We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star rates, 3 star product and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star rates, 3 star product and service.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family have been visiting and staying at Anantasila since we met in Hua Hin 20 years ago and have never been disappointed.......until now.

Last week we stayed at their rooftop penthouse suite, and paid 200 dollars a night, which is fine I guess for the space and the spectacular sea and beach views, however, our privacy and our vacation was disturbed by leering painters and other building workers who saw my wife naked in the apartment shower, which is located on the apartment terrace, and were caught by me several times looking directly into our apartment while my family was inside, which was very disturbing for everyone.

My young son also slipped on a plastic sheet covering the stairs down to the elevator which had been laid by the painters in the morning, and as a result suffered severe bruising to his back and a great deal of pain.

I also found the toweling and bed linen provided for 200 dollars a night of poor quality and insufficient quantity, same for the tiny little toiletries.

We were glad to see that the apartment sofa and chair had been recovered since our last visit, but unfortunately both were still to uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time, which meant we often had to lay on the floor when watching TV, or add several pillows.

The breakfast buffet was of a fairly high standard, (despite the miniature versions of almost everything) however, when we entered the restaurant we were stopped at the door by a rather unfriendly waiter who said "room numbers" without a Sawasdee, or good morning, or welcome to breakfast, which upset me as a hotelier and as a guest.

We only ate dinner once at their restaurant as the food was so bad, with the rubbery lasagna burnt and blackened, and the so called Wiener Schnitzel deep fried (instead of pan fried) to the texture of old shoe leather.

Five days after our return to Bangkok we are all seeing the large sores on our legs and bodies reduce in size and severity, all of which were caused by the local sand fleas and sand flies, which are prevalent on this particular beach for some reason, perhaps attracted by the open sewage and all the horse manure littering the beach.

We had all applied insect repellant as usual, but this time were attacked worse than ever, which caused everyone great distress, especially me as I have many open wounds on my head and legs which required hospital treatment.

Worst of all perhaps was the fact that the wireless internet was the worst I have encountered in decades of travel, (not available for 50% of the day, and when it was, it was to weak to download even small files) same goes for ipad, no signal, which meant my wife and I were separated from our businesses, and my son was none to pleased either being cut off from friends and the outside world.

As a hotelier, I guess I can forgive and forget the small stuff, such as all that mentioned above, if an apology is forthcoming, and the absence of any kind of welcome letter or fruit basket for such regular guests, even if I did pay 1000 US dollars for a less than satisfactory 5 nights stay, but I am afraid we cannot return unless the wireless internet bandwidth is brought up to an internationally accepted standard, such as that offered by the nearby and far superior InterContinental Resort, the fabulous Hilton, the fantastic Centara Grand, and the wonderful old Colonial Dusit Thani, all of whom charge less than 200 dollars a night for a full on 5 stars product and service.

Goodbye Anantasila we will always remember you, but we will never return

Gordon James Gorman. General Manager. Avari International Hotels, and Bangkok Resident.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvariTowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantasila, Manager at Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr Gordon,



We were saddened to read your unfavorable review, especially, as you point out, you are a longtime guest. The behavior of the contract painters was unforgivable, especially since they have orders to avoid working around rooms that were occupied by guests. We did not learn of this serious breach of privacy until after checkout and tried to partially make up for it by offering a complimentary future room night and our sincere apologies. Let me personally apologize once more.



Regarding the poor internet reception, at the moment we can only guarantee reliable WiFi in our public areas, not in all of our rooms. This is, in part, because of our distance from the nearest telephone exchange. We try to make this clear on our website and in our confirmation letters. Meantime, we are trying to obtain fibre optics connections to the hotel which should allow us to extend our free internet access to the entire hotel. Until then, some guests will be obliged to connect in the Lobby, Restaurant, Beach Bar or Beach areas. We hope to end this inconvenience within the next few months.



With due respect, we believe it is unfair to state that the beach is ‘littered with horse manure” and near open sewage. There are only four horses working on a beach that is over 6 km long. Their owners are usually, perhaps not always, very assiduous about cleaning up after accidents. Their license to operate depends on it. There is no open sewer anywhere along the beach that I know of. The authorities would not permit it and few, if any, guests would tolerate it.



With respect to the $200 per night tariff you mentioned, our records indicate you were paying a special rate of $152 per night and the fee for your son was waived. This was for a seafront Penthouse unit which comprises a bedroom, living room, cooking facilities and a terrace of 80 square meters directly overlooking the sea. Comparing us to the big hotel chains is flattering but not something we would do. We are a family run local enterprise which tries its best to provide our guests with genuinely friendly and personalized service. We are truly sorry we let you down on your latest visit and would welcome the opportunity to make amends, should you decide to give us another chance.

Bruce Khalili

General Manager
Anantasila Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    139
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
274
149
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been here now for a week and we have to say we have only good things to voice! Having stayed at Hua Hin before in the more established grand hotels, the Anantasila is better than them all.

Being a small hotel the staff soon get to know you and their service is excellent. As for the location, it's a film set! Right on the beach with the best view for a meal you could hope for!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyndcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantasila, Manager at Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for such a fantastic review. It is always our greatest pleasure to learn that our guests had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the staff and hotel. Our team is consistently focused on delivering a quality service to our guests. Your comments definitely inspire us all to keep working hard.

We are all looking forward to your next visit. You are most welcome to contact me directly for your all your reservations.

Bruce Khalili

General Manager
Anantasila Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

With excellent service and a great location, this hotel provides a secluded retreat in the south of Hua Hin, away from the busy town center.

Everything you need is available - beautiful swimming pool facing the sea, good food (we stuck to the superb Thai cuisine but Western food available too) and a personal touch to the service, with plenty of smiles!

The quiet beach is perfect and also gives the chance to visit some lovely nearby restaurants and bars if you feel you need to change the scenery, and of course the town centre is easily reached by taxi if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderbaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathumtani Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Anantasila is in Prachuap Khiri Khan province, West of Thailand. So there are many hotel around here. My family choose this hotel because it is a casual of that day because Hun Hin gets crowded at that long weekend and then we went into this hotel we also think similar to Anantasila. This is a not large hotel, However it’s not at many hotel that have a nice room going side by side with the gorgeous location, next to the beach. First time which I went into there, they have very warm welcome for us. In the morning the hotel restaurant have many types of breakfast to pick on and they have a comfortable service for their costumers so that make me happy too much. There is a swimming pool in the middle of a building which is enclose the swimming pool, So I think it isn’t more clean yet but not bad. ^^

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasathanee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but I ate dinner there tonight.
The walk to the restaurant was down a path lined by palms draped with luscious pink, purple and gold orchids. By the time we got the seating near the sea, we were already disposed to like the place.
The tables were at the edge of the beach so we could hear, see and smell the waves. The table cloths were immaculate and real candles burned in the hurricane lamps. We shared a plate of delicious bruschetta to start, one friend then had pad thai, I had vegetarian green curry and rice and a third had crumbed prawns and rice. All delicious. Good service and reasonable prices. They didn't try to make us leave though we sat much longer than other guests. A very enjoyable evening,

Room Tip: I didn't stay here: I ate here and you have no place to indicate the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I chose Anantasila because it looked more personal than some of the resort hotels in Hua Hin and the staff certainly offered a friendly and welcoming atmosphere to the hotel. It was bigger than I imagined, but our room overlooking the pool was large and comfortable and, possibly because we were there in the middle of the week and at low season, the pool area and beach sunbeds were quiet.

Anantasila obviously has a creative and passionate chef because the food was excellent and a great mix of Thai and international cuisine.

The location could be either an advantage or disadvantage. If you are looking for a hotel where you can chill, spend days by the pool or at the beach and eat in their excellent restaurant, then it is perfect. If, however you want to experience the delights (?) of downtown Hua Hin, then its a bit remote. They have a free tuk tuk service which only operates in the day and makes only two, scheduled trips into Hua Hin. The local baht bus service is a 10 min walk from the hotel and then takes another 15 mins (if you get a bus that is just about to leave - add up to 10mins if you have to wait) into town and these stop at 9pm, so getting back to the Hotel is a 200 baht tuk tuk taxi ride!

There are restaurants in the area between the hotel and the bus station, but in low season many were closed / quiet and the ones near the sewage outlet didn't bear thinking about!

Overall, there was a lot to like with the hotel and maybe, after all the development in the area has been established, it may have better transport options between it and the centre of Hua Hin.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool. There are rooms that are on the ground floor and open straight out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladymayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First, I have to say that Hua Hin is not my favourite beach destination in Thailand. This is not the place where you can find the white sand and pristine water that everybody dreams of when traveling to a tropical country. But Hua Hin is among the best place to spend a long WE for expat families living in Bangkok. That is the problem because Hua Hin gets overcrowded on these long WE and it doesn't change much from Bangkok a the end... Then, there are some lovely and quiet hotels such as Anantasila resort located on the South Takiap Beach, the beach after the little rocky "cape" (Takiap) at the southern end of Hua Hin's main beach. I would recommand it for families with young (<10 y. old) children particularly.
+ about this hotel: the food, good (european chief) and not really expensive for a resort; size of the pool (20x10m + small pool for very young kids)
- about this hotel: room rate is a bit high for the standard of the room (clean, spacious but a bit old fashioned).

Room Tip: Pool view rooms at the 3rd floor are the best deal for families with 2-3 young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.5 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,285 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 137 in Hua Hin
2,070 reviews
3.2 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#10 of 137 in Hua Hin
762 reviews
1.4 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin

Property: Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Address: 33/17 Soi Mooban Huadon | Petchkasem Road, Nongkae, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantasila By The Sea, Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantasila Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing