We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our house in hua hin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our house in hua hin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

we try ro go there each time we go to hua hin, family trip or just with husband.We love the old Thai house, service is vrey friendly and we fill like in our home...beach is ok, swiming pool a little bit too small. But we love tjis adress

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asian_Traveler_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
104
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel is amazing! First line to the sea with its private beach. There is a restaurant on the beach with candles at night next to hotels beach. The hotel area is so green and I loved the sounds at night. I like the wooden floor in the rooms, it's a good feeling when you coming back from outside with +30 to cool room and stepping to cool natural wooden floor. For those who likes active sports kitesurfing school just next to it. Location of the hotel is good as well, you can find massage salon (with better price than in hotel) and shopping mall just across the Petchakasem road. I will defenetly back to this magical hotel with my boyfriend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was a long ride from Bangkok to Kanchanaburi and finished at Hua Hin for the night. Baan Bayan is really nice, spacious, comfy and rusty. I had a relaxing day on the pool side and on the beach too. Just outside across the main road is a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Get the room with balcony preferable top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poseidon74SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed during off season, which probably explains why there was no functioning pool bar, why the beach in front of the hotel was not well kept, why the breakfast was mediocre at best, and why the service was not so great. It is a relaxing place , don't get me wrong. However, having stayed at other "boutique" hotels in Hua Hin and in nearby areas, the Baan Bayan is not a place I would revisit. Stayed for three nights and must admit that the place grew on us. At the end of our stay we were satisfied. BTW, there is a great local beach-side restaurant right next to the hotel that serves great local Thai food. Very popular with Thais, especially on weekends and holidays.

Room Tip: Either stay during high season or find a different hotel, such as the Baan Talay Dao.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived quite early at Baan Bayan, and our room was not ready yet. Despite not having checked-in yet, the manager and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome and offered us some towels for the beach and also giving us a round-tour of the hotel. A few hours later when we got our room, we immediately fell in love with it. We had a room with a garden view, and while perhaps the view was not the best, the room itself was really nice - clean and spacious, with a really nice bathroom.

We did try the swimming pool and while it was quite nice, we felt that maybe the location wasn't optimal (pretty much right in front of the restaurant). In the lobby area, the hotel provided books in various languages and also some board games, which we found enjoyable (good old Monopoly). Something that many other has mentioned in their reviews is how friendly the manager is and we definitely would have to agree with this - also, the service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyChoky185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our third stay at Baan Bayan and really can't fault it, the service remains excellent, even some of the same staff there which was nice to see. We stayed in a Garden Room, very spacious with large bathroom, plenty of storage, room safe & fridge. Large windows so very light and airy with good air con although we tried not to use this more than needed as it makes it easier to get used to the heat outside.

We love it here because it is not too big and the original area of the building is 100 years old with a lovely family history. The beach is quiet as there are only a few resorts in this area, plenty of places to eat nearby or a short distance to the night market. The resort is set well back from the road therefore very peaceful, however there is a great modern shopping centre just a short walk away if needed.

This is certainly our favourite holiday spot and would certainly recommend for a relaxed beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embax92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Close to the centre, but very quit. The beach is so nice, not busy.
The rooms are big. We would like to come back any time.
This is the place to be, if you do not like the big hotels.
Nearby a shopping mall, you can take the hotelbus to the night market, or you can stay in the hotel, it is very peacefull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniqued397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.9 mi away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#34 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 214 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing