We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday in centara Huahin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Ede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“holiday in centara Huahin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been in the Centara hotel for many years, Its getting better every year, the service is exellent, the hotel staff is very kind, the gardens are very romantic, and the views from the rooms are beautiful.the hotel has three lovely swimmingpools, very clean, enough sunbeds for every guest, and a very attentive staff. The breakfast is not to be believed, the very best we have ever experienced. The rooms are kept very clean, and the housekeeping crew is very helpfull.
The hotel serves a super great high tea, every friday, saturday and sunday, which is really the best you will ever enjoy,
The hotel lies in walking distance to the village, and the beach is at the other side of the hotel,
We also noticed that they were especially kind to elderly people who needed some more attention.
We think this is one of the best choices to treat youself to a wonderful holiday in a very romantic setting.

kind greetings,

Rob en Ineke
Netherlands

Room Tip: we think most rooms are very good, the garden views or the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear rob v,

We are very happy to note that as one of our valued returning guest you have enjoyed our service and facilities during your most recent stay with us and we will share your comments with our team.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review of our resort and we sincerely look forwards to being able to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    380
    85
    40
    18
See reviews for
643
1,106
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After almost a decade of wonderful annual visits to Centara Hua Hin (until recently Sofitel Centara ), we reckon most of the positive Tripadvisor reviews on this Hotel are spot on - it is a spectacular yet private luxury resort with the convenience of walking straight out into the busy streets of this seaside town. Our children are huge fans of the Hotel and its fantastic location. Its their place to unwind. Swimming, kids club, markets and restaurants - we're spoilt for choice. Particularly love the many over water seafood venues close by. So back we come year after year. However. In the almost ten years we've been coming here there is a consistent problem with bookings. At every other hotel we stay at we can book a room in a certain category and upon arrival by and large we get what we booked. Not so at Centara Hua Hin. Each year we book a room in the Colonial Wing, they're fantastic rooms with a great outlook over the sea. On most occasions when we arrive there are problems actually getting what we reserved. Under the former managers, Sofitel Centara, the issue was usually resolved with smiling faces all around - they made an effort. This time, under Centara, it was the usual problem with the room, but there was little effort to resolve the problem. We had several meetings with various managers, and eventually had two meetings with the GM - hardly the stuff you go away on holidays to do. We were offered a room in another part of the hotel, not the room we had booked. We were told by the GM he could do no more as the Colonial Wing was booked out. He refused further assistance as we had booked under their Platinum Loyalty Card rate, which provided us with a discount - seemed loyalty was now out the window. His response, and lack of willingness to assist seemed an odd approach from a manager more intent following corporate guidelines than assisting with problems caused by the hotel - and who wants these dramas when you go on a holiday. Despite this being a truly great place, consistent problems with simple booking requests and a management leader that showed little regard for resolving problems caused by the hotel, and the constant misrepresentations made by the hotel, mean, that until there is a change of policy we will book elsewhere - and that's quite disappointing as we were happy campers up until this trip.

Room Tip: Problematic booking process. Colonial Wing offers the best rooms at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank archter2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear archter2f,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back about your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Hua Hin. Guest feed back is invaluable to rectify mishaps and wrong doing and we are always grateful to learn more about your experience.

In this particular instance, however, we need to state clearly the facts. It is the hotel policy to honour the type of room reserved and, when not possible, to offer a complimentary room upgrade.

In this particular instance, the room type booked was respected. One deluxe room was reserved and was given in the appropriate wing. Very unfortunately, a family of four cannot be accommodated comfortably in a Deluxe room, designed in most cases for 2 adults and possibly one child, but not two children.

Therefore the hotel offered a complimentary upgrade from a deluxe room to a Junior Suite in the original Railway wing of the hotel.

Reference is made to the “Platinum Loyalty Card”, part of the former ACCOR loyalty programme. Even though the hotel left the Sofitel network one year ago, a 10 % discount was offered freely.

We believe therefore that this comment is blatantly distorted and would like to stress that Centara Grand Hua Hin did try to accommodate this family in the best way possible. The booking was more than honoured, an upgrade given with a discount but said upgrade could, unfortunately, not be given in the desired wing due to high occupancy..

Again we appreciate valuable comments and thank our guests for their feed back, providing it is true and honest.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Centara Grand Beach Resort is in a great location - situated on the beach and right in town. The staff were all extremely helpful and we enjoyed the Deluxe Club room location. I think it is worth upgrading to the Club rooms or suites. The topiary landscaped gardens and a variety of pools were very well maintained.

We enjoyed our last stay so much that we are heading back again next month!

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vbergmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear vbergmeier,

It was our pleasure to be your host and we hope you will come back in due course.

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the duplex 2 bedroomed suite for 7 nights in January and it could not have been more perfect. The staff are amazing and the pools and gardens well kept and beautiful.
The breakfast were sumptuous and well organized.
I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear daltonb,

Thank you for kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our resort and will relay your appreciation to our team.

It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to a possible future visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 12th holiday at the Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Hua Hin........its just like going home. This was the first time we have stayed Christmas and New Year and we had a wonderful time.
As ever we had a great welcome from all the staff who provided exemplary Thai hospitality and friendliness, making us feel at home. We stayed in a deluxe pool villa, which was in a lovely tranquil location, beautifully furbished and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast at the Salathai was a perfect start to every day and the service provided there, at the Club, Spa and Museum was outstanding.
The gardens were paricularly impressive at this time of year with the topriary animals illuminated and decorated with lights in celebration of His Majesty the King's birthday.
The New Year gala evening was a spectacular celebration, with a magnificent international buffet in the gardens bordering the beach, with great entertainment and then dancing into the early hours of the New Year - a wonderful, memorable celebration and start to 2013!!
All this testimony to the dedication, professionalism and teamwork of all the hard working staff many thanks to you all.
We can't wait to return in April, 2013

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HowardandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear HowardandLiz,

Thank you for your very nice review which we will relay to the entire team.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly all our "actors". They are indeed a great team and we will cultivate this cooperation spirit as much as we can.

We all look forward to April 2013 and will roll out our best care and attention for your 13th visit!

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We made the right choice to stay here, it was by far the best hotel in Hua Hin. Peaceful location, excellent staff,, all the things that we had read about here on tripadviser were true. A few hicups along the way, sounds a bit like nitpicking but to be honest at these prices I think we are entitled to so.

Check in - we had a three hour trip down from Bangkok (Tour East company, totally mad driver, but that's another story). We had read that we would be greeted with cool welcome drinks and chilled towels neither materialised. Check in was a but confusing but to be honest that was probably our fault because we had prevoisly enquirer about upgrading to club but in the end decided that we would have had to eat an awful lot high tea to get our money's worth - it was £44 per day, which goes a long, long way in Thailand! So once that was sorted out and they returned the first day's charge for this back to us, it was ok. Took a few visits and talking to four different staff members, but we got there in the end.

Breakfast - amazing, everything you could possible need/want/desire, if you couldnt find something to eat here you must have been dead!

Dinner - we ate twice in the hotel, once for the compulsory New Years Eve dinner, which was good. Very, very expensive and highly inflated prices for drinks.. But we knew that beforehand. The only bug bear was that someone signed a few of their bill receipts to our room number (aparently a lot of this went on) , but we picked up on it and had it corrected the next day. I wonder if everyone else checked their bill?

We also ate on the Friday night beach BBQ evening at the hotel. This was a bit hit and miss, the food was cooked in the dark, and this tested the chefs cooking skills.. We had soggy tempura, and raw lamb, all corrected accordingly but at the high priced charged we expected more. The next day we spoke to the duty manager about these problems... And they did their normal exceedingly polite but inscrutable reply.."thank you for bringing your comments to our attention" thing, but no real apology, nor compensation ... No doubt the same response that this review will get from the management when they reply to this review!

Internet - very very slow and you pay for the privilege of this.

Gardens - wonderful

Pools - great, staff were excellent, once in 10 days we had free fruit, and twice in the same time cool towels.

Room - we stayed in the standard room, very good, even though we were right next door to the service room, we had a good stay, on fact it was quite handy if we ran out of shampoo or bath gel, we just popped out and asked the lovely maids for what ever we needed. On two nights we even got some chocolate when they turned down the bed.

The Thai cooking class - wouldn't recommend this. It was about £60 plus, plus. And to be honest a very 'watered' down experience. We wanted to really feel the true thai food experience but this was just a short stroll around a market. The chef who took us didn't buy any food. The reason became clear when we returned to the hotel... All of the food we were to 'learn' about and how to cook had been sliced, chopped, and prepared in advance and hygienically covered in cling-film in preparation for our cooking ' course'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dondons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

A nice, good and clean place to stay! I liked this one and thing i come back next time again!
A nice View also :-)) I know the Sofitel in Bangkok also and this one is nearly the same - the only thin i miss is the handmade chocolate store!?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rungthip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Gordon B,

Thank you for your kind review, your comments was shared with all our staff and, of course particularly the ones you listed.

Again thank you for leaving such a nice note and rest assured that we will do our utmost to continue keeping our passion for service!

We are looking forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate within this colonial-style Hua Hin Thailand hotel, nestled in a tropical garden along a beautiful four-mile beach. Signature features of this Hua Hin hotel resort include 207 rooms and 42 villas, local and international cuisine in five restaurants, three conference rooms for up to 300 people, three swimming pools, a Spa and fitness centre, and limousine service. There are also six golf courses near our Thailand hotel resort, complementing our extensive onsite recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing