We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel and villas were great- only one negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived via taxi and from the drive through the gate and seeing the shady well-manicured grounds and the open air lobby, being served by the staff, we were very impressed. We reserved a villa and were taken by cart to the villas reception area and greeted by a friendly young lady and she escorted us to the villa. it was not just nice, it was wow...entered through privacy fence, had private pool, the villa was very nicely furnished bright and white with an outdoor tub out the back door. I thought this is how a resort should be. after un packing, i thought i would walk down to the beach to see what it was like. the minute you open the gate from the villas to the beach, you are in the midst of cooking residue, kitchens, wall to wall dirty umbrellas that you have to bend over to walk through and they go, literally, down to and into the water. there are plastic tables and chairs...to me it seemed like the worst of beach kitchens. not run by hotel. not good. large pool was wonderful, beach on hotel side was nice and didn't have the wall to wall umbrellas.

Room Tip: choose hotel for decent beach, choose villas for excellent experience and not decent beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hallemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you were impressed with our hotel as such comments increase our motivation to do well.

We have special noted your concerned regarding your beach condition in front of our Villas side. We already passed your comments to Hua Hin Municipality for there attention due to there is a public beach and control by them. However, we do the beach cleaning everyday in the morning by hotel staff for support the community.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to your next visit and rest assured of our undivided attention and utmost service at all times.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in late September, beautiful hotel very tranquil and relaxing. We stayed in a deluxe duplex suite which was perfect for a family of four. My only disappointment was the kids club, whilst they had a list of daily activities none of them actually ran my children have really enjoyed kids clubs at other 5 star hotels and were very excited about going to another one but after one visit didn't want to go again as it was too boring - simply a room with a carer and toys. This was quite disappointing for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sduboudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. It is through feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our clients.

We are most pleased to read that you had a great holiday at our resort. However, we have made a special note on the points mentioning the Kid’s Club activities did not meet with your satisfaction. We have passed your comments on to the Sport and Recreation Manager to improve as necessary.

Thank you once again for the kind review and on behalf of all the staff here at the resort, we sincerely look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we booked a villa with pool it was awesome went club class did not buy any food at all as there are snacks and free soft drinks all day ( 5 til 7) is cocktail time. you can walk straight out into the main shopping area (thou the resort is set back on the beach so it doesn't feel like you are near the town) tuk tuk cost 100 thab to the night market easy to walk but fun in tuk tuk. staff at resort are all so kind and helpfull had a thai experience at spa maybe more expensive than 'others' down the street but well worth it cost approx $100 for two and a half hours of pampering. really did not want to leave we went with our 20 month old son he got spoilt by everyone one of the porters even brought him this huge cuddly dog. shopping was good in hua hin definately worth getting clothes made so cheap.

Room Tip: pool villa very private also has outside marble bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Value Gust,

Thank you very much for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on your recent holiday in Hua Hin and for taking the time to leave your kind review of your stay at our resort which we sincerely appreciate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, our facilities and service from the team during your stay.

For the benefits of the TripAdvisor reader who have not visited Hua Hin before, our hotel is located beachfront and at the city center approximately 5 minutes by walk to the Hua Hin night market, shopping area, restaurant and bars etc...

On behalf of the entire team here, thank you once again for your kind review and we do hope that we shall have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Travelled to Hua Hin this summer for my son's wedding and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The villas in which we stayed were abolutely superb! They were serviced at least two times a day by the most pleasant and helpful staff imaginable. Cleanliness above reproach and a great selection of varied food combined with included snacks and free cocktails are the hallmark of this complex. Each member of staff carried out their duties impeccably. Free laundering services meant we could continue our holiday in Singapore with clean clothing! Hua Hin itself is a gem - visit the fantastic night market, the unbelievable vineyard and enjoy elephant riding. A truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to note from your review that you enjoyed with our Club benefits, staff service, food and other facilities of our resort as well as the sightseeing tour in Hua Hin as per your positive rating. We are always very happy when we know that our guests are relaxed and have enjoyed their stay with us.

Once again thank you for taking the time and for your positive review of our resort, and we do hope that we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back again to our resort in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel situated in the heart of the city but it is in a secluded property which is quiet and big enough. I stayed at the suite for 2 nights and it was a relaxing experience. I would like to suggest that the hotel to improve a bit of landscape gardening by adding more thai flowers. Also it would be great if hotel can improve their in-room drink selection. The staffs are well-trained and friendly. The most important thing to be aware is the TV that automatically played a serie loud classical music before everything (just when you put the key card)....that could be a bit annoying.

Room Tip: Choose a room with big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ploi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. It is only through receiving feedback such as yours, that we can gain feedback on our standards of service, which allows us to review our operation.

We have made a special note on the points mentioning the landscape garden, in room drink selection and in room TV sound control need to improve. We have passed your comments on to the respective department manager to be shared with the team and to improve as necessary.

We appreciate the sharing of your concerns, and we sincerely look forward to being able to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is our third time to Hua Hin and our first time staying in this resort. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience! The whole resort is very well maintained and the service is impeccable!

We stayed at the villa side of the resort, which is a small road away from the main resort. Upon check-in, a buggy came to take us to our villa. If you prefer a quiet and private place to relax, do stay at the villa side. It has its own swimming pool, a restaurant, bar and library. But do hop over to the main resort as each wing of the resort has its own charm. If you do stay at the villa, you must go over to the Railway Restaurant for breakfast even though you can choose to have it in two other restaurants. It has a better spread and a nice ambience.

I would like to commend the staff at this resort for their wonderful services. In particular, I would like to highlight 2 staff at the Elephant whom, unfortunately, I did not get their names. They were very attentive. On one evening, I was there to enjoy a margarita and was very flushed after my drink, the wait staff immediately brought me water even though I had not asked for it. On the next evening, another staff was attending to us. When she saw that I was scratching my leg, she immediately brought me some mosquito repellent.

I am very happy that we chose to stay in Centara Grand and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet and privacy with lots of space to suntan beside the pool, stay in the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pageten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback concerning your stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, which is very much appreciated. Guest feed back is always appreciated as it is one of the only ways we have of correcting shortcomings or, in this particular case, of knowing that we are on the right track.

We are very happy to note that as one of our valued returning guest you have enjoyed our service and facilities during your most recent stay with us. We notice your kind remark regarding the service at the Elephant Bar staff will be conveyed the team concerned and appreciated by them.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review of our resort and continued support and patronage to our resort. We sincerely look forwards to being able to welcome you back to our resort in the future, we remain,

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have just noticed all mentions on ths hotel under its previous guise as a Sofitel have disappeared- so am moved to post again. We stayed at a deluxe pool villa again in Feb 2012. This was our 5th stay here over the last 15 or so years. Usually never one to return - I am trying to think why? Think its the combination of a good but not pompous hotel so near to a bustling faIrly typical modern thai town. You can zen out in the spa - much more expensive than the local offerings - but so much calmer and professional - its your choice based on what is important to you on the day. Or relax by either your private pool - move to on of the four public ones if you want a bit more buzz. Cannot say I have noticed a massive difference since the change of Management - though the various 'modenisations' have brghtened up the reception area and railway restaurant. Personally I miss the old 'club lounge' and think the new one near the reception lacks the atmosphere of the former- its all a lot more 'all you can eat' than the relaxed 'private club' feel it used to have.

We have decided to not visit this year - its still wonderful - but we want to keep looking to see if we can find perfection.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

We are very grateful for your continued support and patronage of our resort and also appreciate you taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback. We will share your comments with our team.

Returning on your comments related to location of our new Club Lounge that you highlighted have been carefully noted. We are improving our room and facilities in order to uplift the hotel facilities and service to meet our guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again. Meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any further information you may require.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,342 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,330 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#127 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,368 reviews
4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $156 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing