We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Always a pleasure'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am an expat who has lived in Thailand for 8 years. I also rent a house in Hua Hin at the week ends. On several occasions I have stayed at the Centara formerly known as the Sofitel. I can only say- it's always a pleasure.
The rooms are elegant and comfortable. The gardens are beautiful. The beds are really comfortable. The last time I stayed there, there was a club deal that included access to the club house offering all day soft drinks and snacks, afternoon tea and best of all the 2 hour open bar. Very good value when you see the price of drinks like wine in hotels.
Sometimes I almost wish that I didn't rent a house in Hua Hin just so I could stay there very week-end.
I can't comment on the spa because I've never used it. The surrounding area has a large choice of massage places. I haven't eaten there much as we invariably go into town but the room service Thai food was very nice.
The breakfast is awesome.
I have also stayed there several times with my sister and her family as it's their hotel of choice when they come over from Europe, and the staff were great with her children. Lots of people go back again and again and I understand why. I have been to many hotels in SEAsia and I think the comfort and consistency of this hotel are why guests return repeatedly.
Every time it's consistently good and that is not easy to maintain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrystalTips96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear CrystalTips96,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, and for giving us such a comprehensive and detailed review of the resort which is very helpful for others who planned the trip to Hua Hin and to Centara Grand Beach resort.

We are delighted that that you had a good relaxing holiday with us, and in Hua Hin. We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,436)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently returned from a golf holiday, stayed at this hotel. Wonderful experience, the staff are the friendliest I have found anywhere, helpful and always have a smile on their face. The location is perfect, an oasis in the heart of the city and on the beach. The facilities are first class, the breakfast is fantastic. I would book this hotel again in an instant.

Room Tip: Was staying in a twin share near the beach with a verandah overlooking the pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Noddy52,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on your golf holiday. It was a great pleasure to have you with us recently and thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We will share your kind comments with the team and certainly motivate all of us here to strive for excellence and do our utmost to consistently implement them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the first beach hotel in Thailand where has been operated more than hundred years ago. At the present, some building still be serve client but keep well maintain and upgrade facilities.

This is a really nice property, located on Hua Hin Beach and close to night market. Beach is public, but keep nice and welcome you to enjoy, just be aware commercial people force you to ride their horse, massage, or etc.

Hotel has totally 4 main swimming pools so, you have a lot of choices to enjoy. And also, pool villas are also available with colonial style. They have fitness center, kids club, and , huge garden with nice cutting and concept.

Rooms & Villas is ok, they have all 5 star facilities that you need, superior and deluxe are quite similar, just separate bathtub ans shower. I would say the bed is totally fall in love. However, this is my personal feeling, seems a bit dark at night and makes me feels a bit scary, But just feeling. The fact this is a nice room, I am sure.

I would recommend you upgrade to stay in Sofitel CLub and Pool Villa onward, where you can get club lounge benefit, It is very value your holiday.

Only small negative point is breakfast, Buffet is excellence, several choice western & Asian cuisine, however, a chef who do Omelette is a bit not polite, they ask me to give a plate to put Omletter and said to me " do you want to eat? if yes, give me a plate now" something like this. It's make me feel a bit disappointing for 05 star service.

Overall, this is a nice beach holiday in Hua Hin, recommend everyone to stay here :)

Room Tip: Book a room with club lounge access, you will be get nice ABF , all day refreshment, evening cocktai...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Nattawut K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your comments and we are pleased to note that you have enjoyed our resort.

Your positive comments have been share with the team. I was extremely sorry to read about the general attitude of the egg chef at Breakfast. This does not in any way reflect the usual service level. Kindly rest assured that training in regards to the staff will be carried out to avoid such incident in the future.

Please rest assured that we are all committed and we are working hard to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 12 night break in Hua Hin. We have been twice before, and it can be a mistake to keep going back to the same place, however those fears were unfounded.
I really cannot think of a hotel where we feel more comfortable, the hotel is absolutely excellent, the staff are so willing to help and efficient, and the climate is beautiful, high 80's nearly every day, but usually a breeze to stop it being too humid. We were happy just to lay around the pools, rest and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If that sounds boring, I can assure you it isn't!! As we were booked into one of the club rooms we had access to refreshments all day long, afternoon tea, happy hour, as well as all the other facilities, it was really well worth doing. We didn't bother going to the night'market and the other local sightseeing things, as we have seen them before. After happy hour we would wander out into the town and find a local meal, usually not expensive and perfectly adequate, the standard of the restaurants in our opinion has risen over the last few years.
Special mention must be made of the staff, all of whom would welcome you with a good day and a smile and always dealt with your requirements most efficiently and promptly. Ours was a relatively late booking we had to change rooms partway through last day, at our request. The hotel really could not have been more helpful in providing us with our requirements.
When it was time to leave, we needed to sort out a few travel details. Our case was taken by Nina, one of the guest relations team and she really idid a fantastic job getting everything sorted, well done Nina!

This is our third stay in this hotel, and we only went back because we love the place so much. We knew that alterations had been made since our previous visits, however all of these prooved to be positive and we think it has actually got better.

It's one of those places that you save till you want something really special, that's how we treat it, we will no doubt return in the future, we have no hesitation in recommending it and wish to thank all of the staff and everybody at the hotel.

Room Tip: Our first two nights till late sorted out the room that we wanted were spent in one of the Villas. J...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Ken E,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review after your stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor, which is very much appreciated.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Your comments on the service and hospitality given by all the staff are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team. Your particular impression with Ms. Nina performance has been conveyed and appreciated by her.

With our reiterated thanks and we all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was recommended to have a dinner at this restaurant by friends whom had enjoyed their visit. Perfect location, great food and fantastic staff who made the small and romantic birthday a treat to remember. Thank you to Miss Nararat and Mr Somnuek for taking care of us.

Room Tip: Fantastic, exotic location on the beach... if you make it past the outstanding swimming pool!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Benito M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your comments and we are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your dinner at our Railway Restaurant as per mentioned.

Your kind comments about our food and staff, particularly Khun Nararat and Khun Somnuek, we will ensure both of them hears of your kind words.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you again soon, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have returned to the hotel after 10 years travelling in Asia. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. This time we upgraded to Club - expensive but worth it for all the extras.
The hotel staff are exceptional and we thank all of them for their very high standard of support.
Thanks for a fantastic holiday,it was so good we expect to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extravelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear extravelmgr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have enjoyed our service and facilities during your most recent stay with us. We also very much appreciate your continued support and patronage to our resort. It is very flattering to acknowledge that Centara Grand Hua Hin is the benchmark for you in terms of relaxation resort in Hua Hin, as we continue to do our best to ensure guest satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you back here next year.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of my favourite hotels ever! Wasn't overwhelmed by Hua Hin itself but would return simply to stay at the Sofitel again. Immaculate grounds, great pool areas, lovely rooms, excellent breakfasts and a variety of places to eat on an evening. The perfect hotel for a restful 10 days in the sun. (Actually travelled here in May 2009 but forgot to review!!) we upgraded (minimal cost) to a suite and room 132 was huge with a sitting room. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear YorkshireTravelqueen,

Thank you very much for writing a positive review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin.

It's wonderful to read your positive feedback and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Once again, thank you for the review and for choosing Centara Grand Hua Hin for your excellent holiday experience.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,298 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 141 in Hua Hin
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $123 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing