We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach”
Review of Veranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Veranda Lodge
Ranked #12 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location is fantastic. You have the beach on one side and outside you can walk to the night market. They have cottages inside with gardens and free wifi. The beach is lovely and their restaurant on the beach has a beautiful sight.

Loved the little touches like the extra towels for the beach and the flip flops they have in the room for your use. The breakfast spread was not very great. They did not have a buffet but you ask them what you want to have and they serve it to you. That can be changed to a buffet. The person in the front desk was very helpful and helped us book our onward travels.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 201 and loved it's closeness to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
50
86
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hua Hin is a perfect getaway from Bangkok. Just a few hours away, you have a good beach and good food. What more do you want.

Veranda Lodge is good value for money; we paid significantly less than what others quoted here. The premises has a lovely feel about it and you can get rooms overlooking the sea or right on the beach as well. But, yes, they are not as new as what the photos suggest.

Apart from that, if you really want that option, there is a street full of restaurants and massage parlors and a mall if you care to walk to the main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

CONS: 1)As the title says this hotel on the outside looks worn, tired....not very well maintained.
2). Management not very helpful.....Hotel was absolutely empty when we went... middle of the week ...since we decided to bring our children we asked how much for them to stay with us ....their response was almost as much as we paid for the room...(not a separate room ...but to stay with us in the 1 bedroom suite we got) offered them half....NO way was their answer... "policy"....got another room close by for WAY less! Amazingly they lost out on additional income with no effort on their part....mind boggling.

PROS: 1) Location is good ....across the street from the Mall ....and On the beach!
2) Although the outside of the hotel looks old, tired , and somewhat rundown (could use a coat of paint) ....the room was clean and VERY nice (like two different worlds ....from outside to inside).....Outstanding value if you get on the internet at a discount price!

Rated it 3 star because of the management style (none) and the rustic (to say the least) appearance on the outside

Room Tip: get the larger 1 bedroom ....worth it if you get it on the internet ...has kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spend a few days in the main house, the rooms are very small (about 16-20 sm), furniture ok, the balcony ridiculous (1 sm) u cannot really use it.
Direct Beach access which was very comfortable but most of the resort is old and not very inviting.
Please do not rate this hotel with a 4 star because it is not more than a little decent 3 star midclass hotel.
The pictures might let u expect more but they seem old and u will be disappointed by reality.
The price 75eur is too much.
Staff was very friendly, only the many birds start to be noisy early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eisbaer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked for 3 nights in the veranda by the sea, way to expensive for a bungalow made of cheap material with barely the minimum. Was asked to paid the first night up front upon check-in even we already gave our credit card details upon booking; not the best feeling upon arrival....no one to handle your suitcases, you are on your own. Receptionist didn't even bother ask a staff to help out. Find your room by yourself. Bungalow is over 200us a night so we were expecting more than a room with empty minibar (twice the size of standard minibar but only 2 bottles of drinking water in), wooden balcony with run down furnitures, the so call private beach is full of non-hotel guests, bringing their own picnics and camping in front of your balcony. Lack of good curtains makes the garden night lights too bright in your room and morning light make you get up early for the same reasons. No room service, however the Thai food was excellent and service staff very friendly even you've got to raise your hand to get any service, menu, ashtray, ice, etc....plastic menus are as old as the resort, dirty and not appealing. (The wine list is impeccable, opposite of the food menu, so I guess it is the good work of the wine supplier and not the hotel...). Upon check out, still no one for your bags and barely thanks upon settling the bill....what a shame when you know that Thailand is famous for its courtesy and great service.....my advice, look elsewhere because for that price you get much better all along the beach and in international brands hotels that can provide you with promotions deals much more valuable. This was for our 20th anniversaries wedding and we were very disappointed, never to return nor recommend...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denissimonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pictures are too far away from the reality. It could be a nice traditional Thai hotel located in front beach but never it could be a great hotel as mention on the website. Rooms are small and need to be renovated. Color of water from the pipe in the bathroom is very bad looking. Some staffs are quite nice but it could not give you value for money that could expect. Definitively the worst hotel I used for a while.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertrandThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is my second stay in the last three years. The hotel has gone from a nice family run resort to an overpriced lodge with poor service. The rooms were clean and functional. Bed was very hard. air conditioner flap was spoiled and propped up using tissue paper stuffed in one of the corners. i felt really bad for asking my friends to book this hotel. Beware of the mosquitoes, make sure you have lots of insect repellant with you. Service was perfunctory and can be unfriendly at times esp. at the breakfast service. There were limited options for breakfast and if you must eat there, try the French toast. The rest were bad. Location is its key redeeming feature but I think there are many cheaper options in the same area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Bayan
Baan Bayan
#25 of 136 in Hua Hin
227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Lodge

Property: Veranda Lodge
Address: 113 Soi Hua Hin 67 | Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing