We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best decision ever, to change from the Dusit to the Centara!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our best decision ever, to change from the Dusit to the Centara!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a flexible booking to stay in a dust suite at the Dusit Thani Hua HIn, and after a lot of research i decided to change to the villa's at the Centara and what a great it decision it turned out to be......top shelf from start to finish.
We have been to Thailand over 10 times for holidays over the years, and now our daughter is getting older, your choice of facilities and services at a resort/hotel really comes into play.
The CBHH really fitted our needs, and when a great last minute special come up on their website and a few emails we got a really great rate for a premium deluxe 1 bedroom villa with club benefits for roughly $325USD per night, so cancel the Dusit and book and pay upfront for the villa.
We had stayed at the airport Novotel and had pre arranged a car service to Hua Hin.....slow start as the driver was 90 minutes late and we hit some traffic on the way down and took 4 hours of my life that i will never get back.
Upon arrival at main foyer of hotel, we were quickly taken over to the villa side in a golf buggy and welcomed with a cold drink and towel. The villa manager on duty was very thorough and had been awaiting us with good news that our villa was ready early for us and we got an official escort to villa by 2 staff. Just walking from reception past the restaurant area and pool, then pathway to villa we had started to relax.
We had been given villa 424 and as we entered the villa, it was just as we had expected from the photos and videos we had looked at. A guided tour was given by staff and we started to unpack our bags and relax by having a swim in the private pool. The staff came back with sheets and started to make up the beds in the spare/tv room for our daughter, which see really loved as she had her own little room away from us with a tv and some space of her own.
After relaxing for a while, we showered and dressed and headed to the club for evening drinks and some nibbilies.....we really enjoy this at most hotels and the centara was no exception. The first night it was held on the villa side due to the hotel coming out of being fully booked for the centrara golf masters. This was nice on the villa side sitting by the pool having a drink and watching the world go by, but it was just as nice going over to the main hotel club area, with some great staff over there who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, and the staff who would look after us fussy aussies with a very cold beer at the ready when needed!!
We spend most of our time relaxing by the pool on the villa side, which at the time we were there was not very busy at all. During the day staff would bring around cold towels and fruit which was nice, but a suggestion would be to have a fridge by the pool with water and soft drinks that you could access during the day as most people staying in villas were club members and it was a bit of a hike to get up from relaxing and head over to main hotel just for a drink.
The beach out the front of the villas had a lot of thai restaurants that operated during the day, which we didn't eat there but a lot of people who got bused into the beach did. The beach itself had a lot of rocks in front of the villa side, with a side street access between the villa side and hotel side but the beach itself was ok, not Koh Samui Centara standard, but nice enough for a good walk and swim.
Our daughter went to the kids club a few times, and i must say it wasn't overly good, but she enjoyed it, but a note to management that a good/great kids club is really an asset to a hotel and leaves both the parents and kids with a good feeling if done well.
The grounds within the hotel are quite grand and you can spend a good amount of time walking around and looking at all the topiary and gardens and it makes you feel very relaxed.
The staff at the hotel and villas are the key to the whole place, always smiling and saying hello it really makes you feel nice. Our villa was always cleaned well, the free laundry items always returned by late afternoon and hung up in room, small tip for deluxe villa, you can put in 4 items per day.
Each night after we enjoyed the service at the club, we would just walk out to the front of the hotel and you can find plenty of good places to eat cheaply, and even some nice flashier restaurants as well.
Played some golf whilst in Hua Hin, booked thru Golf Asian, which has a shop just across from the Hilton hotel and was very easy with transport picking me up on time and returning after golf. If you are a golfer please go to Black Mountain to play and you won't be disappointed, well worth a look and has a 9 hole par 3 course as well as a nearby water park which is a good day out as well.
Overall, we were very happy with our choice to change hotels from Dusit to the Centara, so happy in fact that we are now looking to return the same time next year.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and stay in the premium 1 bedroom villas, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mum_Dad_and_Zahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mum_Dad_and_Zahra,

Thank you very much and it is greatly appreciated for the detail review of your recent stay at the resort.

We are pleased to note that you and your family had a pleasant stay and enjoy the various resort's facilities and services. We will certainly share your kind comments to our team.
We have taken a good note of your suggested about a fridge to be provide by the pool will be share with department concerned for future improvement.

It will be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin again next year, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    392
    88
    41
    19
See reviews for
658
1,151
74
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just finished our fourth stay but first in three years. Not sure how it would be with the departure of Sofitel. In many subtle ways, it was even better. As always the friendly, professional staff were the highlight. Improvements included the very clean beach in front, fewer hawkers, an expanded lunch menu including more Asian dishes, the additional theme nights especially the Mediterranean buffet. The hotel is still charming, welcoming and an ideal place to relax.
Thank-you Centara.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank anner755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Anne R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to the team.

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

It is with a degree off sadness that I write this review......Sad because our time here has come town end. We enjoyed a magnificent 7 night stay and from the moment we arrived we determined that we would be back.

We stayed in a pool villa. The staff and facilities here are amazing and we leave (sadly) in awe of this peaceful, tranquil and relaxing resort.

The Club is a must. Spend a few extra dollars for this added benefit. We found the town of Hua Hin very safe and secure. Great restaurants and the peddlers are not to intrusive; quite polite really, considering you are rejecting them if you are not interested in buying.

We have already made arrangements for next year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RINGORICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear RINGORICO,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the resort.

It is always very motivating and rewarding to receive positive comments and we are glad that you enjoyed stay with us and would like to assure you that it has been a true pleasure to have you with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back again and will roll out our best care and attention for your next year visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

A fantastic hotel, we stayed in a Deluxe premium pool villa, so had access to 'The Club' snacks and sandwiches available all through the day. Staff were incredibly attentive from security guards at the entrances to cleaners and restaurant staff, nothing was too much trouble. The Villa's receptionist and Bell Boy always remembered our daughters name and were always chatting to her whenever they saw her, they had a genuine interest in hearing about what she had been upto.

There were three large public pools, all with sun beds around. Then another pool for exclusive use of the Villa residents which was quieter than the others, on top of having your own pool in the Villa. Our pool in our villa was partially in the shade so didn't get as warm as some of the others we spoke to, but still v nice having your own retreat.
The hotel is right on the beach, although it's a public beach and you do get a lot of people trying to sell you things or horse rides. Be aware the hotel does not out any sun loungers on the beach as it's a public one, although two pools are very close to the beach.
The restaurants within the hotel were great, wonderful choice of food, and many different restaurants catering for every taste. We dined in Hagi the Japanese restaurant and had the Tepanyaki table- highly recommend this, the chef was amazing and made the evening well worth the visit, he was very good with our daughter.
Kids club is great, our daughter (9) loves it there, lots of things to do!
A short stroll close to the hive of activity of Hua Hin's bar and restaurant area with many night markets nearby.
All in all a fantastic hotel, and will be sad to leave next week!

Room Tip: Go for a two bedroom Deluxe Premium Pool Villa, nearer the villa's private pool area - so you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S111ONJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear S111ONJ,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in April and had an amazing time. This truly is a wonderful place for relaxation, with amazing service. Rooms are a colonial style and of high quality. We will be back someday.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMartin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TravellerMartin82,

Thank you very much for spending your 10 nights stay with us. It is lovely hear that you had a wonderful time and we appreciate your note about the hotel and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matheson, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A hotel that absolutely lives up to its many great reviews. Warm welcome, beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, and direct access to relaxing Hua Hin Beach! It was the perfect place for us to relax as we began our holiday. Good breaksfast and restaurants onsite...I particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant on the Villas side of the resort. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDFlyingFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear PDFlyingFree,

It is certainly great to have you again at the resort and delighted that you had a good time at the resort and enjoy the food and garden surrounding.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, if you should require any further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.

We are always at your services.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I have stayed at many places in Hua Hin in the past, including Marriot, Intercontinental, Cape Nidhra, The Rock and Veranda. Centara Grand Beach Resort Hua Hin is by far my favourite and a hotel that I will certainly be going back to.

The resort is only a few minutes walk to the Hua Hin town centre and night market, with its myriad array of foods, activities and shopping. Most resorts/hotels in Bangkok are located quite far away from the city centre and a taxi-ride is be required to get into town. However, for Centara, we were within strolling distance, making it also a practical location to stay at. Arguably, Centara has one of the best location of all resorts in Hua Hin (the Hilton is another contender, sharing a similar location but offering a different style of accomodation).

The old-world, colonial charm of the hotel reminds me of hotels like Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok, the Ritz London and Raffles Hotel in Singapore. The resort property is expansive with 3 pools and manicured gardens that made me feel immediately peaceful.

The service was gentle, attentive and proactive. While relaxing at the pool, staff would bring out fresh platters of fruit and give a piece to every guest. Never in my life have I before seen a hotel manager who assists with the breakfast service, and runs around attentively covering guests' omelletes with a napkin to save it from the cannaries while guests were away from their tables. Every member of staff, no matter their rank, would stop what they were doing and greet us whenever we passed them. It was these delicate touches that made me so impressed with the hotel.

The rooms were well-built and well-renovated. While the fixtures and fittings were new, the the room still expressed a colonial era ambience. The bathroom was large, clean and well-equipped. The shower and bath were not separate, contrary to our preference but we were comfortable nevertheless. A rainshower function was available for the shower. We had a private balcony that overlooked the gardens and faced the beach. I liked the clothes rack on the balcony to allow us to dry swimming outfits. In the evening, housekeeping came to turn down our beds.

We had a problem with a closet light which would not turn off during the night because the door would not close properly. We stayed in a room with a door that could be opened to the adjoining room, but which was locked. Unfortunately, the door did not insulate sound well and one night, we were disturbed by the screaming kids of the adjoining room.

The resort had direct beach access with a security guarding the beach area. Plenty of deckchairs were available near the pools and facing the beach, and we never had to compete for deckchairs like at other resorts. The gym was well-equipped and had everything required for a good workout. Many activites were available including yoga classes, muay thai classes, aqua aerobics, table tennis, badminton and giant chess. The wifi was fast and the signal was strong everywhere we went on the property.

The range and quality of breakfast was fantastic. I looked forward to it every morning. I have never before seen a dedicated breakfast station where a chef made up a smoothie of my own design. I loved the home-made butter and European style pastries. The Museum cafe, with its antique decorations and afternoon tea, provided a refreshing break from lounging by the pool.

Considering the facilities, quality of service and inclusions, I thought this hotel was fantastic value. While our stay was not perfect because of a small problem with the closet and a noisy family next door, I must admit, those imperfections did not stop us from having a wonderful time. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have access to the adjoining room. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wingwang1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear wingwang1984,

Than you very much indeed for your kind review about our resort. We appreciate the time and effort you have spent in rating our services and it is through your invaluable feedback that we are able to continue to tailor our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our clients.

We are pleased to observe that you were happy with our services and facilities. Rest assured that the corrective steps have been immediately taken.

We look forward to your next visit to give you our undivided attention and utmost service at all times.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The, and include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing