the key issue of only being allowed which meant i could not keep the air con on & come back to cool room. I overcame this issue by putting cardboard in the slot but management did not like this & removed it, which i find very petty when your paying 3,000 + baht a night.
On this visit the hotel was virtually empty but for a few couples, which is a shame as the staff really do make an effort & want to please & Koy is still my favourite staff member.
The food here is excellent & very good value & the chef should be commended its just a shame more people do not expirience that.
So overall an excellent hotel, good location, good staff , good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatszone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Baan Bayan quite a bit. It is situated far enough from the main road that it is quiet and a short walk to the beach which is right in front. The staff are friendly and there are a lot of nice touches: a very good breakfast spread, nice bar/restaurant by the pool, being only a ten minute walk to the main part of town (quicker if you hop on a pickup shuttle), having a large umbrella in the room which I made good use of, two complimentary bottles of water, television with cable and DVD player, good A/C, etc. Just outside by the road and to the right is a very good thai massage parlor, and a 7-11. Across the street is a mall and grocery store. There are often vendors on the street selling good food as well. I took the mini-van from Bangkok to Hua Hin for 180 baht (used to be 160 baht) and is the quickest way. People who took the train told me it was not such a pleasurable experience. Busses are an option as well but they are slower than the min-vans. I enjoyed both Hua Hin and Baan Bayan.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be good. Some face toward the ocean though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is my kind of place for a long weekend outside the hustle and noise of Bangkok. The Baan Bayan is beachfront hotel built around a restored early 1900's Thai house. The rest of the buildings are done in locale and period correct architecture and provides a feeling of Old Siam. The staff is cheerful and attentive without being underfoot. My room, on the courtyard, was large and well appointed. The pool bar/restaurant is the center of activity during the day and serves excellent Thai food at a reasonable price. The complimentary breakfast is everything you would want include Thai and Western dishes made to order. The beach in this part of Hua Hin is clean and inviting for those that like to swim in salt water and hang out without a large number of peddlers bothering you. This hotel is great for couples as well as families. Quiet and quaint. I will stay there again. Good value.

Room Tip: First floor courtyard or garden view are hard to beat. Seaview have great views at a higher price. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Baan Bayan has an exellent location: it's right on the beach, but at the same time within easy walking distance from Market Village, one of Hua Hin's biggest shopping malls. Our Courtyard room was great - airy, light and very clean, with high ceilings and wooden floors. The hotel's setting is beautiful, the staff is friendly and willing. Breakfasts were ok, nothing special though.

There was only one annoying thing - floods in the bathroom. Our room had a bathtube, not a walk-in shower, so to take a shower we had to stand in the tube. But the side boards of the tube are made in such a way, that they serve like channels, and lots of water runs through them right onto the floor. So the bathroom was always flooded and humid.

And one more thing I want to share. We needed to go back to Bangkok, and the hotel's fee for one way ride was 3800 Baht. But we noticed a couple of taxi stands near Market Village and decided to hire a local taxi driver. We agreed on everything in advance; the driver came to the hotel to pick us up, drove us to the airport in Bangkok and charged 1600 Baht only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Didn't really like Hua Hin a lot as it is humid and busy. However, once i checked into this hotel, it felt so relax. Nice manicured greenery around the hotel. The hotel is not that huge so didnt have to walk very far to the front desk, pool or beach. Provided free wifi in the rooms and also free shuttle to the night market. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Aircon works well, cooling us down from the heat & humidity pretty rapidly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fulatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.9 mi away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#32 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 218 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing