We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is a huge and beautiful colonial building set on a large manicured garden. The setting is truly beautiful. In general the service is good but there were a couple of incidences where i felt it brings the 5 star standard down. I used the laundry bag to put my dirty clothes to bring home but at check out, they insisted I either pay THB200 or unpack my luggage to return them the laundry bag. This was a normal laundry bag, nothing fancy.. In all my stays in many hotels globally, not even a 3 star hotel insisted i pay for a laundry bag or unpack my luggage from a waiting taxi to return the laundry bag. Such small mindedness from the hotel spoilt my otherwise a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear LightofLife,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the resort. We are glad that the hotel building, garden and the service in general is met you satisfaction.

We take a good noted of your concerned regarding the additional surcharge for laundry bag. The reason why we charge for the removal of our Laundry bags is that they are made out of linen as one of our environmental efforts. Of course, a certain flexibility in this regard is nevertheless necessary and we are truly sorry to read that you were requested to open your luggage to return this item to us whilst the taxi was waiting for you.

Rest assured we will do our very best to improve the product and services as to enhance our guest experiences at the resort.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 10 days in June at the Centara and were a little disappointed. We upgraded to Club Superior for 3 days which was nice, on the 3rd floor and the Club facilities were good. Met some nice people in a very relaxed environment. The staff, especially Jonas made you feel very comfortable. We were part of a large golf group and were supposed to be upgraded to the same class of room (excluding the Club facility) but we ended up with a room that did not belong in a 5* resort. Room 119, very small, no bath, located next door to the Museum Restaurant and a wooden stair case, that you would swear a herd of elephants were using day and night. We felt we weren't as welcomed once we moved from room 308 to 119. The resort is lovely, pools good, staff excellent and close to restaurants etc. We spent a lot of money going a long way and we did expect more comfort and facilities in our room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you move your luggage into the room. The new part of the hotel I would e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baliliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear baliliz,

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at the resort. Your comments on the service and hospitality given by all the staff are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team. Your particular impression with Mr. Jonas's performance has been conveyed and appreciated by him.

We have noted your concerns about the room allocated, which is indeed a Deluxe Room in our Railway wing, the original building from 1923. We always try to accommodate the guests preference and we would have been happy to offer you a move into another wing upon your request, depending on room availability.

We all look forward for your next visit in the future and will roll out our best care and attention at all time.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This coming august will be the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel. Great for relaxing or close enough to enjoy the many restraurants which satisfy all tastes.
For the golfer, which my husband and I both enjoy, the area boasts world class courses in scenic surrounds.
The excellent gardens of this hotel are a wonderful way to relax with a walk after dinner.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms enjoy great views and gentle evening breezes while enjoying a drink before dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chief234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear chief234,

It is certainly great to welcome you again for the fourth time at Centara Grand Hua Hin and we are pleased that you had a perfect holiday.

We are grateful for your loyalty and patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas is the perfect resort for Hua Hin. We had stayed at this property several times ever since it was independently operated by the Railway and our last stay was in 2008 which the Centara had took over. The property from the time Centara took over had improved and developed into a very fine property.

The guest will notice at the entrance, the drive-way and garden are well manicured with various animal symbol, the tradition passed down from the Railway Hotel period. The open lobby is beautiful designed for daily activities to accommodate both peak and low traffic. The elegant furnitures are equipped for busy hotel traffic as well as relaxation. The remaining ground of the hotel is very well look after. We specially like the garden immediately approaching the beach. It has two pools and several water features offering various activities. Even the public beach in front of the hotel is kept clean and regulated in a orderly way.

We specially like The Museum Coffee & Tea Corner in the Railway Wing. Many antiques from the last century are displayed and provide a nice lounge area for meeting or relaxation. In a way, it also give life to the Railway Wing which is some distance from the main lobby.

We stay at the main wing with room facing the garden and beach front. The sizable room is comfortable with colonial style balcony open to nature. The only concern we have is the flight of stairs that needed to be negotiated for some mature guests. Otherwise the property is perfect for either a weekend or longer stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Charn P,

We wish to thank you for your kind comments and appreciate your support and patronage to the resort. We are delighted that you had a good time and enjoy the various facilities and services available especially the Museum.

We appreciate your comments about the flight of stairs which we will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recently attended the Centara World Masters Golf Championship. This resort was our home for the week.
A superb property in all aspects. Presentation, atmosphere, quality of staff, service and food, and within walking distance of Hua Hin shopping centre and markets etc.
It is a total package right on the beach and set among beautifully maintained grounds.

Room Tip: For a couple (maybe with two children max) would recommend a Villa, either with a private pool or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Ian H,

It is always a pleasure to have you at the resort during the the Centara World Masters Golf Championship last week.

We are delighted that you had a good time at the resort and enjoy the hotel facilities and garden surrounding.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have once again had our annual holidays at this hotel and would not normally re review but feel this hotel is something special and needs to be mentioned once again.
We cant say enough positives about the Centara, staff, facilities, location and overall ambiance.
Once again we paid for club facilities and feel we get good value from the extra we pay.
You cant help but relax from the time you arrive until you sadly leave. We are already looking at dates for our return next year and can see why we met so many return guests from all around the world.
Congratulations to all at Centara Grand Beach Resort !

Room Tip: If you want to be totally spoilt pay for a pool villa but all rooms are excellent with varying outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alderwiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear alderwiser1,

We appreciate your kind feedback following your stay at the resort.

We are glad that you had a good time of your annual holiday and enjoyed the various facilities and services around the resort.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Check out tomorrow 21 June and can't wait to go ! 90 % of staff do not know about their own hotel - we asked about restaurants and other services and staff either do not know or have to ask their colleagues! As I am with my thai girlfriend and our daughter I wonder if we are getting poorly treated because she is Thai and everyone else staying here appears to be western ? We would also have expected to have been informed that everything this week is geared to the golf tournament taking place but no one thought to mention that until we got here! We are staying in a spa villa with club access - we were told when we booked it had one bed but we arrived to find twin beds - we were told we had sea view but first you have to see through a green netting before you can see anything and we have no idea what the green netting is there for ! We were directed to a beach side restaurant today for lunch which must have had the most limited selection of thai dishes ever ! We are used to eating in fine restaurants in Bangkok where we live and we stay in 5 star hotels wherever we travel and how this can be considered 5 star let alone a part of the leading hotels of the world leaves me completely mystified! We visit Hua Hin every 6 or 8 weeks and could not recommend Centara against the places we normally stay - V
Villas or Sheraton. We have not been advised of anything going on in the hotel and actually feel more a nuisance than welcome guests ! My girlfriend came to breakfast this morning wearing a swim suit but modestly wrapped from upper body down in a long sarong but she was told she could not sit wearing that for breakfast - we were by the pool with men sunbathing in trunks 10 metres away! I questioned this and a family at another table with the lady wearing a vest with her bra showing ! An FandB director came to tell me there is a dress policy which I will always respect and we were adequately clothed per the environment ! His comment was that I should go read the sign at the entrance so I mentioned about the lady and her vest to which he had no reply but did not tell her to go and change!
There are big signs by the pool saying no diving but they didn't stop the people by the pool from regularly diving in - for sure we were victimised !
Would we come back - NOT A CHANCE !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RoddyMc1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear RoddyMc1959,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post this review. We would like to apologize for your negative experience you had at our resort as clearly this does not reflect the quality and standards we set out to deliver.

We are sorry to learn that you found several matters unsatisfactory, and would like to assure you that appropariate action has been taken to remedy, where necessary. However, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience whate was created.

We do realize that the image you have of our hotel is now severely tarnished but entertain the hope that this will not be irrevocable and that you may give us an opportunity to welcome you again and therefore to demonstrate that dedication, service excellence and great care and attention can also be expected at Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Hua Hin.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 142 in Hua Hin
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $105 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing