We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for something to do...”

Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.98*
and up
Khao Takiab and Plearnwan Tour in Hua Hin Including Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Ok for something to do...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We strolled mainly on the beach from our current hotel (The Lapa) and with an hour's stop at Let's Sea beach restaurant, it took around 2.5hrs today with slightly overcast weather.

Firstly, contrary to the last reviewer we only saw 2 bored and sleepy monkeys minding their own business. It was around 2pm so perhaps the others were hiding in the shade out of sight? Either way we weren't approached by monkeys or stray dogs/cats.

Secondly, while the golden statute looks intriguing from afar, we were underwhelmed once we were there. As for the temple, we have seen some amazing temples in Bangkok and Chiang Mai.... So unfortunately it was a case of seen it all for us.

There are a few cafe/ restaurants on the beach at the foot of the hill. Plus a massage place at a view point (300 baht for an hour's Thai massage looking out at HH beach). 3 mins walk from the green baht bus stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hellobayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    335
    212
    48
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good view and interesting temple on top but be careful of the monkeys”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We quite enjoyed visiting the temple at the top which has good view of Hua Hin beach but did not get to go to the cliff side where there's a huge goddess of mercy sculpture because of the monkeys. There were so many of them running around making noises and blocking the walkway that i and the kids were afraid to walk through. When we were having lunch at the restaurant nearby where there's boulder looking like a giant frog, a few monkey kept on coming to our table. One took our rice pot. We also couldn't go the toilet as it's at the other end where monkeys often came.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tannythestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
360 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Beware of the monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Dont miss to go all the way down the small hill to the beach where you will find a very nice chinese temple. Be careful in case you want to feed the monkeys, can can bite! And if they do bite you I advise you to visit the hospital for a Rabies shot!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JankanHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“If u are a monkey lover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The top of this hill is home to hundreds of spoiled monkeys,because all the turist buying peanuts/banana from the vendors there.U will get surrounded fast and forced to hand over the food bucket to the alpha monkey.Nice buddist tempel there,and ok for a walk,if u dont like monkeys dont go.Many stories about tourist getting biten there with severe injuries.According to the locals,many of the monkeys there are bad tempered because of local kids use them as target pratice with slingshot/bean shooters.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aasiaat, Greenland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“How filthy and dreary can a place be? Chopsticks Hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Filthy
Full of stray dogs
Burning off of leaves and plastic
. . . absolutely nothing wirth the drive

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab) also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing