We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rock Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
amsterdam
17
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I can assure you that it is a Fantastic Place to stay! I stayed in the suite and the room was really fantastic. The size of the room was enormous and you can take a bath with 4 persons (enormous). The personnel is absoluty great, kind and give you lots of service. They are very kind and always willing to help you. Your wish is their command. Once a week the organize a Thai buffet and once a week there is a BBque at the swimming pool. Unfortunately there are no beds on the beach, but the accomodation by the swimming pool is great. If you are searching for a classy hotel with great rooms, rest and kind staff, go to this hotel. It takes only 5 minutes to go to town by tuk tuk and the food is also excellent.

Regards hans from Holland

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 379 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
19
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I have just returned from a 7 day golf holiday with a group of lady golfers. We stayed at The Rock Hotel, Hua Hin from the 2nd to the 9th of March and what a good choice we made. This hotel is only open 3 months but the standard and service is of a very high quality. The restaurant offered a large variation of menu and the service was top class. The staff made us feel extremely welcome at all times. The management also arranged additional golf for us, which was fantastic and greatly appreciated, just one of the personalized touches The Rock provides. This Hotel has 26 rooms all beautifully furnished. The location is brilliant, it's on the beach and only ten minutes from the centre of Hua Hin. We were so impressed with The Rock that we have already booked a return visit for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bangkok thailand
15
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Having stayed on Kao Takieb beach before, i was more than interested to try out The Rock. First of all it is a good walk along the beach to town which i liked, away from the hordes. The hotel is very new and in an unusual position being sandwiched between condos. However it makes the best of this in a stylish way. The 2 rooms we had, had a stunning adjoining outdoor dining area, a plunge pool and a few mosquitos whom the staff got rid of quickly for us. The rooms are original, spacious and the outdoor showers, lovely toiletries and deep baths added a touch of decadence. It is a shame the rooms do not have great views, but the pool is great. The staff were wonderfully friendly and got to know us well in our short time there. Food and menus suited us just fine when we chose to eat in.
My only moans would be: steps down onto the beach had been washed away and as a result the step was too deep for my parents to cope with easily, the poolside area is small if the hotel starts to fill up and i would not recommend this hotel for small children, too many inviting ponds and water features. However i loved it and have already booked a return stay this year. If the staff pay as much attention to this website as they did to my stay then i feel sure any small things will soon be fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Essex
14
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I visited The Rock Hua Hin with a party of golfers in February 2006. The hotel had only been open for about two months, but it offered the level of service you would expect to receive from an established hotel. The Rock is a small luxury hotel with only 27 rooms.
The welcome we received and the level of attention in all matters was typical of the Thai culture. The staff could not do enough for us.
The rooms are beautifully furnished in typical Thai style and the pool is of the modern infinity into the ocean type. Pool area and bar, although small is high class with excellent snacks available all day.
In February there were a few mosquitoes as expected but each room was supplied with spray which did the trick when needed.
Being a new hotel we found the restaurant really wanted to please and we were not dissapointed. The management took time to ask visitors their candid views on the hotel and service as they were laying on events for the first time. While we were there they had a Valentines dinner laid on by the pool. You would think you were going to an expensive wedding breakfast it was so beautifully decorated. This was certainly a time when our party members wished they had brought their other halfs.
The Rock is about a ten minute taxi ride to town,or a half hour stroll along the beach.
If you want somewhere small, luxurious and exclusive try this hotel. Because it is new, and is overcoming its teething problems you could not get better attention.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

We (2 adults, 2 kids) spent a week in this hotel in late December 2005, having spent the previous week in the Hilton bang in the centre of Hua Hin town. We were almost the first guests at the Rock and the builder's snagging list had still to addressed - so some of the problems I mention below may be sorted by now.

This small "boutique" hotel is located about 5km (10 minutes by tuk-tuk) south of Hua Hin centre. It is right on the beach, although the entrance to the hotel is on a busy-ish main road only set back by a single row of car parking and a few feet of outside hotel-restaurant space. The location isn't very convenient and it costs 120-150 Baht one way to/from town (be warned: the "shuttle bus" isn't free !). There are a few restaurants local to the hotel (Jeh Keouw is an excellent no-frills Thai restaurant on the ocean front 10 minutes walk to the south), but most people will want to head to town for days and/or evenings. The hotel is squeezed into a very narrow strip of land (only a little more than one hotel room wide) between two condo blocks, the taller of which shades the pool area during the middle of the day.

We took a 2-bed villa although we did also get chance to see a "deluxe" room - there are no "standard" rooms in this hotel ! The rooms are of a good, not enormous, size and the furnishings are generally tasteful and of good quality. The large flatscreen TVs with DVD player (no library in hotel, so bring your own or buy them in the night market) were great, as were the beds. None of the rooms has a decent view as most look out onto the dividing fence between the hotel and the "garden" of the adjoining condo.

The swimming pool is a bit austere with its marble tiling, but you can spend many a thoughtful moment gazing out over the beach and ocean from the pool's infinity edge. As space is limited around the pool - there is only room for about a dozen loungers - I imagine it will be a problem to find somewhere to lie out when the hotel is anything close to busy (it has 27 rooms).

A few other issues deserve brief mention, although these may be just "new hotel" problems. One or two of the staff try very hard, but most have very limited english. I'm not sure they have much hotel experience as often they produced a good impression of a rabbit in the headlights when confronted with a simple request, eg, it took 3 requests to the front desk to get an answer to how much the airport departure tax is ! The hot water system in both our bathrooms was hopeless as the water never really became warm enough for a bath (which took half an hour to fill with tepid water) and running the hot water in the shower or basin would turn the bath water cold and vice versa. The hotel engineer tried to fix this a couple of times to no avail so I suspect it may reflect some economies in the original plumbing spec ! (BTW, the weather wasn't that warm around Xmas, so a warm bath was very welcome for the kids and my wife !)

The hotel restaurant is small with tables to match - really much too small for 4 diners to feel comfortable, especially if sharing dishes in the Thai style. The choice of crockery (eg, miniscule milk jugs to accompany tea/coffee) and cutlery (eg, enormous spoons that swamp the companion soup/cereal bowls), like other aspects of the hotel, reflects the hotel's aspirations for up-market styling which, unfortunately, often results in annoying impracticality. We found the Thai food in the restaurant bland and over-priced, but then we generally tend toward the more fiery dishes when eating in Thailand!

Probably our biggest problem was with mosquitos - the hotel has a lot of stagnant "water garden" features which are a breeding ground for bugs. Also fly screening was lacking in our bathroom areas. On one occasion I lifted a cushion in the outdoor lounge area between our room and the children's room and a welcoming party of mosquitos flew out to greet me ! This meant we didn't use the outdoor areas much and never after dark and made sure we spayed the room (can of insecticide 55 Baht from nearby 7/11 store) every evening. The hotel really needs to sort this problem out quickly.

In summary, this is a hotel that has pretentions to be bracketed with the Hilton and Sofitel but has serious limitations, some of which could be fixed but others are permanent. We love Hua Hin, but next time will stay in the Hyatt or the Sofitel, or return to the Hilton which, while a bit "tired", has so much more to offer at a price that is probably not much different from The Rock.

27  Thank roger_sellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank supernumwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at The Rock Hua Hin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chonthicha2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at The Rock Hua Hin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.4 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#127 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
3.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
2.1 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
794 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 144 in Hua Hin
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hua Hin Resort

Address: 4/44 Moo Baan Takiab Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#13 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#15 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $82 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rock Hua Hin Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock HuaHin Beach front Spa Resort is a luxury boutique beachfront spa resort in Hua Hin located right on Hua-Hin Beach near Khao Takiab area. The Rock Hua Hin Resort & Spa has just been newly renovated to elevate the ultimate satisfaction of our guests. The elegant atmosphere and brandnew facilities along with top of the line rattan weaved furniture on authentic teakwood floor. Our spacious rooms, suites and Jacuzzi Pool Villas ideally present the sense of relaxing retreat and romantic signature designed by an international award winner interior design. Moreover, the infinite-edge pool remarkably tenders a panorama sea-view of the Gulf of Thailand rejuvenating your tranquil moment. Grasp the memorable experience of the paradise hideaway at The Rock Hua Hin Resort & Spa. The meaning of The Rock derives from the Thai meaning of Hua Hin itself. The word 'Hua' means head and 'Hin' means a rock or stone. That becomes the name of The Rock. It does not mean that we have a rocky beach as some may think. In fact, our beach has no rock at all. HuaHin Resort: The Rock Hua-Hin beach Resort & Spa near Khao Takiab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rock Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Rock Hotel Hua Hin
Rock Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing