We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, Character adjacent to the best evening bird cacophony in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Class, Character adjacent to the best evening bird cacophony in Asia”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Like many others, we have been revisiting this hotel for over 16 years. With the increased, uncontrolled development of Hui Hin, many bird roosting areas have been destroyed. This has led to a huge concentration of birds in the few trees by and on the hotel side entrance. There are literally thousands, of small birds all gathering at night to roost in the few remaining trees giving a wonderful display of flight and really loud evening song as they exchange news of their day with each other, squawking and flying in and out of branches. Get the 1st floor rooms near the Elephant Pool or facing the wonderful detailed topiary garden to just sit with a drink, listen, and watch an enthralling display by a wide variety of local birds. Set against the back drop of superb, well-manicured gardens, this gives a special relaxing end of the day – truly unforgettable.

The low turnover of excellent staff is a like revisiting old friends – nothing is too much trouble. The décor is a harmonious blend of old colonial and Siam. With excellent breakfasts and a well equipped gym this is a special place to just relax and unwind. Child friendly to a fault (no one likes over indulged children) the spread of 4 main pools gives you the ability to lounge by the Piano pool near the sea front and watch the kids play safely, or pop in every hour or so at the adjacent children’s club all set amongst the beautiful and fragrant Frangi pangi trees. Or Lounge on the lawns near the adjacent “adults “ pool – both have a great display of bats skimming the water collecting the evening midges.

This hotel is ideally positioned by the sea for quiet and a very pleasant walk/jog, especialy during low tide. At low tides weekends the beach becomes a local football ground where friendly locals play small games. This is also the best wind kit surfing bach in the area. If your a hard core jogger/ runner the 6k run to end of the beach to the local sea god statute is very special - one of my all time favourite runs in the world, but you need the blend of low tide and ideally in late pm/dusk as very hot during some months and no drinking water.

Room Tip: 1st floor elephant pool side for the bird song, otherwise the ground floor beach side are best with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeenagersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for again choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin. We are very grateful for your continued support and patronage of our resort and also appreciate you taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We have sharing your kind comments with the team that your comments will help to keep the team at the resort motivated to deliver on the high standards of guest service.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at our resort, and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you and your family back to Centara Grand Beach Hua Hin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    400
    90
    41
    19
See reviews for
675
1,181
79
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've stayed in some lovely hotels in our time, and I can honestly say this was the best! We stayed in a Club Deluxe room which meant a bigger room and balcony, and benefits such as free cocktails & canapes, 2 items of laundry per day etc. The grounds are beautiful with topiary in the shape of animals - the elephants are approx 10ft tall! What made this hotel for us was the friendliness of the staff. They were always helpful and cheerful and went out of their way to make you feel special. At the cocktails every evening they remembered what we liked to drink, and a lot of staff from the concierge to the waiting staff addressed our son by his name and were always making him smile & giggle. The reception staff were even joining in with bananas pretending to fire at him (instigated by him - he is only 5!) and I felt this was over and above what was expected of them, they made him feel special which is brilliant. The breakfast was the largest selection we have ever encountered, and always hot and fresh. Even when breakfast was just finishing and I wanted some more guava juice, they fetched some more for me. This is a truly wonderful hotel and definitely deserves its 5* rating. We don't usually want to go to the same hotel twice, but we will definitely be returning to this one. Definitely worth a visit - you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: A club deluxe room is more costly, but we loved the extras you got for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumof1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin and we also appreciate you taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Your comments have been passed to the team and they have greatly appreciated. Your comments will help to keep the team at the resort motivated to deliver on the high standards of guest service.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at our resort, and we sincerely look forward to welcome you and your family back to Centara Grand Beach Hua Hin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norge
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice and relaxing Hotel with best service. Been here many times and always want to go back. Fantastic breakfast and quiet and top service. Defferent pool areas, good food. You really need to see the garden, unbelievable !!

Short way to the long Hua Hin beach and 100 m from the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

On behalf of the team at the resort, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Bach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you were happy in overall as per your positive rating, and we hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to our resort the next time you are in Hua Hin.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beach isnt the greatest & a bit hot, but resort grounds are great. A few pools on premise. Classy old rooms very comfortable. Upgrade to club room and they have mini breakfast & light meal buffet in evening. Beach best early or later to avoid heat of the day.

Room Tip: Club package is cool as you can source breakfast & even a light evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

We would like to thank you in the first place for such praise and also for sharing your experience. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our first concern.

We hope we will be well recommended to your relatives and friends as an ideal place to spend their holidays.

We look forward to be again of service to you in the near future, we remain,

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Decided to stay at this Hotel for my Birthday, overall it was a great hotel, some small issues, which could be improved to make it into an excellent stay. Booked a club room, during the check in, it was like any standard checkin - unlike other hotels where they designate a special area - hence making the guest feel more VIP. The club facility was good - but being reduced to only 2 pieces in total for Laundry is really where short coming - Sheraton in Bangkok allows 3 pieces per person per day!! I understand that the hotel wants to increase revenue, but during the checkin - having already upgraded to club room - you are then told to upgrade to an even higher category - takes the magic off from thinking that you have booked something special in the first case.

Enjoyed our stay very much, but can really envisage if revenue collection is their main focus, the standards will compromise and this could be a shame for such a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin for celebrated your birthday, and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay on TripAdvisor which we sincerely appreciate.

We are especially delighted to note that you enjoyed during say with us. We have carefully noted your comments with regard to the private check-in for the Club guest as well as the laundry service has been related to departments concerned in order to improve the quality of our service to exceeding our guests’ expectations.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived as this hotel on Friday and after what was a slow and disorganised check in, they seemed to forget we were there (!) It quickly went up in our rating to be the best resort hotel we have stayed in in Thailand. We have a club room which is very spacious and aswell as breakfast we get afternoon tea and canopes each day and cocktails and drinks and canopes again for two hours each eve! Extremely worth the extra cost!
Staff are friendly helpful and polite.
Only recommendation.....bit more local info such as maps in the room would be helpful and a choice of pillows!
Highlly recommended!. Location is fantastic....walk to most places.

Room Tip: Club room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of your stay on TripAdvisor, which are sincerely appreciated by the team at the resort.

We have taken note of your displeasure with check –in process has been carefully note by our Front Office Manager for improvement. Your comments about the maps and choice of pillows will be taken into consideration for the next operation review.

With our reiterated thanks and we all look forward to welcome you back to our resort in future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent five nights in March 2012 at the Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas. Lovely resort hotel three hours by road south of Bangkok in coastal Hua Hin.
Stayed in the original main hotel building which was originally the Railway Hotel in the 1920's. The separate garden villas are located a short distance from the main premises.
Manicured grounds with jacaranda trees, two pools with a jacuzzi, or the police patrolled beach in which to relax.
The Pool Bar serves light snacks and drinks during the day; the main Elephant Bar has a jazz vocalist and trio on certain evenings.
Speciality themed buffets are held in the main restaurant where breakfast is also taken. We experienced a French evening buffet during our stay.
Well worth taking the high tea in The Museum, an endless choice of teas, cakes and pastries! It also contains historical artifacts and photos pertaining to the hotel.
Very good separate steam room and massage provided in The Spa.
The Market Village in Hua Hin town is within easy reach by local Tut Tut and has a vast array of shopping choices.
Lovely hotel in which to relax, particularly after a hectic tour of Vietnam and Cambodia.

Room Tip: Stayed in a superior room - 137
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of your stay on TripAdvisor, which are sincerely appreciated by the team at the resort.

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed every minute of your stay about room, food, Spa, hotel facilities and the location of the resort.

Thank you once again for your review of our resort, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Beach Hua Hin one day in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 136 in Hua Hin
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing