We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What could be easily good, turns into a big disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Putahracsa Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What could be easily good, turns into a big disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We Arrived the Putahracsa hotel from bangkok, after a 3 hour drive. We arrived early which meant out room was not ready (which we expected). The staff on arrival were not very helpful, and told us out room would be ready at 3pm (it also didn't help how the staff speak very little English, very hard to communicate properly).

My husband and I decided to go take a massage in the hotel while we were waiting. The massage wasn't fantastic, probably one of the worst we have had and we travel different hotels a lot.

Breakfast was pretty good, good service and a selection of different foods.

Once we eventually got our room...By the way we booked a ocean bed villa... We were not happy as there was no view of a ocean, instead a great big tree directly blocking our view and the sun... Shade all the time in the room and on the terrace, making it very depressing. We asked the guy on the front desk to move us, this was met with a response as there are no rooms available and we will have to pay for a upgraded room. After 30 minutes of telling him we will not be staying in that room,we would rather leave and go to another hotel, he eventually told us there was now a room free and we could move into the same priced one. We moved and it was much better, it looked onto part of the ocean but also a roof... Not impressed but better than the tree room.

The room was also not clean, on the surface its clean but when you start looking its old and not kept well. The light shades fell down in the night and the dust that covered them was disgusting. Under the sofa there was white chalk. I called the cleaner to come and clean it and she never came.

There is also a Jacuzzi in out bedroom, but its is so dangerous, no steps again, so easy to slip. The flush on the toilet wasn't working but we called management and they fixed it. Also around the sink there was mould growing.

Pool is extremely dangerous, the tiles are very snap, there is no grouting around the tiles. There are no steps to get into the pool, you have to jump (very dangerous for children)
The glass table around the pool are not secured, it is made of glass that easily shatters.

We had lunch at the hotel and this was excellent (the food is outstanding), the restaurant also looks onto the beach. The bar next to the pool is non existent, its not comfortable to sit at, which means there is never a vibe around the pool area.

We got back to our room 4th day into the trip at 4pm and our room still hadn't been cleaned. We called them to come and clean it and was told that we have to tell reception when were leaving the hotel so they can come clean it. I have never been to a hotel where you have to tell the hotel when you leave a room in a morning. They eventually showed up at 4:30pm. My husband then called the manager to complain and said we were leaving and moving to a different hotel.

The hotel manager was very nice and really tried to help us, but we really didn't want to stay any longer.

Its defiantly not a 5tar hotel and this was confirmed when we moved to the Centara hotel and had 5 star service as soon as we arrived.

The hotel needs renovation, and a big update. No doubt that Chris the new manager will improve all in this hotel.

P.s a big thanks to Nunu (front desk) who was very helpful and spoke good english.

Room Tip: There is one room looking directly onto the sea.. choose that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Zyna21,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to take the time to share with others your experience with us as well with me when we met at the resort.
I took a good note of your constructive observations and shared them with the team as well concerned persons. Actions has been already taken without delays to make sure such situation does not happens anymore in the future; we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet some of your expectations and to keep you with us as originally.
I would like once again apologize to you for these inconveniences.
All of us would like to have another opportunity to welcome you back at Putahracsa Hua Hin to show you and to your husband our improvements in the mentioned matters,
Staying at your entire disposition for any personal assistance you may need.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    288
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
218
643
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We spend 5 days with my frends playing golf, eating good and relaxing.
Hotel is a bit "old" but still quite nice.
Situation is good, only few minutes from city by tuktuk.
Few tips: there is a huge difference is your room near the sea or opposite side of the road. Take seaside.
Eat in hotel and try their tuna Tataki and Tuna Steak, real good quality and taste!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Ilantrip,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to share with others your experience with us.
Overall, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed it especially our culinary experience and do recommend one of the signature dish of our Executive Chef Top.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to your home away from home in Hua Hin.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

First of all the good things, which are many. Very well maintained small resort with very nice rooms, well kept grounds and a very good location. It's slightly less than a kilometer from The Hilton which is where the centre of Hua Hin town revolves around. It's a 20-25 minute walk or 50 to 100 THB (100 THB = 3,40 USD) by Tutuk depending on how good your bargaining skills are and how keen the driver is for a fare. The hotel provides a shuttle into town but not the other way around. We got a upgrade from Sansky Suite to OceanBed Villa which is always a good way to start our stay. I suspect we got the upgrade because we booked directly with the hotel instead of through agents? (not sure if it's true) Breakfast is good - good quality and spread. On holidays and weekends, you can have ala carte breakfast at the Oceanside Restaurant which is less crowded. Buffet breakfast is served at the Sala Monsson. The Oceanside Restaurant was right by the beach which is rare for Hua Hin. And, also the breach is quite private - no touts or locals wandering around trying to sell you something which is what you will get on the other side. Although the beach is not the best in Hua Hin especially during high tide when the water comes right up to the bank.

Everyone was very polite and nice and service was excellent.

There is a road (2 lanes of traffic on each side) separating the Sansky/Silksand/Sala Monsson/Spa/Main Reception which is on the "street" side and the Oceanbed/Oceanside Restaurant side. There's a guide helping guests cross the road which is in any case not super busy so it didn't really bother us. Oceanside during out stay was less crowded and more private during our stay.

We came here to do tailor suites and a dress for my wife and after looking around decided on Milano near the Hilton. On an adjoining road to the left of The Hilton if you are facing the Hilton. Good quality, service and price. Bae was really good and not pushy at all. We found Mike and Co. too pricey although its the nearest tailor to the Putahracsa. Maybe clothe and quality may be better but it's twice the price of most tailors you can find near The Hilton.

For the tiny bits of improvement which would make this a 5 star in my books instead of a a 4 star. First I must say that being spoilt by excellent hotels in Asia, my standards are quite high. The wooden door leading to the patio in the Oceanside should have a small bolt so there's a little more privacy. I went for a early morning swim at about 7am when the attendents were getting the deck chairs ready and arranging the towels. Would have been nice if I was given a towel then or served a glass of water or something. A gym would have been a nice addition to the resort as well. A better finger food menu at the pool side (Oceanside) - not sure what's available on the other side - would have been good. We could find only french fries. No calamari or chicken wings or other snacks. Nuts or crackers were not served at the bar at night. Small things but they count. Overall very happy with the stay and very likely to be here again.

Room Tip: For more privacy, choose the Oceanbed Villas. They are slightly more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrek-loves-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Shrek-loves-Fiona,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to take the time to share with others your experience with us.
Overall, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed it.
We and I took a good note of your constructive observations, I already shared them with the team and appropriated action will be taken accordingly without delays.
I would like personally to thank you for your suggestions who are definitely appreciated to improve our quality of services and little attentions to make our guests more satisfied.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back to your home away from home in Hua Hin soon and to show you our improvements in the mentioned matters.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 years ago and hoped the hotel would be just as good and was not dissapointed.
Had a Sansky room and the quality of everything was just as good as 2011. Service and choice at breakfast was great. The hotel staff are second to none and the personal touch of a smaller hotel more than outweighs the facilities there may be in a larger property. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear whitehart,
Sunny greetings from your home away from home in Hua Hin,
We would like to thank you to take the time to share with others your second experience with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed it.
We are all looking forward back to welcome you back to your "second" home as well "family".
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Putahracsa Resort with my mother for 3 nights and 4 days. My rationale for giving this property 5 stars comes from the outstanding service of the staff combined with the quality of the food, drinks, and facilities within the room. The professional courteous service from the staff was "genuine" and that authenticity can make a good hotel "great."

There are some areas for improvement-I will share three: 1) the electronic music (including music from the dj on sat. nights) played at the beachside restaurant and bar may not appeal to the taste of its guests. I know it didn't appeal to us very much. 2) There definitely needs to be a fitness facility added to the property 3) My spa treatment was excellent; however, the spa is quite small and with other guests receiving treatments at the same time, it may take away from the spa experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan3299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear dan3299,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to take the time to share with others your experience with us.
We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your time and we took a good note of your constructive observations.
We are currently working on the set up of a spa extension as well a fitness center before the end of 2012.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to your home away from home in Hua Hin.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

this is a amazing hotel make me have a lot of good memories and the service are excellent,people were so nice and polite.if i come to hua hin again,this hotel will be my first choice and i will share this hotel to my friends and family,please keep service level as usual,i am looking forward to enjoy your service again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear carlfung,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to share with others your experience with us.
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you will recommend our property to any of your friends and family.
We are all looking forward to get the pleasure to welcome you back again soon to your second home in Hua Hin.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with our adults kids, booking 4 rooms, for a family holiday. At first the 3hr drive from Bangkok Airport (9pm) to Hua Hin was more than a little daunting and the scenery at night was a little depressing. However the welcome we received at the resort after a long flight from Australia and subsequent drive was warm and friendly.

The next day we found that the resort is split into two parts by a minor road. Oceanside, as the name suggests, is on the beach with beach fronting units and independent facilities (pool & restaurant) and the main part of the resort is opposite and contains 4 small, 2 storey unit blocks surrounding another pool, with restaurant, reception, spa, library and bakery.

The staff here are typical Thai people - warm, friendly, kind, helpful.....just lovely! The atmosphere at this resort is very relaxed and we spent most days lazing around the pool, walking around the many shops nearby and enjoying cocktails at the afternoon Happy Hour at Oceanside Resaurant.

The rooms are spacious and well laid out, I would rate at Australian 3.5 to 4 star equivalent, king bed was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was hot/cold fare with reasonable selections and egg chef. The resort has 2 Tuk Tuks which provide free one-way trips into various points in the town - great on a hot humid day.

After the kids went home we moved to the neat Hilton Hua Hin for 2 nights. It was okay but I wouldn't recommend it for a family holiday - more for couples.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putahracsa, General Manager at Putahracsa Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chris M,
Sunny greetings from Putahracsa Hua Hin.
We would like to thank you to take the time to share with others your experience with us.
Overall, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your time and we met your expectations.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to your home away from home in Hua Hin.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.7 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
3.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#12 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putahracsa Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putahracsa Hua Hin

Property: Putahracsa Hua Hin
Address: 22 / 65 Nahb Kaehat Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Putahracsa Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putahracsa Hua Hin allows guests to combine the charms of small town leisure together with a beach hideaway. Situated in the residential section of Hua Hin, Putahracsa is designed to feel like a beach residence. All rooms and villas reflect the owners' personal touch, incorporating Hua Hin's tradition and blending it with contemporary design. Each detail is crafted by interior designer, Viboon Techakalayatum, owner of Design Scene Co., Ltd. The resort is managed by The Unique Collection of Hotels & Resorts, whose team ensures that guests receive the highest level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Putahracsa Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putahracsa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Putahracsa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing