We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Family time at Centara!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Happy Family time at Centara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My extended family (about 35 of us) visited centara in May 2013 for a short 2 night stay. I could best describe it as a heritage property soaked in history. Formerly called as the railway hotel, it was also featured in the film 'Killing Fields', the hotel still seems to maintain some of its old world aura. The rooms and dining areas were perfect and well appointed. The large grounds and pool areas gave us plenty of room to move around and explore the property. The location is just fantastic too, we had a great time shopping at the night market on both days, there are spas, shopping, burger king, etc...all within walking distance from the hotel. The staff and service too was very very nice. All in all a great stay and hope to be back some time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear thomaser,

It was a pleasure to have you with us recently and great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the resort.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    381
    85
    40
    18
See reviews for
643
1,109
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two children aged 4 and 7 for two weeks May 2013. Quite simply the resort is fabulous, definately 5*. Tranquil, old school charm, yet super modern facilities.

The staff are truely fantastic, infact I almost felt humble. Very peaceful resort, yet just minutes walk from hustle and bustle of Hua Hin. My two girls felt extra special from all the attention they recieved from staff.

Room wise, we booked a Premium, delux pool villa, it was amazing and just the rightt size for our party. But because the main hotel pool areas were so nice, we only used this a handful of times.

Our room came woth club access, which again is great for drinks and snacks throughout the day. The quality of food was top class. Oh and the breakfast too was superb, we preferred to eat in the restaurant near the villa area.

Our girls used the Kids Club almost everyday for an hour or so, to play and escape from the heat. They really enjoyed this too.

The only downside I would say is the cost of drinks, I ordered two small beers one afternoon and it was approx £7. i noticed that virtually no one poolside was ordering drinks or food. They would either go out or bring stuff in. Shame when the staff did not seem busy and could have been making tips. If the cost was lowered Im sure people would order more frequently.

Super holiday, will defiantley book again.

Room Tip: Book Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsmac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear mrsmac26,

It was indeed a pleasure of having you and your family during your recent holiday.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay at our resort, enjoyed the facilities and service. We have a special noted on your comments about cost of drink and share with our Food and Beverage Director for our next operation review.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

in general terms, this hotel is perfect. the location is ideally placed between the tourist centre of the town and the beach and close to both. the building and grounds are stunning visually. however, this hotels strongest asset is its staff. they are simply wonderful: enthusiastic, happy in their work and above all, speak good English. this last point applies to all staff from housemaids to reception and restaurant workers.

however, after a few days small niggles surface: the food provided in the executive lounge is of very limited quantity, the wine there is cheap and undrinkable and the outside seating area under a glass canopy is extremely hot.

rooms are large but the furniture is minimal and the lighting is poor. bathrooms are large and efficient but towels were thin and hard.

we stayed many times at this hotel when it was the sofitel in club rooms. our impression is that the breakfast buffet whilst still good is nowhere as good as it was. also the location of the club room under sofitel was better.

overall, we still love this hotel and have already booked our next visit even though it is apparent that efforts are now being made to cut costs.

Room Tip: if you avoid stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goldtop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear goldtop11,

Thank you for your great feedback and we very much appreciated. Club benefits are generous and are indeed very liked by our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will definitely share your comments with our team in order to continuously improve the quality of food.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, we profoundly hope that we will have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back to our resort again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSTELVEEN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is my third stay here, but the first time to stay in the main resort section (I stayed in the former 'Sofitel' Villas part of the hotel before on two occasions). This time, I travelled with my disabled mother and stayed in the Garden deluxe suite facing the sea front. This Centara property is well managed. The staff was very friendly, attentive, well trained. Food at the Railway Restaurant was really good. The facilities and overall atmosphere make sure you will enjoy your stay. The location is also great, nearby the night market and village market shopping mall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SQUEEZED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear SQUEEZED,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Centara Grand Hua Hin. It is always very motivating and rewarding to receive positive comments and not only negative ones. We are glad that you enjoyed this third stay with us and would like to assure you that it has been a true pleasure to have you with us.

We all look forward welcome you back and will roll out our best care and attention for your fourth visit!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Centara Grand during the last 2 weeks of May. What an amazing place. We were overwhelmed as soon as we pulled up to the reception.
The whole place is absolutely spotless, which is credit to the many behind the scenes workers who work tirelessly to ensure the standard never drops.
We joined the Club – which at first looked expensive, but I can highly recommend, the service received by the Club team was fantastic and the snack and drink were very good value for money.
The breakfasts were also amazing – everything you could possible want. We would often arrive toward the later part of the service and yet the staff would still be filling up the counters and happily get you whatever you needed.
Can I also highly recommend the Steak buffet night – not for the chef/managers the word buffet does not do this justice (and can be a put off) – all the steaks are cut and cooked to your individual liking.
The outstanding feature of this resort is however the staff, always smiling, always helpful and made us feel truly welcome for the whole 12 days – we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear LucieT21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Hua Hin, which is very much appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort.

Your comments on the service and hospitality given by all the staff are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team.

With our reiterated thanks and we all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The reosrt is beautifull and the staff extremely friendly. we were a group of 3 couples and 2 kids and stayed there for 5 nights last week. The rooms are spacious and functional. I stayed in the colonial wing with a garden facing view and it was good. The location of this reosrt is the best in Hua Hina as you are right in the middle of the city. This gives you the option of dining out and Hua Hin has several great options which are cheaper than the hotel restaurants. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was very good and elaborate. I am sure the food at its restuarants would be good but we wanted to try out restaurants outside as obviously they would be cheaper! The hotel public areas have free wifi and it is charged when uysed from rooms. Keeping in mind the dependance of all on wifi these days the hotel should make it free everywhere including rooms! Besides the charges for the internet were very high - In this day and age most of the hotels are making wifi free and Centara must do it too! Overall a very lovely experience and I would recomend HUa HIn and Centara to all travellers planning a clean family holiday to Thailand!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms close to the lobby as then you will have free wifi in your room as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amreekibilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Amreekibilla,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of our resort. We are very pleased to read that you had a happy holiday with us, and highly recommended our resort to anyone as an ideal place to spend their holidays in Hua Hin.

On behalf of all the staff here at Centara Grand Hua Hin, we profoundly hope that we will have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back to our resort again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

After reading about the best place in Hua Hin to stay I chose the Centara. Paid a LOT more to get the jacuzzi suite as after a long flight I felt it would be worth the extra money to have an ensuite jacuzzi to relax as we overlooked the beach. Checked in. Got to the room... and room looked very "tired." Jacuzzi suite had two twins pushed together and no effort to make them into a bed for two at all, though I had requested a King online and via email. Upon check in was told they might be able to get a mattress liner to make it more comfortable... but they didn't do it in advance so didn't care. Room looked like a 3-star upon arrival... but being a "beach" place we didn't mind too much. The attendant then closed the curtain to the outside back.... where the Jacuzzi was... and then I was curious as to why instead of showing it and explaining the functions. I went myself and lifted the shade and opened the door then discovered why. The Jacuzzi was covered with a tarp and the tarp was laden with debris. I tugged it over a side to find the tub empty and filthy. About two inches of leaves and other debris and mold growing along the sides. Being my birthday and all, I looked at my husband and asked him to call the desk so that I'd keep my mouth shut and keep the peace. he called. To the credit of the lovely Thai lady at the reception, she did relocate us to another villa... assured us it had a jacuzzi like this one and we waited and then were taken to the other villa. Bigger, but not better. Plunge pool, which I did not want nor need, and no Jacuzzi. By this time it was about 5am. Tired and my birthday I called the reception myself. Was told they would "show" me other jacuzzi Villas with a clean tub and with a beach view.... as we had contracted. But that another company had taken over those so they could just SHOW. That explained the pictures on the website and the discrepancy in what we were actually given to stay in. I told the lady that we will check out as this was NOT was advertised and NOT what we paid for in advance, She agreed. I said i would, with my husband, come to the lobby area and get on our laptop to secure another accommodation... she kindly offered that the unit I was in had connections and we could make the arrangements from that room. My husband and me sat at the desk of that room and, as quickly as possible, found another place to stay. When we finished we went directly to the front desk to let them know. At that time, oh, hell yes.... Centara wanted to CHARGE US for the short use of the room they offered! This cannot be made up!
Long story short... we were very upset with Centara on all accounts. Now 5 days later we still have no refund and have discovered a charge of over $300 pending. Before leaving Centara we made quite sure they would NOT charge us any money at all.
The spa villa will be at least 6 minutes walk to a beach.
I'm writing a review of the Evason if you'd like to know the end of this saga.
Not upset at all with the front desk folks or support in the hotel. Thai people are just great. The manager of this place need a huge kick.
Best??? By the time we left and got checked into another place we saved the night's charge.... whoo hoo... it was my freaking birthday and was supposed to be NICE. Still don't have the rate back. But we checked into Evason... and life got real good real quick. Less than half the money and more than ten times the facilities and service. I'm so happy it worked out this way and I'm going back to Evason asap! A bit far away from Hua Hin proper, but worth all in all respects. My husband and I both were glad Centara was such a let-down, as we'd never have discovered something so, so nice.
I'd not recommend the Centara at all.
But Do come and stay in Thailand. this was just a one-off in terms of service and treatment. My birthday wound up being very, very nice.
Thanks to other than the Centara (not) grand (nor on the Beach.)
My best to you all travellers!!!!
Vicky

Room Tip: No rooms are near the beach here. None at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vickyloubuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Vicky,

Warm greetings from Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Hua Hin, Heritage of Yesterday... Today

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feed back on Trip Advisor about your too short stay at the Villas of Centara Grand Hua Hin. We appreciate guests feed back as this is one of the best tools we have to improve guests satisfaction and rectify short comings.

There is no excuse for not having providing you with a King Size bed to begin with and we truly apologize for this overview. We also deeply regret that you did not like our villas, both types shown and feel dismayed that we were unable to keep your valuable business.

We are not trying to find fake excuses but one needs to mention that your check in at 3 AM happened after a very strong rainstorm leaving our gardens and the villa decks and pools filled with leaves and debris from our rather luxuriant vegetation and at this time of the night there was, of course, no one to manicure the area.

Our Jaccuzzi being outside, we do cover them with a canvas to prevent too much vegetation to fall in them and these Jaccuzzis are cleaned on a daily basis, which during stormy weather in this particular occation was not enough.

Our premium pool villas have their "fans" yet we understand that not everyone enjoys them. Again we regret that we could not find any villa accommodation to meet your expectations and this especially on your birthday.

You mention that you did not receive the re-imbursement of you pre-paiment, at least at the time of writing, but we would like to ensure you that your payment to Centara Grand Hua Hin was refunded in its entirety.

Again we are sorry that we were unable to meet your needs during this stormy night and again thank you for telling us of your disappointment. Should you ever change your mind regarding our hotel and be willing to give us another chance, we would be very honoured to show you that this was an exceptional situation and by no mean the rule.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate within this colonial-style Hua Hin Thailand hotel, nestled in a tropical garden along a beautiful four-mile beach. Signature features of this Hua Hin hotel resort include 207 rooms and 42 villas, local and international cuisine in five restaurants, three conference rooms for up to 300 people, three swimming pools, a Spa and fitness centre, and limousine service. There are also six golf courses near our Thailand hotel resort, complementing our extensive onsite recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing