We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!! But remember to take with you ear plugs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely!! But remember to take with you ear plugs...”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We liked this hotel very much. Traveled with husband and 4-year-old daughter. We arranged for airport transfer from Bangkok ourselves, as the hotel's transfer was over 200% more expensive than the cars that can be easily booked on the web.
Reception was very good with welcoming drink and cold towels. We vere upgraded to a villa, which was more than we could have expected. Very nice grand villa with two bathrooms. The villa area is separate from the hotel, so it is very very peaceful. The villa guests have their own breakfast by the pool, VERY nice.

We traveled with only one child, and even though the hotel has good facilities for children (a very clean and nice play room with 'nannies', two outdoor playgrounds, several childrens pools aso) I would not perhaps recommend this hotel to bigger families with several children as the environment is very peaceful, most of the guest elderly people and you get the impression that everyone is staring angrily at you when your child screams or speaks a bit louder...or doesn't behave...

The hotel garden is beautiful and all envious bypassers are not even allowed to enter the area to take pictures, which I find good, otherwise the hotel would become an attraction full of non-hotel guests walking around.

The service at this hotel is EXCELLENT from security guards to managers and you really get the impression that you are taken care of. Everyone smiles at you....all the time... The food we ate, especially at the restaurant at the villa area was very good (only tasted thai food) with a menu for the children. At least the Thai food was as cheap at the hotel's own restaurants as in Hua Hin city (but much better and the restaurants at Centara had a much nicer atmospher).

We were Club guests and there were drinks and food available almost during the whole day. The evening cocktails served nice drinks and very good wine.

The ONLY thing that bothered us a lot was the loud music (basso??) from a nearby Disco somewhere in the neighborhood that held us awake during hours every night... I even used ear plugs but they did not help. I have not seen comments on Tripadvisor regarding this problem, which is very bizarre, we met another family who lived in a nearby villa who experienced the exact same problem. We lived in 404.

Apart from the sleep quality we would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends!

Room Tip: The villas are very nice in a separate area with own pool and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Malou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Malou75,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write details review about the resort following your recent stay at Centara Hua Hin.

We have taken a good note of your comments regarding loud music from outside and report to Hua Hin Municipality for future action.

Apart from the points that you mentioned, we do hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    400
    90
    41
    19
See reviews for
673
1,181
79
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A lovely old resort with good facilities for families, but some of the other reviews are probably correct in that it is slightly off its game or lacking the guiding hand of one of the more luxury global brands vis a vis consistency of training. There were a few service issues whilst we were staying e.g. no help to carry pushchair upstairs on arrival (and told we couldnt use the luggage lift instead), no concierge or leaflets for external activities (or knowledge of them generally), we were told we couldnt eat in the Club as their only babychair was in use (rather than them going the 30 metres next door to borrow one!), being told to get things ourself by waiting staff etc. However, on balance, I would still definitely recommend staying here as these were minor issues. This is, after all, the grand old dame hotel of Hua Hin and you wouldnt expect a grand old dame to rush and do anything! Rather, you enjoy it for its history and character, of which it has plenty. Most staff were friendly and helpful (save for the minor issues). The rooms were big and well kept and there was a decent array of activities on offer for kids and adults alike. The service really shone through after we had departed and were trapped on a motorway by anti-government protests - the driver called the hotel, who alerted our airline of our delay. Considering we had left already, I found this a very decent touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear TDT,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your visit to resort recently. It is through your in valuable feedback that we are able to continue to tailor our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our clients.

We have taken noted your comments regarding service in general. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed and ready actions taken. This does not in any way reflect the usual service level. Kindly rest assured that training in regards to the service will be carried out to avoid such incident in the future.

We look forward to your next visit and rest assured of our undivided attention and utmost service at all times.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This remains a beautiful resort, elegant and in a great location but it is not where it was last year, in nearly all aspects. Reception was not as it should, we were not even offered a welcome drink nor some sort of management's greeting. Food this year was outright miserable and the chef, on his way out, gave the impression he wanted to punish the guests for it. It surely felt that way. Five different executive chefs will have been in charge over two years, imagine how the kitchen staff feels... The stinking shacks are gaining ground on the beach and the defecating horses are spoiling it. The whole experience has become not really bad but average, certainly for the price, quite uninteresting in fact, a great pity, we used to love it but now we won't return for a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear TripperEurope 1,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us feed back on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin. As we always state it, guests comments are one of the best tools we have to improve our operations and services.

We regret that we did not live up to our standards when you checked in and would like to ensure you that our shortcomings are being addressed.

Likewise we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food and will improve where necessary. However, your statistics regarding the changes of chefs are incorrect and may, unfortunately, mislead other readers.

We would like to take this opportunity to indicate that we have, daily, an early morning hotel beach cleaning team and that this hotel does its utmost in terms of beach up-keeping.

Thanking you again for your feed back we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent 7 nights here in a garden view room, check in was prompt after we arrived late evening. During check in the host informed us our room is nice but we can change the next day if not happy?this raised a little concern then on the way to our room again the host repeated the offer to change room next day if not happy! Our room was in the garden wing and as we approached I could see why the offer to change room was made, the room was at the front/side of the property next to road of bars and restaurants but apart form the odd motor bike, car noise our room was excellent. The hotel is located in the centre of the town so a little noise should be expected, the room was a great size with balcony overlooking the gardens, good size bathroom with separate bath and shower.
The hotel grounds are kept in pristine conditions, with 3 swimming pools all clean with plenty of sunbeds. Each sunbed has a towel laid out but don't worry thinking someone has been up early reserving them all!! When you select your sun bed an attendant brings a 2nd towel for you to use as a pillow, excellent staff and very friendly.
The hotel could not be in a better location for bars, restaurants and shops of a nighttime and a lovely long beach to walk during the day again with bars and restaurants. Due to the availability of such choice we only ate at the hotel for breakfast which again was as expected, plenty of choice of all foods.
I would recommend this hotel to all and could not fault it at all, this was my first stay at a Centara but will not be my last.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room and could not fault it at all even though it was located close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Tigertoc,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review after your stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and will be relayed to the team.

With our reiterated thanks and we all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,
The Manageemnt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This time we stopped in the villas section in one of the deluxe pool villas and I think definitely worth the extra for staying here the extra's you get and the even greater levels of service really made for a great stay. This hotel is a oasis that sits just on the edge of the restaurants and bars and within easy reach of the night market.
We have booked to go back again this year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardB191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Richard B,

We would like to thank you for choosing Centara Grand Hua Hin as your accommodation choice for your recent visit to Hua Hin. We will share your comments with our team.

We look forward for your third visit soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed e week in the Centara and it was smashing. Of course, it's a high standard hotel and therefore highly priced. But what you get is pure excellence. We had a beautiful room with view on the garden, with a small but nice terrace. The bed was high quality, and all the things you need are available. The hotel is build in colonial style and so beautifull, you think you live in a palace or so. Staff is dressed in special clothes, The management thinks of everything to make you happy. Service is perfect. Breakfast is more then perfect. Accompanied by a lady harpist, you wake up in a dram. So many choices, perfect. There are several restaurants for lunch and dinner. On of the most beautful is the Museum, for teas and drinks and so. Outsight dining, at the sea, or at the other site of the road at the swimming pool, and then with original Thai music and performances. For the evening there is the bar with very good jazzy music. We loved it.
At new Years even there was a gala-party with a dinner and a big show. More then fantastic.
When we come back tot Thailand we come back to this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: ask for one of the side-wings with view on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Harry P,

Thank you for your recent visit to Centara Grand Hua Hin. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to your next visit and rest assured of our undivided attention and utmost service at all times.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta,
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had been in some places in thailand and we were there last year. The driver picked us up from our hotel in Bangkok and it tok us about 2 hours to get there. The way to go there was smooth, nothing much to see. By the time we closed by we passed some hotels by the beach.
My husband pick this hotel and he knows what I like. Beach, pool, shopping, and action.

By the time we reached the hotel I was stunned by the lush, beautiful garden. The big picture of the King greeted us, and the security guard wore old time uniform.

The staffs were friendly and helpful. The reception area was stunning with colonial decoration. They have a lot of gardens and all are wonderful, with some plants figurine like rabbits, birds, etc. The cafe shop was decorated with a memorabilia from colonial era. And it was one of a setting of a movie called Killing Fields.

The pools were nice, also the restaurant. They know how to cook a god food.. and we finish the afternoon by sitting on the chairs outside under the parasol sipping margaritas, watching the beach and sea. Then we spotted 8 warships, apparently when we were there so did the King and families. We were excited.

I tried the spa n it was as expected. Serene, beautiful, friendly, and they did a good job.

Then it's time for us to hit the hotel bar. The staffs, again, sooo friendly. At the last nite, they offered us to help them taste the drink because one of the bartender would join the competition. Of course we helped. Then they have a live music too, it was fun.

Surrounding area were full with restaurants, bars, shops, and also you can find a muaythai place.
In a good season there would be a good fight and we could watch them. But if not, there would be only young fighters trained to fight.

Overall the city was clean and easy to explore. You can use tuktuk, taxi, or by foot. Definitely we will come back this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaSoepono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear DitanJimCarey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write details review about the Centara Grand Hua Hin and we are certainly delighted that you had a wonderful stay with at the resort.

We will pass on your kind comments to our team and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 136 in Hua Hin
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing