We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite Place”
Review of Long Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Inn
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I'm still finding it hard to articulate exactly what it is about the Long Beach Inn that has me searching flights for next years vacation. It's not on the beach, its a lovely flower filled 3 minute stroll away. It's not a big sprawling resort, it's an intimate inn with 10 or so immaculately kept rooms. Arriving there you feel as if you've been expected and they're just so glad you came, and you realize that makes two of you...that's the feeling. The reality is this...the rooms are clean, comfortable and by any standard large. The food is hard to beat even for Thailand. Breakfast was substantial and the dinner menu takes a few days to read. The neighborhood is well kept, quiet and friendly, and I expect there's a lot more of it that needs to be discovered. We'll come back again and again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am currently staying here and I am quite satisfied with the hotel, the staff and the food. I am in room10 with a balcony looking towards the mountains and a good place to view sunset. The queen size bed is western quality as are the bed linens and the luxuriously soft bath towels (you can tell I have been in SE Asia for almost 2 months when I get excited by good quality towels and sheets). Bram is a welcoming host, checking in with guests each day to make sure everything is okay. the majority of guests are couples from Europe and from what I can gather a lot of guests are repeat visitors. the hotel is about a five minute walk to the beach (which is probably 2km long and virtually deserted). and if you are feeling particularly lazy (like me today) there is a nice pool with an integrated jacuzzi. All in all, if you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is a good bet.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is the best room at Long Beach Inn. We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed the most tender filet mignon, good wine, and the staff is super friendly. The owners go out of their way to ensure a carefree vacation. The Dutch owners booked trips for us to the nearby National Forest and boat rides to Monkey Island. If you are looking for a boutique hotel with a pool and beach access, this is a great place. There is free wifi and bicycles. I highly recommend Long Beach Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms 6,7,& 8 are best if you do not need the Jacuzzi suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylNesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We love Thailand, have been in Bangkok several times, and in Chiang Mai once. Now we were looking for a beach holiday, but wanted to stay away from Phuket and Krabi because we feared that it would be a tourist trap. A colleague advised us to go to Hua Hin. Tripadvisor is our guide nowadays, and this is how we found Long Beach Inn. It turned out to be 25 km south of Hua Hin, in a small conglomerate of resorts and hotels, relatively luxurious private homes, and dilapidated wooden homes of local people. You don't find shops selling the "tourist stuff", nor attractions for kids, other than a nice beach and a beautiful nature in the Sam Roi Yod national park. We heard only bird songs and no cars or motorbikes in the early morning. Long Beach Inn has 9 or 10 rooms, around a nice garden with a pool and jacuzzi. Meals are served in the garden, breakfast is not "buffet style" but you order what you like from Thai style rice soup, rice with omelet, to western style toast with omelet, fruit salad, or muesli with milk, or American style pancakes and waffles.The lunch and dinner menu has a good choice of oriental and western food. I don't care for pizza, french fries, hamburger, goulash or spaghetti in Thailand, but others may do. The Thai food was delicious, but for variety we had half our dinners in other restaurants. During our stay there were guests from the USA, Canada, England, France, Russia (?), The Netherlands. We had a spacious executive room with king bed and a balcony "without a view" which in fact we didn't use much, but it offers more privacy than a terrace in the garden. I uploaded pictures to show this. The honeymoon suite with a jacuzzi was the other room on the second floor, with a balcony overlooking the garden. All other rooms are ground level. The bed was firm, but we slept well, the bathroom had a bath/shower combination, (no rainforest shower or other fancy stuff), there was a minibar and daily complimentary water (not only the first night). The hotel website has more detailed information. We didn't find a safe, though we didn't need one. It takes more than 3 hours by car from Suvarnabhumi, and the hotel can arrange this transport (the local driver knows how to find the aiport, a regular taxi could have a problem finding the hotel...) for 3000 Baht (67 euro, 92 USD). One of the things we liked most is the free use of bicycles, and we used them to visit the Sam Roi Yot national park, and other places. The wifi had problems, and except for the first few days I couldn't use my Android phone except for telephone and text messages. Strangely enough my wife could use hers, as well as her Apple.
We have seen more resorts (from the outside, swimming pool, garden etc) in the neighbourhood, but will definitely come back here when we return to visit sites we didn't go to this time.

Room Tip: we had room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We, two couples, stayed 2 nights at the Long Beach Inn.

It is a small boutique inn or guest house run by a Dutchman and his son. The Inn is beautifully decorated with Satellite TV, free Wifi, and free bicycles to ride. The owners are helpful and knowledgeable when they are available, but sadly they have spread themselves a little too thin.

One of our rooms was fine though a bit noisy because it is attached to the Inns living quarters.

The other (room 5) had these problems: no windows and only a patio-door covered by a sagging curtain, a beautiful bathroom with a door that didn't close and a broken handle, two sinks of which only one worked. A single sheet for a bed covering, no hangers in the closet, and finally an air conditioning unit that leaked and was finally repaired four hours after our arrival.

The swimming pool is small and does not have enough lounge chairs (this is because some of the other guests "reserved" a chair by leaving their towels on it) or beach towels.

Long Beach itself is about a 200 meter walk away and the part near the Inn is a little below average for a Thai beach.

I think the owners of the Inn do their best to make things work, but are as I said above spread too thin and as a result the Inn doesn't reach its true potential.

My rating for the friendliness of the place is very good, but room 5 is poor. In my opinion there are better alternatives in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Long Beach Inn for 6 nights in January 2014 - the hotel is situated 45mins drive south of Hua Hin. The hotel has a small intimate feel and throughout our stay our every need was met by the friendly dedicated staff who were constantly on hand to provide food and drinks. The owners Willem and Bram ensured we had a fantastic time - no request was too much trouble and they offered great advice about day trips and local attractions. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the beach (and a short drive from the Sam roi yot national park) and is sheltered from the afternoon sea breeze. The rooms are very comfortable with a wide selection of English speaking satellite TV channels. The hotel has fast/free 24/7 internet wifi access. The hotel also has a selection of bicycles for exploring the local area and scooters which can be hired. Our kids loved the pool and often had it all to themselves. The hotel food was superb with a mix of Thai and Western choices. We we able to order food throughout the day and enjoyed eating at various spots around the pool. There are lots of day excursions available depending upon your energy and thirst for adventure - day trips can be arranged by the hotel staff. We enjoyed visiting the Phraya Nakhom Cave and managed to see the elusive Dusky Langur Monkeys. The hotel has courtesy golf clubs and is situated a short drive from the cluster of quality local golf courses.In summary we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also appreciated the hotel organising our transfers from Bangkok Airport - the vehicle was spacious and comfortable and good value at 3200B for a family of 4. Drive time around 3 .5 hours.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with a balcony- lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHammies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked to stay 4 nights at this accommodation. The room we stayed in was largish and clean (could have done with a few more chairs, though, as places to throw your clothes were at a premium.). The room has satellite TV (though we never used it) and a large bathroom.

Long Beach Inn is about 200 m from the beach and is situated in a quiet spot. The Inn is run by Bram, who can be found very often chatting to guests and serving breakfast. The place is charming and (when we were there) was populated by what looked like retirees and empty nesters (not a child in sight).

Breakfast is complementary and was a good to start the day. Bram will organise trips (say to the Marshlands, which are about 20 minutes away by car – 400 Baht return, or Hua Hin, which is about 45 minutes away – 700 Baht one way). There are many small places along the road that is parallel to the beach where you could likely find cheaper travel options.

Along the beach road there are quite a few eating places. Some offer ‘European style’ Thai food (for example the Dolphin Bay resort), but I am pleased to say that there are more authentic options available. For example, if you stay at Long Beach Inn, walk towards the beach then turn left on to the beach road. Walk about 500 metres and you’ll reach the Thai Thai road side restaurant. Go for the Morning Glory and the fried noodles with pork – excellent (and cheap!)

When we were there it was only Bram that spoke English, so if you have an Ipad (or a pc) , set it up to do English to Thai translation – we found that worked quite well.

The sea is ideal for swimming (warm, shallow with no surprising currents). We borrowed push-bikes and went up and down the beach road (probably about 4 km end to end). One word of warning – many people are tempted to hire or borrow motor bikes. We saw at least 4 people, probably not used to motor bikes, who were carrying injuries (bruised legs and arms, for example) from falling off their bikes.

All in all, if you want a place for quiet contemplation after the rigours of Bangkok, then this could be for you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hua Hin
22.2 mi away
Thipurai Beach Hotel & Thipurai Beach Hotel Annex
18.9 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
20.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Prinz Garden Villa
Prinz Garden Villa
#23 of 144 in Hua Hin
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay Resort
Dolphin Bay Resort
#1 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
407 reviews
22.6 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#115 of 144 in Hua Hin
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Inn

Address: 223/4 Moo 4 | Sam Roi Yot National Park, Hua Hin 77120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range: $49 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is nestled between the majestic mountains of Kao Sam Roi Yot National Park and the unspoiled beach of Phu Noi (only 150 metres away). The tastefully decorated rooms are equipped with air conditioning and ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV and en suite bathroom. The swimming pool with Jacuzzi is set in tropical gardens. Our restaurant provides an excellent a la carte breakfast, and is well known for home made Italian dishes. A golf course is available within walking distance. There are a great variety of outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing