We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and to date this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Staff very friendly and accommodating and even came round at night to turn down the beds for you! The bedrooms were large and comfortable with good bathrooms consisting of both bath and seperate shower. Beds very large with lovely comfy pillows. The grounds were stunning with topiary elephants and birds etc nicely lit up at night. There were 3 decent sized pools and no problems getting a sunbed. When you were round the pool the assistant would pass you cool towels and fruit and provide assistance with the parasols etc. Breakfast was served to 10.30 in the morning which was good if you have had a late night. The only problem is that once you have stayed in this hotel any other would appear inferior. A very beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaffieLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear StaffieLancs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our facilities and services. We shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our entire team.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights for a family holiday - I went with my husband, my 4 year old son and my 4 month old baby.
We chose a pool villa, which we felt would suit our family.
We have stayed at Hua Hin before, so we knew that the hotel was located in a very good spot (literally right in the heart of town). Location wise, the hotel is perfect.
The hotel would be best described as old school thai architecture - very grand and beautiful. Its very impressive when you arrive there and the service at the reception is top notch.
The gardens, that you wander through, as you go to the villa area (its in its own private section) is beautiful. The trees are shaped into different animal and insect shapes - very cute (refer photo attached).
The room was huge - we had our own private pool and little day bed outside, which was fabulous during the day. The décor in the villas is beachy / hamton's style and very beautiful. The only thing I could criticise is that the hotel said it could sleep 2 adults and 2 kids - and it does - but there is a room that is completely separate - almost like a bungalow. This is where the 2 kids sleep - and its a perfect set up for teenagers (so you get privacy) - BUT with 2 little children, that we need to listen out for during the night, this did not work at all. So we ended up putting all 4 of us into the main bedroom, which was a little cramped - but the hotel helped us out with the bedding and we made do.
The breakfast in the morning is sensational - every choice you can imagine and you sit in the outdoors and its really lovely and relaxing. The staff were also lovely and helpful (with our pram etc).
At night, we enjoyed the free nibbles and drinks in the executive club section (I think this is what you call it?), which is what you get if you book our villa. We drank champagne or cocktails every night - sitting by the pool - they fill your glasses up non stop - and the nibbles were lovely. We loved it. We took our children there every night too and as long as you keep them well behaved (sitting on their seat etc) - everyone had no problem with it.
Both my husband and I used the spa one day when it was raining and its top notch. Its not cheap - you can definitely get cheaper out in the main street - but its far more glamorous and just an amazing experience, if you want to indulge yourself.
We also used the kids club that day and my son seemed to really enjoy it. He kept saying he wanted to go back the next day!
We also ate in the Thai restaurant one night in the hotel (I think it was called Sala something?) and the food was very good - I'd highly recommend it.
The service was pretty good at the hotel. They are all very lovely towards you when you have little children - you will never experience the love people have towards babies and children until you travel to Thailand!!! Its not like that in Australia at all! The only thing I could criticise about the service is that some of the staff struggle with English more so than others. But overall, it was good.

Room Tip: Our pool villa is absolutely perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenagers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeBueys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear ThreeBueys,

Thank you very much for stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin during your recent stay and we are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday.

We are grateful that you also had the chance to experience the various facilities and services at the resort. Your comment about the English of service staff has been share with the team. Please rest assured that appropriate retraining has been implemented to ensure the best service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent 5 nights here with three children; 12,10,3. We stayed in the Pool Villa and the room was fantastic. The hotel is well run, calm and the staff really good. The beach front is a bit like Blackpool but great for watching the world go by and watching the kids build sandcastles and taking rides on the horses. We personally liked this type of beach.
The breakfast was good but we have had better, simple things like out of a packet orange juice and horrible sugary apple juice let the thing down but still overall you will eat well enough.
The restaurant food and room service food was just average and pricey compared to walking into town and getting better and cheaper from some street side vendor.

Overall we would come back and have only left off one star because of the average food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear john c,

Thank you for stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin during your recent holiday in Hua Hin. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and enjoy the products and services offered at the resort.

We appreciate your observation about the food and price overall experience. We will reconsider our pricing structure of food and beverage for our next operation review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in november . A beautiful hotel, which gives you assosiations to the colonial era. Quiet area. Had room no. 125, very good beds. When going to the pools, make contact with the poolstaff. They organize the sunbeds. The beds can seem occupied, but can as well be available. The towels may have been put there in advance by the staff. Very good food, and the staff were allways smiling and polite. The breakfast was nice, as a lady played harp some days. Beautiful gardens. The best hotel I ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moyamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Mojamor,

It was a pleasure to have you with us recently and thank you for your kind feedback about the overall experience at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We are all very pleased to hear that you also had a comfortable stay at the resort, and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back again in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The gardens are amazingly kept, bushes shaped as peacocks, elephants and flying birds, and at night they light up- i have never seen anything like it. Breakfast is fresh and a great selection. My daughter liked the kids club, the boys the pool, my husband the gym. When youare in the hotel you feel as if you are in an old colonial place(its in fact 100 yrs old!, the oldest resort in thailand, but its kept in tip top condition), and from the hotel entrance you are in the middle of town. (I must say its a bit tacky but nice for a different experience). They have a very nice signature cocktail list.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Hippyjane,

It is a great pleasure to have you with us recently and glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the resort. We hope to welcome you back again for a more peaceful and relaxing stay.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

From Bangkok where we were spoilt for hotels and restaurants, we arrived in this amazing seaside resort.

Incredibly friendly people from the main gate all the way to staff who escorted us to our Seaview room.

The colonial architecture, vast landscaping, great food and most importantly, the friendliest staff all complement each other to make one's stay an amazing experience.

The beach is so long we walked 2 hours each way and when we were back to the gardens, we were warmly greeted by the security person.

What a great story to tell our friends and family, when we get back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gabyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Gabyandme,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on your recent trip to Hua Hin. We are pleased to note that you and your friends had a good time and enjoyed your stay at the resort.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Well, these kind of hotels are not built anymore... the former Railway hotel has a wonderful colonial style atmosphere that reflects the 90-year history; very charming and romantic, with spectacular gardens, great buffets and theme nights, and the most attentive and friendly service we've experienced for a long time. There are three wings to choose from - the Colonial wing which is the one closest to the (grand) lobby, the historic Railway wing and the quiet Garden wing which faces the Garden pool. We preferred the Colonial wing, and loved our spacious Deluxe Club Room with a wonderful terrace.

We disliked the public beach and horses right in front of the hotel, and also felt that the atmosphere around the Colonial pool (next to the beach) didn't quite match the class and style of the hotel. So we chose the Garden pool which was secluded and quiet for most of the time.

All in all a wonderful stay; we would not hesitate to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Club Rooms are our preferred choice; surely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear polartravel,

Truly appreciate the feedback of your stay and glad that you had a relaxing and memorable holiday. It is our hope to welcome you back again to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the not too distant.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,315 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $131 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing