We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No idea why this is #1, disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black & White - LUKKET - CLOSED

Black & White - LUKKET
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“No idea why this is #1, disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This place got such great reviews we searched it out specifically. But we were so disappointed. Location is on main road, so while you can sit outside it is very noisy. Decor is nice, clean lines, but not exceptional. And worst was that food (while cheap compared to other Hua Hin restaurants) was mediocre at best. Really not special. I had this soup and Thai noodle dish. Husband had pad thai. There are many better places in Hua Hin to try. I really can't figure out why this hot such high ratings....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Avarage nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

After reading the reviews on trip adviser we expected so much more from this place, been to Thailand many time's and myself and partner both work in hospitality so we know the restaurant industry and Thai food well.
To be honest there is nothing special about black and white there are many much better restaurants in Hua Hin

To be honest i would not be surprised if the reviews written are by friends and family of the owners of the restaurant.

Don't get me wrong the food is OK and the service is adequate and friendly but we were the only table in the restaurant at the time and still got some of the orders wrong.

Average food Average service very clean front of house Nothing special

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been to Black & White quite a few times now and every single time I've been very satisfied with the food and service. They have a nice menu which consists of both Thai and European food. This restaurant is much better than most in Hua HIn - especially compared to the price. I would highly recommend Black & White to everyone and I'm definitely going there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
“Great Thaifood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was walking around in hua hin and saw this restaurant. i really like how it looked, so i went in there and look the menu. they have a lot of choices. i decided to order some padthai. and they really made it perfect! i will for sure come again. great staff and the service was good, not perfect but good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
2 reviews
“SPRING ROLLS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Black & White got the best danish food in Hua Hin. But that is not the best part, the spring rolls with ham & cheese + Jalapenos MMMMMMMH it is the best appetizer ever. The restaurant got a perfect atmosphere, and the crew is very nice. perfect service over all

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black & White - LUKKET also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing