We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel/resort close to town centre”
Review of Putahracsa Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel/resort close to town centre”
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was our 2nd time to Hua Hin (previously stayed 4 years ago) and we still love this part of Thaialnd. It was however, our first stay at Putahracsa (we previously stayed at the Hilton) and was an excellent find. Although not directly in the town centre, it was only a 10 min walk or if you were feeling lazy, it was a free ride on the hotel tuk tuk.

The hotel is split in two (across the road from each other) and it did feel like 2 seperate hotels....with the ocean side feeling a litte more exclusive.

We stayed in a La Canna Pool Villa and would personally say we had the best room in the house! It was private, spacious, well appointed and with its own pool of a great size with double sunbeds which were really comfy! It had an IPOD dock with speakers both inside and out, huge comfy bed and they kept us well supplied with bottled water throughout the day. The beachfront villa is exactly the same however everyone can see into it so wouldn't pay the premium price.

The staff at this hotel can not do enough for you and there is plenty of them on hand.

Breakfast is in the other half of the hotel which was fine...plenty of fruit, cereal, breads and the standard egg options. There is also a restaurant on the oceanside that served lunch and dinner, which overlooked the sea. Food whilst being a litte more expensive than the town centre, was excellent and was in a lovely setting.

All in all, this hotel offers the privacy and spa style retreat that many of the bigger resorts offer but are much further out of town. At least with Putahracsa you get the best of both worlds, being able to choice whether you want to eat at the hotel or venture out for a short stroll into town.

If you choose this hotel, I'm sure you will.have a fantastic stay, we certainly did!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    297
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
224
658
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Our two nights at the Putahracsa beach front pool villa was a mixed feelings. This hotel built in a pretty limited property so they get away with this nicely with excellent architect design.

- Room design, bath room area is very big, equally to the bed room section. Jacuzzi by the window overlooking the pool (it pumped out oily liquid and some hair! in the first push, then went dead on the second night, didn't bother to ask for repair). Overall decent design and have all goodies (and beyond, ie. I-Pod player with Bose lifestyle broadcasting around the room & pool) , ammonia fridge in room (going green they said) but not very good in doing the job of cooling stuff. Else they are generous with complimentary drinking water, Illy espresso catridges and fruits.

- Bed, very comfortable, choices of different pillow type can be made prior check-in.

- In-villa Pool, excellent, clean and large enough to do a real swim and good for a mini water polo. Couch/bed on pooside also comfortable, a nice laid back area especially beach front so you can have a nice ocean view. This is our favourite hideout area.

- Location- being so close (walking distance) to Hua Hin busy central and yet quite enough to relax, a good combination.

- Food, reasonable price on Oceanside Restaurant and decent quality. For compliment ABF we have to cross the road to the main complex's coffee shop, a very hip/boutique room with buffet island situated in the center and all seats circled around. Very odd design and not very comfortable with zero privacy though hip!! We ordered breakfast in bed next day and it's recommended.

Breakfast selection is very very very standard and NOT tasty.

- Staff, this is the very difficult aspect. Seem they are running limited staff so one staff can be receptionist, (so-called) butler, bell boys/girls and restaurant attendants. Normally they are friendly and warmed. We had a very cold arrival reception with zero hospitality so first impression lasted unfortunately.

- Internet, all rooms have powerful wifi coverage and it's free for our case.

To be fair this is a very good resort, location and room design combination worked out great. Recommend to get the beach side than the main wing on another side of the road. Lunch in is nice but should try dinner elsewhere. They are pricey and was once over the top but these days everything is negotiable and they are now pretty compeititive. But that could also mean reduction in amount of staff and therefore, if you are unlucky enough like us, one bad moment ruined an otherwise perfect weekend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bom2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leistershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We are lucky that we now enjoy quite frequent holiday travel, and try to get to Thailand at least once a year. We first visited Thailand 25 years ago, and love the country. Can we also say that we normally do not write reviews or comment to sites like TA. But this hotel is quite simply one of the best discoveries that we have made for a long time. The staff are all outstanding, always helpful, enthusiastic, and genuinely pleased to do everything they can to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
The Thai expression describing hotels in this style is 'Hip' (not quite sure what that means), but we would say it is 'A Cool, Designer, Boutique Resort Hotel'. The design is very clever, and well considered, and the reality every bit as good as the hotels own web site, which makes a nice change -- take a look. I expect the property has been featured in design journals and architectural design publications; it's just that sort of special place. The design detail, like the twin sun shaded garden beds, the generous terraces and balconies to the rooms with lounging platform and pillows, the hidden room lighting, in room coffee tea and ice, the stylish furnishings throughout, and the well chosen library, make this resort just that little bit special.
We stayed for two weeks in late March in a standard SilkSand room which was spotlessly clean and very well serviced, and 'minimalist cool' in design, and we readily forgive the the triumph of design over functionality in the layout of the bathroom. It was so easy to just become laid back, chilled, and perhaps even just a little cool ourselves... it all just feels so well done.
There was always space to relax comfortably and quietly in the gardens close to one of the pools, which were never crowded. The beach side pool always managed to catch the breeze, and there was also always some shade from the sun.
The breakfast was well chosen and presented, and the Oceanside dining area was a pleasure to eat in, and was surprisingly affordable. The special offers in the spa were a nice surprise, and ensured that they were always busy. And everywhere the staff were helpful, enthusiastic, professional, and smiling.
The location is a short way out of the bustle of Hua Hin centre, which is not really a problem at all, and the free Tuc-Tuc ride to town was always a happy experience, with never more than a five minute wait, since that was how long the round trip to town took...took...took. And the stroll back was a pleasure at the end of an evening in town.
We think this well managed, cleverly designed, and very well staffed hotel is a real find. It offers better value than the big chain hotels where we have stayed in the past in Thailand, and you really do feel like a valued guest, and an individual, rather than just one of the crowd. We would certainly choose Putahracsa again for a stay in Hua Hin.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandSueTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Myself and my Husband went to this boutique hotel in March 2009, we usually stay at the marriott. I enjoyed this place so much we will not be going back to the marriott. It was very relaxing, we stayed in an oceanside villa with a plungepool and jacuzzi, very shady up at the villa shame our pool did not get much sun. The place was very quiet despite being peak season we had the pool area and sunbeds to ourselves most days until 10am, in my opinion this place is a little gem and the staff are very friendly and could not do enough for us. The only downside for me was the music that was being piped out from speakers in the communal areas by the villas which got slightly annoying, other than that a fabulous time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kermit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK traveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Helen and I usually never write about our trips, but this particular hotel/resort needed to be highlighted. We had a great time at Putharasca and enjoyed our vacation. Our friends were delighted of the location, the design and the friendly service - Well DONE!

We can recommend this place to all of the people who wish a pleasant stay in a very casual yet professional atmosphere. The staff are simply great and the entire property well-managed. The details in this resort are stunning and the friendliness of everyone makes you wish you could stay longer.It's also the first hotel I actually see the manager present syaing hello to all his guests.

My friends and I are planning our next stay in late November 2009.

Vincent.S

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2009

A luxurious and meticulously presented boutique resort within walking distance to some of Hua Hin's busiest streets but far away enough for a quiet getaway. We stayed at the Sansky villa and absolutely fell in love with the place. I don't like boutique hotels that are too small and cramped so this was just what we were looking for. The villas have their own plunge pool, separate from the Silksand rooms and each villa comes with a huge sun bed and roomy upstairs terrace with comfy daybed sofa.

I found the inside of the Sansky villa to be much nicer and more spacious than the website picture makes out. Whitewashed walls, white furniture and fittings combined with solid wooden floors, doors and accents give the room a very natural, clean feel. The bed was nice and soft. I found the pillows a bit wimpy, I prefer firm pillows, but my husband loved them. The bathroom is huge and I loved how the bathing area (tub, rain shower), hand basin/vanity and toilet are all separate. The only annoying thing is when one person is running a bath you can't shower because the water pressure goes down so there's no hot water.

Coffee and tea making facilities adequate, didn't touch the minibar - daylight robbery prices. There are plenty of towels and shampoo, bath gel, lotion are refilled twice a day. I love that they also clean out your room twice a day!

We had a lot of seafood takeaway from the local market and they would bring us plates, cutlery, glasses for our own wine and then clean up for us afterward. The staff will even peel and cut up any fruits you buy from the market beautifully and bring it to your room complete with plates and forks! Turn down service is fantastic, they will plug in the bedside mosquito repellent and light some aromatherapy oils for you.

Spa facilities are first class and beautifully decorated. There was a happy hour promotion - buy one, get one free - so I happily booked a session for myself and my husband. We did the oil massage and body scrub, the oils have the most heavenly smell. I also took the manicure/pedicure package and my nails were very well done. If you have a chip or a smudge you can even go back and they will redo them for you!

The best part must be the staff, they are amazing and we ended up being spoiled silly by the end of our stay. They were helpful, attentive, courteous and made us feel like stars.

The beach is wide enough for a stroll or jog in the evenings and plenty of sea shells and crabs to chase after. I didn't find the sea as dirty as I thought it would be. The water was clear enough for me to see my toes when I was wading knee high so much better than Pattaya. Too windy to swim in the evenings although a few hardy souls were braving the surf.

The only thing preventing me from giving this resort 5 stars is the food. Breakfast was set up beautifully but lacking in taste and quality. Same menu every morning gets boring when you're staying for a longer period. The fried rice was hard and bland, the salad selection poor, rubbery sausages, bread was ok. Overall not half as good as the Hideaway, a 3 star resort! Despite our misgivings over breakfast we decided to take a chance and try the Christmas menu - big mistake! The prawns salad consisted of one prawn, sliced in two. My sea bass was hard, dry, overcooked and tasteless. The mashed potato it was served on was the only redeeming feature. Christmas log dessert was like eating sponge smothered in artificially colored cream. Yuck.

  • Liked — Service and resort setting.
  • Disliked — Food - poor quality and taste.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikky-Dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We have just returned from 18 nights at the Putahracsa Hua Hin. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such wonderful holiday before.

The hotel has only 59 rooms, which allowed u to have a very quiet and peaceful holiday. the rooms are spacious, well equiped,

we enjoyed the 5-star service and B&B style personal touch which is what you cant get from big chain hotels.

Excellent.

  • Liked — the privacy
  • Disliked — wine list
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mmooll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.7 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#4 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
3.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putahracsa Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putahracsa Hua Hin

Property: Putahracsa Hua Hin
Address: 22 / 65 Nahb Kaehat Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Putahracsa Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putahracsa Hua Hin allows guests to combine the charms of small town leisure together with a beach hideaway. Situated in the residential section of Hua Hin, Putahracsa is designed to feel like a beach residence. All rooms and villas reflect the owners' personal touch, incorporating Hua Hin's tradition and blending it with contemporary design. Each detail is crafted by interior designer, Viboon Techakalayatum, owner of Design Scene Co., Ltd. The resort is managed by The Unique Collection of Hotels & Resorts, whose team ensures that guests receive the highest level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Putahracsa Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putahracsa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Putahracsa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing